A New Year…and Some Changes

Well hello there everyone!!! So sorry to have completely dropped off the face of the earth – yikes! Ever since the start of the New Year, work has been very busy and that has led me to being one very busy bee! Many changes were put into action here at my work in trying to bring in more business and revenue which meant for a lot more responsibilities on my plate and has left me with little to zero time for blogging. And you may be thinking “well can’t you blog home?” Hmmm yes and no. First, my laptop is on it’s last leg and I can’t efficiently blog on it…sure I could write out my posts on paper and type them up on my lunch break at work, but to be honest my time at home (and on the weekends) is meant to be spent with my husband, family & friends, relax, decompress from work, and turn my brain off. Although there are those moments I do have when I could blog while watching The RH relaxing at home, but again, our laptop isn’t working so I’m thinking that once I get the iPad my blogging life will come back in full force. But for now, I’m going to have to take a break from it. I’m not sure how many times a week I’m going to be blogging, I’d like to keep it at one post per week, but I kinda don’t want to commit myself to anything and then stress if I didn’t get a blog post up for the week.

Not only has work been busy, but I’ve realized since the start of the New Year, my life is taking a bit of a turn. First I want to preface this by saying that my initial intent for starting this blog was to journal my experience in trying to get pregnant, and then once pregnant, documenting my pregnancy journey and then daily musings of what comes with being a new mom, life with a newborn, etc. But then with my diagnosis of HA, that put all my hopes and dreams of getting pregnant by the end of the year to a halt and left me with many moments of sadness, anger, and confusion. So these last couple months have left me blogging about my past struggles, healthy foods, and workouts, which I love doing, but right now I just can’t because my whole focus is not trying to fit in a smaller pair of jeans or get my heart rate up so many times a week…it’s about trying to get pregnant. I especially loved blogging about intense workouts I would do such as Vipr, TRX, spin classes, Group Power…but right now I can’t do any of those workouts therefore I can’t blog about them (if you’re wondering why I can’t exercise intensely or eat super clean – read the “Getting ready…” page). So I’m left thinking, “what the heck am I going to blog about?!” I do love (and I still will) blogging about my days & nights out with the hubby & family, musings about my life in general, and some of my past struggles with certain things about TTC’ing sprinkled in there – I hope that doesn’t scare some of you off from reading my blog! :P

So I guess you could also say that is where I’m at in my resolutions for the year. I’m not your typical “Healthy Living” blogger who’s trying to lose weight, try out a new workout routine or class, or clean up my diet…no, my #1 resolution right now is to get pregnant, that’s it. And after we have the baby, I absolutely cannot wait to bring back into my life and write about clean eating, new workout routines, musings about training for races with the hubby, and to workout like the athlete I am which is a huge part of my identity. But for now, I’m just purely focused on getting pregnant, and of course, living “The Good Life” :)

And with that, since I still want to blog about our random fun and shenanigans, I wanted to leave you here with some awesome pictures of our New Year’s Eve. Sure it comes a little late, but like they say, anything (especially our shenanigans) is better late than never ;)

Look at that sky!!!

Todd cooked up some delicious lobster to have at the stoke of midnight…

We were obviously having a lil too much fun with them…I think that was the champagne talking too ;)

Weeeeee! Into the pool of death they go…. :P

Cheers to 2012!!!!

Having some grub to cure a hangover and a creeper spotting in the background – don’t I look hot in my pj’s?! ;)

Heheh I think I got the creeper look down…

that.is.awesome

And to finish it off, an adorable photo of my mom and dad…xoxo

**Edited to Add: I wanted to say a huge thank you to all you bloggers and readers for following me and for this wonderful community and relationship we have all built. You made 2011 for me all the more special…I thank god for this blog in having given me the opportunity to meet you all and for being the greatest blog friends I could have ever asked for. I can’t wait to see what 2012 brings for me and you all and I look forward so much to following each others journey’s :) xoxo

Questions:
Bloggers: Did you ever have a moment where you needed to reevaluate how many times you post a week, what your blog means to you, and/or what you want to blog about?
And watch, now that I said all this next week you’ll get 5 blogs posts from me :P

What were your resolutions for the New Year?!

