My Workout Buddy

Posted on Updated on

Tuesday mornings are another spin class day for me…but today was much different…today I was pleasantly accompanied by my best friend whose an amazing athlete and supports me each and everyday…

My hubby!!!

I was pleasantly surprised yesterday when he mentioned he’d like to join me for a 6am spin class…say what?!  Hubby has to be “in the mood” to take a spin class, so I was more than happy to hear that he wanted to join me this morning.  And I have to say, I was impressed that he wanted to take advantage of a 6am class since this week he starts work at 8am instead of the usual 7am…so I give props to the hubby wanting to get an early cardio sesh on with me – sweet!  And I don’t know what it is, but I just really like working out together…having him right by my side spinning away I think makes me a lil extra competitive and I like to show him I can kick his booty in the cardio room…thank you very much…and I think the ladies in class liked the scenery too, if ya know what I mean 😉

However if we’re talking about the weight room, he’ll leave me in tears while I’m trying to eek out just one push up or pull up…he dominates the iron and looks pretty darn hot doing it too 😉

After our gym session together it was time to say goodbye and head to work!  It was a fun, energetic new way to start the morning and I hope he joins me more often to get his booty whipped by his wifey 🙂

Hope you all are having a fabulous Tuesday so far!  It’s an icky one over here…can’t believe it’s almost July and it’s doom and gloom 😦

This is outside my office window…if you look reeeeal close you can see the San Francisco skyline…I’ll have to snap another photo for you all when it’s pretty and sunny out!

Here’s my outfit for the day…and I updated the Fashion page with an old picture from when I worked at Corporate Macy’s West…it’s with a special guest and I’ll give you one hint…he likes to say often “Make it Work” 😉

Do you like to workout by yourself or with a buddy?  Have you ever worked out with your significant other and if so, did you like it?!

14 thoughts on “My Workout Buddy

    Sherri said:
    June 28, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    Hmmmm! Tim Gunn! Lucky!!

    That was a Good Life Day!

    Sherri said:
    June 28, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    P. S. To show your early natural style mojo the Santa Cruz picture needs to be posted!

      Shayla said:
      June 29, 2011 at 9:38 am

      Haha yes it does mom!! Good call…that makes me think, there are a lot of photos we have that need to be scanned to the computer and put on this blog to document lots of Good Life Days! 😉

    Courtney @ Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life said:
    June 29, 2011 at 4:55 am

    You and your hubby are one gorgeous couple!!
    I don’t mind a workout buddy if I’m doing group exercise classes, but if I’m running I actually prefer to be alone 🙂

      Shayla said:
      June 29, 2011 at 9:40 am

      You’re the sweetest Courtney, thank you! I agree with you on the running…I’ve tried it with my husband and I just end up getting frustrated b/c he runs so much darn faster than me! At least with a spin bike we’re stationary 😉

    Shannon said:
    June 29, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I used to love to work out with someone- she taught spin and was awesome at it! I know she still would be if she taught again. You might know her? 🙂 but I totally understand how its nice just to work out and not feel like its a job! We all need time for ourselves and exercise is perfect for that!

    My Workout Buddy – Part 2 « The Good Life said:
    July 13, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    […] one having to get up at 4:30am (ugh!), but it was made even easier to do because I got to have my workout buddy (aka hubby) with me again this morning!  Last night I told him that I was planning on going to the […]

    […] in, so I bounded out of bed, downed some coffee, and got my booty to the 6am spin class with my workout buddy in tow   Our spin instructor this morning played awesome music.  A mix of dance, hip hop, and […]

    The Act of Smiling « The Good Life said:
    July 20, 2011 at 10:25 am

    […] was another fun workout for me and the hubby.  I had my workout buddy again with me and we completed a 15 minute Ab Class and 45 minute Bootcamp Class.  It was filled […]

    […] morning started off great with a 15 minute Ab class and 45 minute Bootcamp class, again with my Workout Buddy!  I’m sad to say though that this will be our last fitness class together Although […]

    Annoying Work Habits | The Good Life said:
    August 10, 2011 at 11:48 am

    […] and today I’ve missed having my workout buddy with me, but this morning I was able to have him for 15 minutes for the early Ab class!  Something […]

    Blogging Inspiration | The Good Life said:
    August 18, 2011 at 10:34 am

    […] weird dream I had (future post!), or sweet ‘n’ savory foods, or gym etiquette, or about my workout buddy. I like having this variety in my blog and it always keeps things interesting and fresh. At times […]

    Nicole said:
    January 2, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    You and your hubby are so awesome together.

    I definitely like to have a workout buddy whenever possible and can totally picture you whooping some butt in the cardio arena! I remember getting on the treadmill next to you one day and never again…you just kept going.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      January 9, 2012 at 4:19 pm

      Haha omg you got me laughing out loud with this comment! 🙂 And can I just add again how awesome of a memory you have!! And I’m surprised I kicked your booty on the treadmill b/c you’re *the *runner of the two of us!!! 😉 xoxo

Leave a Reply

