Our Christmas Eve Holiday Treats!

Happy Friday! Errr…Thursday everyone!! Well, this blogging thing today has got on my last nerve. This is my 3rd attempt at writing this blog post since the past two times I would try and save it and poof! It’s gone. Anyway, I’m gonna get through this post pretty quickly so that it doesn’t happen again! Grrrrrrr!

First I want to say how much I loved reading all your wonderful comments in yesterday’s post Being Present. It warmed my heart hearing all the ways you’re going to try and be present this holiday season. I also especially loved how a couple of you mentioned that we all can remember the simple act of being grateful. To be thankful for the wonderful lives we live and to appreciate that we get to spend this holiday season with family, friends and loved ones <3

I also want to say how grateful I am to my friend/coworker for introducing me to the fabulousness that is Trillian. Yes I live in the dark ages and had never heard of this software. For those that aren’t aware of it, I’ll try my best to explain it as I’m not the most techy articulate person. Anyway, it’s basically a centralized area that keeps all your email accounts, social media apps, and instant messengers all in one spot. This has made it so easy for me to keep up with all my Twitter feeds, Facebook status updates, and emails without having 5 million tabs open. Genius I tell ya, genius :)

Alright folks, now let’s get on to the good stuff and let me explain why I have tomorrow off. My bestest friend in the whole wide world (my sis) and I will be having an Olympic Day of baking up holiday desserts for our Christmas Eve party. I’ll definitely be sure to snap some pics of the shenanigans that will be taking place in my sister’s kitchen…that is if I can pry my sticky sweet fingers from the cookie dough bowl and licks from the frosted covered spatulas and beaters ;) Just thinking about that brings back so many fond memories of when my mom would give me a beater to lick as a prize for being her lil helper when she baked <3

So without further ado, here they are…!!!

* Reindeer Cupcakes (courtesy of With Sprinkles On Top) – I have never seen a cupcake quite adorable as these in my entire life. How can you not look at them without saying “awww”. I spotted these on Pinterest and when I saw them, I knew that they would instantly be a hit at our party and with the kiddos…

* Peppermint Bark (courtesy of PB Fingers) – This dessert just screams festive and traditional to me so I knew I wanted to incorporate it into our dessert spread. And as I was researching the many different varieties, I knew Julie’s the was the perfect kind since it incorporated both white and dark chocolates – a definite winner in my book ;)

* Chocolate Gooey Butter Cookies (courtesy of Sweet Tooth Sweet Life) – In researching for a show stopping cookie, I stumbled upon these beauties quite a few times and was intrigued by their crinkly-ness…yes that’s a word ;) And though I’ve never tried them before, I knew they must be a winner since Courtney gave them her seal of approval and any recipe originated from Paula Deen proves to be a sure fire hit :)

And that’s it!! I can’t wait to see, and taste (!), how all these beauties will come out – wish us luck!

And with that, I want to wish you all a very happy, safe, and most of all…

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!! :) XOXO

15 thoughts on “Our Christmas Eve Holiday Treats!

  1. what a fun day you have planned for tomorrow! i love a great baking extravaganza! when i’m at home for Christmas, i do the same thing with my stepmom and sister. we have a blast listening to Christmas music, eating the dough, and popping out tons of Christmas cookies! enjoy my dear! :)

  2. Oh what an absolutely fabulous day you have planned. There is nothing better than a great baking sesh with your bestie :) And I love the choices. Bark is so so easy and those reindeer cupcakes are too cute to pass up. I hope later in the day includes some vino and Christmas music..oh heck, start both early ;)

    Have a great time lovely! xox

    • Yes! Such a great recipe to do with your little ones! The kids at the party absolutely loved them – in fact, as I was handing my little cousin whose 6 years old a Rudolph cupcake, he looked at me with those big eyes and said, “no I want one with the brown nose” It was too too cute. I’m definitely saving the recipe to do for our little kiddies too ;)

  3. WEEEEEE! T minus less than one hour until our baking extravaganza! Can’t wait to make a mess in the kitchen with my bestest friend and sissy! And best yet to share such a wonderful holiday memory with you. I hope there are sweets left over for the party :) is this our 3rd annual olympic baking day? Can’t wait to see you! Fyi- I’m gonna preheat the oven! Love you!

  4. Happy holidays, Shayla! I miss you! Your blog is so pretty it’s been a while since I have been over here (just reading in google reader).

    I have had that happen to me with writing before…so annoying :(

    Anyway I hope you have a fantastic holiday with your family! Those reindeer cupcakes are the cutest! I should make them next year!

    Have a great day, sweetie!

    XO

    • I hope you had a wonderful holiday Laury!! Missed you too and thank you so very much for the sweet comment <3

      You should definitely try making the reindeer cupcakes next year! Super easy to do and so fun to decorate – and I bet Ella would love to help you with them ;) xoxo

  5. Those all look sooo delicious and creative!!! I am totally in love with those reindeer cupcakes too! You can find the coolest things on pinterest these days!!!
    My sister is my best friend too, and sounds like you guys had a really fun day of baking!! I would love to do that with my sister only she lives in Minnesota! Baking always brings back memories close to my heart as well- what is better than spending quality time with the people you love making comfort foods? If only they lived closer!

    • Seriously! It’s so amazing all that you can find on Pinterest – love it!

      Awww I wish your sis lived closer to you! I’m pretty thankful I live so close to all my immediate family members…and yes, there really is nothing better than making comfort foods with and for loved ones :)

  6. Pingback: Santa Was Very Good To Me… | The Good Life

Leave a Reply