P.S. In a couple days I’m visiting a very special friend who just had a very special baby and I absolutely cannot wait to meet him!!! You know you’ll get a blog post out of me next week about that ;)

P.S.S. And Saturday more shenanigans will ensue with my hubby, my sister, and her boyfriend to watch the 49er playoffs so you’re sure to get a blog post next week about that too – gooooo ‘9ers!!!

29 thoughts on “A New Year…and Some Changes

  1. yaay Happy New Year! First and foremost don’t feel guilty, the blog is for YOU first, and then for all of us readers that love hearing what you have to share ;) When I first started my blog I felt pressure to post Monday through Friday, 5 days a week. But that is just not realistic for me. I hate forcing posts, and now I only blog when I am inspired to do so. Which usually ends up being about 3 times a week. But there have been many weeks where I just don’t blog because I have nothing to say, and I don’t see anything wrong with that! Taking time off can be good because then you come back with that much more to share! Take your time, and we will still be here waiting and interested in what your journey holds for you next. I wish you everything the best in 2012 and hope your dream becomes realized!

    • Mila you are the absolute sweetest, thank you so very much and you made me feel a *million *times better!!! I definitely relate to everything you said and how I have those weeks where there is absolutely nothing I want to say, haha! I don’t see anything wrong with that either and it makes me feel much better in that I’m not the only one ;) And thank you so much for coming along this journey with me and waiting to see what happens…more than anything I want for you and the other readers to keep following me no matter what – staying connected with you all is what matters to me most and you all are the absolute greatest xoxo

  2. Don’t you feel so much better letting it out!! I sure hope you do!

    Don’t feel bad one bit if the content or frequency of your blogging changes. Your true friends who care about you will continue to follow you regardless of where your journey takes you. There has been a lot of talk in the twitterverse and on blogs recently about how people are getting away from blogging for themselves and instead are trying to figure out some set formula to either increase readership or monetize their blogs. Here are a couple of my favorite posts on the subject: http://www.latteloveblog.com/2012/01/my-blogging-philosophy.html & http://theinspiredroom.net/2011/12/30/what-i-learned-about-blogging-in-2011/

    I hope 2012 brings you lots of good luck baby dust! Thanks for being a great blog friend! :-)

    • Haha yes!! Feel so much better, thank you :)

      Jen thank you so very much for your sweet comment, really means a lot to me and you’re right in that my true friends will continue to follow me no matter what. I want more than anything for this blog to capture my journey here and like you had said in your blog post that one day, that in sharing my experiences I want other women to know that they are not alone in their TTC struggles and that we’re all here for each other. And I love that post you linked! Amen for people coming out and speaking the truth about that. I have noticed this blogging shift too and it’s quite honestly starting to annoy me…the constant twittering, giveaways, and pinning about nothing is getting out of hand and ridiculous…all in the name of growing readership and hits and to me that’s not what blogging is about. To be honest I was that way at first too and was obsessed with # of page views, subscribers, and twitter followers I had, but I realized that doesn’t matter anymore. I have a great group of followers that I love, and for me it’s about capturing this journey so that i have an amazing journal to look back on and to share my life with close family and friends.

      Phew sorry to go off on that! It had been on my mind too and love that you brought this up. Thank you for the baby dust wishes and for being such an awesome blog friend…I’m sending many baby dusts and vibes your way too! :) xo

  3. although i do/have missed reading your posts, i absolutely understand!! your blog should ultimately be for YOU! i wish you and your hubby only the best this year in your journey to conceive – only in God’s perfect timing! before we know it, you’ll be writing posts about your little one and your journey as a mom! ;)

    i also love all your photos – you’re a beauty!

  4. Haha live all the additional notes at the end! You are too cute!

    And girl if there was a way I could help you get pregnant I certainly would do it. For now just know that I support you and rooting for you ;)

    Now that my lil soybean is here I am probably only going to blog 2 or 3 times per week. I just don’t have more time than that.

