Being Present…

Happy Wednesday! How is everyone’s week going so far? Sorry for not doing a weekend recap on Monday – reason being is 1) I didn’t take any pictures as I was pretty busy wrapping gifts and relaxing with the hubby before the craziness of the holiday’s beings and 2) work has been super busy with meetings and projects we’re trying to get going for the New Year. Tell me though, why does work have to get crazy before the week of Christmas?! Ugh. I remember last year everyone was gone on vacations – too bad it’s not the same for this year ;)

Anyway, enough of my complaining…are you all ready for Christmas? Which, amazingly, beings in T-4 days…wow! I can’t believe how fast this month has flown by – it’s moments like these that remind me to be more present instead of always looking to the future. Although at the same time I think looking ahead and setting goals for yourself is healthy in working towards a life that fulfills you and makes you happy – but I also feel it’s important to live in the moment and be present with yourself and those around you so that no special moments pass you by.

Like this weekend, I want to be sure to be present during our Christmas Eve party by fully engaging with family and friends, sharing the joy and love with everyone, and enjoying every last drop of wine and bite of desserts. I want to be present and celebrate with my cousin (very close family friend but we call her and her sisters our cousins) her announcement at our party that her and her husband are expecting their very first bundle of joy – instead of wishing I was in her shoes. I want to enjoy every moment for what it is and not get down on myself about anything.

Life is too short to live with any guilt or regrets. I see a lot of “guilt” around the blog world lately about indulging too much this holiday season and last night I said to Todd, “I’m done worrying and want to relax this month!” Who cares if you indulge in one too many cookies this month and if your exercise slacks a little? Sure we all want to look good and feel our best, but I also think it’s healthy for my (and yours!) well-being to relax once in awhile, and I believe this time of year is meant to loosen the reigns a bit and let yourself fully enjoy the holiday treats. Case in point, I’ve consumed one too many cookies these pass couple weeks, and you know what, I’m ok with it. Sure I’ve added on a couple pounds, but I’m ok with that too. Not only do I need it for fertility reasons, but I think a few curves on my frame (and on women in general) looks (and feels) pretty damn good :)

I’m not sure exactly where I’m going with this post, it’s kinda all over the place, but I’ve had a lot of emotions and thoughts rolling through my head lately…I guess that is what comes with the New Year and everyone being so goal-hungry. I guess my point is…is that I just want to “be present”, and enjoy this weekend with no guilt or regrets. I want to relax (food and exercise wise) to give my body a break so that next year I can be the one making that announcement or holding our bundle of joy at our Christmas Eve party. And who knows how many more Christmases you may have with those loved ones you see this weekend? So to that, I say make the most of each and every special moment, and to be fully present with each and every person you’re with this holiday season…and while you’re at it, enjoy one too many holiday cookies ;)

Christmas Eve – circa 2008 (Santa is my dad!)

Questions:
How will you be present this holiday season?
Are any of you traveling or going out of town this weekend?!

18 thoughts on “Being Present…

  1. Definitely enjoy your family. Its a tough holiday for my family because my dads really ill and won’t be around this year. Things can be taken too quickly. I haven’t thought about goals I’m just trying to live in the present. Have a wonderful holiday shayla.
    Hugs to you and god bless you and your family.

    • I’m so sorry Amy – my thoughts and prayers are with you, your dad, and your family during this time. It’s moments like these that remind me to really appreciate having my loved ones with me and to really be present in those moments. I think it’s a beautiful goal in itself to be present, and you should be so happy that you’re doing that for yourself. God bless you and your family too Amy and have a very happy holiday. xoxo

  2. Excellent post and I totally agree. I had a mini crying session with Chad the other night thinking about how quickly time passes and family memories, etc. And then your post made me teary again! You are so right in that it is so important to be present and live in the moment. I totally agree and support you sissy! Love you so much and I can’t wait to celebrate the holidays with you- especially eating – and baking- one too many sweet bites of loveliness. Love you!

    • Thanks lovey!! Now your comment made *me *teary eyed again, haha! We must have both been having sissy esp that night because I’ve been sad and emotional thinking about family, memories, and how we’re all growing up too quickly! Thank you so much for your support sissy – you’re the best!! Love you lots and I can’t wait too to spend the holiday’s together and for our baking extravaganza this Friday, weeeee! And to enjoying every indulgent bite – cheers to that ;) xoxoxo

  3. Yes yes yes! What a great post girl! You and I both got a little profound today huh?

    But you are oh so right. It’s so easy to be future thinking and forget what we have right now. And this, of all times of the year is the most fun to be ‘present’ since really the anticipation is what is so much fun. And I mean that with both Christmas and also baby Sawyer on his way. I’m going to try really hard to take your advice!

    As for the cookies, I’ve had more than “too many” and I’m A-ok with that. When a little guilt creeps it, I drop kick it to the curb and grab another cookie :P

    Your Christmas parties will be fabulous, just like you!
    xo

    • Haha yes we both certainly were today – I swear it’s in the air and we have a definite esp going on ;)

      I absolute love your comment and agree all the way with it – it especially made my heart melt when you mentioned your baby Sawyer. I know you’ll do such a fantastic, amazing job at staying present as it will be the most precious, miraculous moment of your life…I’ll remind you of it when you go into labor ;)

      Haha I absolutely love your approach Shan – I love that we’re both ok with it and amen to grabbing another cookie – life is too short not too! :) xoxo

  4. Great reminder, your post is perfect in preparation for the holiday. It’s not just about the presents, its the feeling too. and feeling present and not planning (your new years’ plans or next work trip) is how it should be! Have a Merry Christmas!!

  5. I am taking my grandchildren one night at a time so I can really focus on them and not feel bad when I have a house full of people and can’t pay attention to them. I hope that this helps me be present and really enjoy the holidays.
    Thanks for the wonderful post.

  6. I’m staying in all weekend to avoid the last minute holiday shoppers ;) We’re having a quiet Christmas Eve and then the rest of the family’s coming over Christmas Day for a tamale dinner (the traditional Chinese Christmas, haha).

    Sounds like you’re going to have a fun holiday! Have a very Merry Christmas and enjoy your long weekend :P

    • You’re Christmas is my kind of celebration too – nothing beats being home with family and we also like having one day devoted to the entire family (Xmas Eve) and the other (Xmas Day) to be nice and quite ;)

      You enjoy your long weekend too, heehee :P – and Merry Christmas!!!

  7. Pingback: Our Christmas Eve Holiday Treats! | The Good Life

  8. just stopping in to say thinking of you, and it sounds like you had a great christmas! i bet you look AMAZING and hey – the cookies might end up being a huge help in the long run :) wishing you the BEST in 2012!

    • Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for stopping by and for your sweet comment – really means a lot to me. I am loving the Fertile Thoughts board and don’t know what I’d do without all those amazing, supportive women, such as yourself. It’s helped me immensely…still waiting for AF and am still making changes to my diet and exercise…I’m just praying 2012 will be our year…and like you said, I’m definitely hoping the holiday cookies and treats are helping in a good way ;)

      I don’t comment much on your blog (I read it from my BlackBerry – worst for blog reading and can’t wait to switch to the iPhone!) but just wanted to let you know how very much I enjoy it and love following you along you journey. I love your honesty and realness and I look forward to reading your posts every morning. I hope you have a very Happy New Year and cheers to 2012! :)

Leave a Reply

