Monday’s – A love/hate relationship

Posted on Updated on

Good morning everyone!  Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!  It’s Monday and that means it’s the start of a fresh week, back into our normal routines, and back to the daily grind.  I like to say I have a love/hate relationship with Monday’s, or to some people, “Moanday’s”.  I think we all know why the vast majority of people hate Monday’s…because the fun of the weekend is over and it’s time to get back to work.  However, I’m actually starting to, dare I say it, love Monday’s?!  Overall, I try to be proactive in keeping a positive outlook on life, and I try to do that the morning I wake up on a Monday.  I’m reminded that I’m thankful to have a job (I was unemployed for a year after a horrendous work experience…I’ll leave that topic for another post) and not only to be employed, but to be thankful for the fact that I actually like what I do and I’m truly happy with where and whom I work with.  I’m also reminded that I get to go back to my daily routines, which by the way I really love, I’m a creature of habit and thrive off of having a routine…so I love the tone Monday’s set for getting back into the groove of my healthy eating and exercise.

Especially since my relationship with Monday’s wasn’t always a healthy one, so you could say I had a flow blown “case of the Monday’s” and a hate relationship with it.  Back in my disordered eating days when I didn’t treat myself and body well, Monday’s were essentially “the bane of my existence”.  On the weekends I would still indulge, but it would be “over the top indulging” since I was depriving myself so badly during the week.  Then come Monday, I would feel shame and regret for how I ate over the weekend, so I would begin that day and end the week full of deprivation…it was one vicious cycle.  And let me tell you, I was not one happy person to be around, and I don’t even know how I had the energy to go throughout my day.  Thankfully, I’m happy to say those days are long gone…sure I indulge (to a healthy degree) on the weekends…I think we all now and then need a break from healthy eating and need to indulge to maintain our sanity…and now come Monday I don’t even think twice about depriving myself.  Instead, I start the day with a sweaty workout and a nice filling, healthy breakfast.  And I continue that healthy mindset by having balanced meals throughout the week…that way when I go into the weekend I’m not drowning in that feeling to go crazy and binge on everything.  Eating balanced meals sets the tone for the week, I’m a happier person, and I have the energy and brain power to go throughout the week being a person full of life and energy.  Now I’m not just going through the motions and letting the days pass me by, now I can live them.  And sure with this came weight gain and I’ve learned to accept that this is now my happy weight…you couldn’t pay me a million dollars to trade in the happy, energetic person I am now today for the very thin, lifeless one.  Granted, I’m not bounding out of bed with a perma smile on my face, it’s not all butterflies and roses, and I’m rockin’ a sweet belly bloat from the weekends shenanigans…but overall I do try to be positive and try to appreciate the start of living every week, and do it to the fullest I can.

With that being said, I started this Monday off with a sweat inducing spin class.  It felt good to get that energy going and endorphin rush…and the class was a good one…lots of flats and hill climbs with intervals interspersed into them…I was one sweaty beast afterwards 😉

Once home, showered, then smoothie time!!  Let me remind you all again how much a creature of habit I am and love my routines…so it was another smoothie again for me today 🙂

Smoothie Station:

The End Product:

Smoothie:

1 1/2 cups almond milk

1 frozen banana

1 scoop protein powder

2 packets Splenda

1 tsp. xantham gum

And a couple Peanut Butter Puffins for garnish…highly addicted to the puffins 😉

And today’s outfit!

Skinny jeans (these jeans are ok for a “non casual workday” since they’re a dark color and “dressy” looking) and Express top from my mom and sister for my birthday!  Thanks guys, love it! 🙂

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday…remember what you have to be thankful for and make it a good one 🙂

One thought on “Monday’s – A love/hate relationship

    Shannon said:
    June 28, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    I love what you wrote here and can definitely identify with the monday blues. I love your positive outlook and will certainly hear your words in my mind the next time I wake up on a monday less than thrilled. Thank you for sharing this posting – u are such a strong, insightful woman. Xoxo sissy

Leave a Reply