    Cannot wait til Monday!!! :) xo

    • Thank you my friend!!! You’re a new mom to the most adorable, precious baby and 2-3 posts a week is more than enough – although I’m thankful you are so I can see more pics of the wee one…although thank goodness for Facebook ;) Your time with him is so very special and you don’t want to miss one minue of it!! :)

      So cannot wait for Monday too – yipeeeee!!!! xoxoxo

  5. Although I miss your posts, I understand where you are coming from and have been there myself. Please know that we are reading to hear about you and not necessarily clean eats and new workouts. Doing what you need to do to make YOU healthy and your body ready for a baby is still great content and would probably be really appreciated by others struggling with similar issues. Good luck and I’ll be reading along when you do post!

    • Mo thank you so much!! Sometimes I can’t help but get caught up in what everyone else is doing in the “blog world” so thank you for reminding me that my readers are coming to read about *me*, and that’s it :) And I really do hope that people will appreciate me posting about those struggles and TTC’ing…nothing makes me happier than knowing that sharing my experiences could help just one woman. Thank you so much Mo for your continued readership and support, really means so much to me!! xo

  6. It is totally understandable where you are coming from. Blogging is not your life and nor should it be, family always comes first. I really hope that everything goes well for your TTC plans – I’m rooting for you like crazy! I definitely have had to reevaluate how many times I blog, because sometimes, even though I wish I could post everyday, I just don’t feel like I have the material to be passionate about it and I don’t want to post just for the sake of posting (which I think some bloggers do). Sometimes, I won’t post for over a week just because I’m not feeling inspired. Post on your own schedule, this is YOUR blog afterall, noone elses. Good luck with work, sounds like you have alot going on.

    • Thank you so much Lauren, love your comment and it really means a lot to me. I definitely agree with you in that a lot of bloggers just blog for the sake of it (more page views = more $$) and that’s not what blogging (to me at least) is about. I think it’s so great you blog when you feel the inspiration and passion for it – not forced – and frankly I enjoy reading those blogs that blog that way, to me it’s quality > quantity. Thank you so much for you continuing to follow me and for the well wishes, I really appreciate it! :)

  7. Just wanted to say good luck to you with TTC!! We are TTC #1 as well and it’s like having a part time job! I enjoy reading your blog (I don’t have one) and hope that you continue to keep us updated, even if not too regularly. You definitely need to focus on your personal life right now, completely understandable.

    • Thank you so much Laura!!! And congrats on TTC’ing for #1!! It’s definitely quite the journey and I’ll most definitely keep you all updated and posted with any new and exciting news…so happy to have you following me along this journey and I wish you the very best of luck in yours :) xo

  8. Shayla! I’m so happy you had a fabulous New Year! Your blog is YOUR blog. You don’t have to adhere to any sort of defined blog outline. You don’t have to post everyday about things ‘healthy living’ bloggers ‘should’. We read your blog and care about you because of YOU. I don’t believe in ultra specific blog categories… We are all just unique personalities putting stiff out there that we care about. Your positivity is contagious and I know that you’ll be a fabulous Mother ( it will happen!) and I look forward to reading about your journey! I know that I have mentioned it to you before but I also had amenorrhea and it eventually turned itself around. I lost my period for 6? Years. It eventually came back ad I am incredibly regular and SO ecstatic that I am still able to have children some day! Honestly, maybe I will decide to not to have kids, but having a menstrual cycle is kore than just being able to have kids… It makes you feel healthy and it makes you feel like a woman. Funny thing to actually wish for your period, huh!? I don’t know the specifics of HA but I read that it had to do with body fat percentage and activity levels…. Which was what I had to change. Ot took me almost a year for me to get it back after I gained more weight. I am super comfortable with my weight and feel so much more like a woman! Also, I have noticed that while training for races, my cycle goes crazy. The are much longer increments of time between that time of the month. So I can tell that my body is very sensitive to a lot of exercise. Whew! In a nutshell… I just Wanted to illustrate that you’re not a lone and that you will be just fine! It will happen for you Shayla :-D Happy 2012! <3

    • Sarah I can’t thank you enough for you sweet, supportive comment…I really really appreciate it and it means so much to me. And everything you said about blogging is so very true and I love your attitude about it. Sometimes I get stuck in thinking I have to blog a certain way and when I see other bloggers copy the “big bloggers” I think I have to follow the same protocol in keeping my readers so I can’t thank you enough in reminding me that you and my readers will continue to follow me no matter what! :)

      And thank you so much for sharing your experience with me and reminding me I’m not alone in this…makes me feel much better in knowing I could get my period soon. I went off of it in March ’11 so it’ll almost be a year and I’m hoping it will come soon! Yes, getting a period does make you feel like a woman and even if we weren’t trying to get pregnant, I’d still be wanting to make lifestyle changes to get a period since it’s so vital and important as woman to have menstrual cycles. I’m so happy for you that you got your cycle back on track and it must be so relieving to know you’ll be able to (if you want) have children. I know never in my life will I ever be so happy to get/have a period! And once I do and going forward I still will be so grateful when it comes, lol! Happy 2012 to you too girl and happy Friday!!! xoxo

  9. First I have to say that you are absolutely beautiful, and I think you look amazing where your body is at right now – so vibrant, healthy, and gorgeous. I cannot see an extra ounce on you anywhere!

    Second, I completely agree with the others. Blog about what you want, when you feel like it (that’s clearly what I do ;)) and don’t worry about what other people think. IMO we spend way too much of our lives worrying about what other people think. You have a wonderful husband who loves you – you don’t need to impress anyone else!

    xo

    • Nico, thank you so very much, you’re so very sweet and your comment gave me many happy tears :) Thank you thank you…you’re the absolute best and I’m so thankful to have met you…if it weren’t for you and the community you’ve built on the forum with the amazing advice and support I wouldn’t be where I am today…xoxo

      You know you’re 100% right in that we’re here to do what we want to do – why do we all get caught up in worrying about what other people think? Life is too short to live that way in feeling the need to impress others, especially when (like you said) I have a husband you loves me just they way I am :) Thank you Nico xoxo

  10. Wonderful, beautiful post. You are speaking from you heart…love it. I’m not as into blogging right now…it seems to go in spurts. I’d rather read them now then write my own. Happy New Year to you and your hubby. I know it’s going to be a special one filled with many blessings :)

  11. I really hope it happens for you soon! I’m sending a hope and a prayer that this is your year!

    My resolution is to get organized!

    • Megan thank you so very much…so very sweet of you and it really means a lot to me :) xoxo

      Organization is a good one! Especially with your 2nd bundle of joy on the way!! Btw, I have love love following you along another journey, so exciting!! :)

  12. Let all your feelings out from your heart and mind. Imagine all the women out there going through this hard journey alone. I am sure they feel no one can possibly understand what they are going through or how they are feeling. Life can be wonderful but unfortunately not perfect. Being able to share your challenges as well as your accomplishments can not only help you deal with the struggle you are facing, it can also be helping those who are listening.
    Believe in your power!
    Love ya
    XOXO

  13. Shayla this was another great post as always! I completely understand where you are coming from about blogging… I only blog about 2-3 times per week as well. Sometimes you just need to live life in order to have anything worth writing about anyway!
    I admire your determination to get pregnant and I think you will make a great Mommy someday! can’t wait to follow your pregnancy journey when its your turn! :) xoxox

    • Wow thank you so very much for your sweet comment…touched my heart so very much and it really means a lot to me. I’ve loved so very much following you along your pregnancy journey so thank you for following me when it’s my turn! :) xoxo

  14. Hey, gorgeous!!!

    I am so glad to hear you had a fun new years and are taking time for your family and friends as your plate fills up at work! Don’t stress over blogging. I myself have really cut back because it is a serious time suck!!!! Anyway I hope you are well and I am sending baby fairy dust your way!

  15. Pingback: Getting To Know Me… | The Good Life

Leave a Reply

