Happy Hump Day!!

Posted on Updated on

I love when we finally approach Wednesday’s, aka Hump Day…I feel like the weekend starts to come in sight and the work week is all downhill from here.  But I have to admit, and this is the 10 year old coming out of me, but I can’t help but giggle when I think of the slogan Hump Day, if ya know what I mean.  And I don’t think I’m the only one here…this morning I said to my boss “Happy Hump Day!” and he just gave me a funny look…haha whoops!  But then I didn’t feel so weird when my coworker came in this morning and said the same thing to me…I guess it’s a generation thing 😉

Anyway…woke up this morning at 4:45am to take a 5:45am ab class.  Yes I know that sounds completely insane, but I’m a grandma and go to bed around 8:30pm at night, so that’s a sweet 8 hours!!  Hiyoo!  And this girl here definitely needs her 8 hours, any less or any more than that, I’m a complete zombie and not a happy camper the.entire.day.  No joke.  And I like to typically wake up an hour beforehand to get going, have my coffee, make my hubby his lunch, get dressed…and then by the time I’m at the gym I’m fully awake and not feeling like I’m sleep walking through my workout…hate that feeling.

Today was a good one too.  In the ab class we did a different assortment of ab exercises such as toe touches, bicycle crunches and rotations with a medicine ball, and planks…lots and lots of them over and over….I was seriously feeling the burn.  And I have to say, I actually love going to classes like this because I’m horrible at doing ab exercises on my own…I know I know, I’m a fitness fanatic and hate doing ab exercises, don’t hate me.  However for me, having a class like this pushes me to do something I otherwise wouldn’t do on my own, and it always incorporates a great variety of exercises so we’re always switching things up…a must for avoiding those dreadful fitness plateaus and to always keep those muscles guessing! 🙂

Same goes for the Medicine Ball Madness class that follows the Ab class.  There’s no way on this earth you’re going to find me in the main area of the gym flying my booty around doing squat jumps, burpees, ice skaters, lunge jumps, and crazy things with the medicine ball all by myself, no siree.  However I have seen some courageous people in the gym that get their medicine ball madness on all by themselves (cough cough hubby 😉 ), and props to them, but I just won’t.  So that’s what I love about these classes…they push me out of my comfort zone, incorporates variety into my routines so I don’t plateau, and most importantly, I’m at least making a fool of myself with 20 other sweaty, crazy peeps too 🙂

(source)

Sorry that’s not me, so you can all stop laughing now 😉

Another thing I noticed as I was flailing my arms about with the medicine ball and in mid squat jump, was that I was the only girl in there wearing a hat.  Huh?!  Please whoever is reading tell me that I’m not the only girl who likes to wear a hat while working out??  Case in point…

…and hubby does too 😉

Seriously though, I’ve recently noticed that the majority of the time I’m the only chick in the gym wearing a hat.  And to be honest the only reason, aside from keeping the sweat from getting into my eyes so I don’t go blind, is to hide my ridiculous ragamuffin head I always wake up to in the morning.  Seriously, someone tell me what happens in the middle of the night to have me wake up in the morning to my hair stuck to the side of my face and sticking out at all crazy angles?!  Sis, ya hear me on this one right?!  The hair fairy gods must come in the middle of the night and mess with me, that’s what it is!!  That’s my answer and I’m stickin’ to it.

And speaking of hats…I think it’s time for a new one…

..and look at that sweet fraying on the velcro strap, awesome. I must say I am one hot mess 😉

And for my outfit for today I was feelin’ more corporate and went with the pencil skirt…even though it’s still gloom and doom weather over here…grrrrrr!

Sweater: Banana Republic

Skirt: Express

Shoes: Nine West pumps

Hope you all have a wonderful Hump Day! 😉  And for any ladies out there, do you like to wear hats while working out?  If not, why?  I’d like to know why I’m the singled one out here in the hat department!

5 thoughts on “Happy Hump Day!!

    Sherri said:
    June 29, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Sorry no hat for me! You’d be hysterical if you saw me working out in a hat!!!

    Nice outfit Glamour Puss!

    XOXO

    Shannon said:
    June 29, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    No hat for me either- must have gotten that from mom. I look like a goober and it hurts my head. As for the bed head – totally feel ya there. There is a bed head monster that comes around at night and totally ruins the lovely locks!
    By the way- u look hot! But I bet u were ready to rock the Vickys pjs tonight?!

    Courtney @ Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life said:
    June 30, 2011 at 6:39 am

    I love the outfit today!!
    I don’t usually do the hat thing when I workout…I hate the way it gets all smelly 😉

      Shayla said:
      June 30, 2011 at 8:49 am

      Thank you for the compliment…love wearing that kind of outfit too although the pumps hurt my feet sooo bad!! You know you’re right about the smelly hat thing, even though I still wear them I hate that part about them too! 🙂

    Creature of Habit « The Good Life said:
    June 30, 2011 at 11:26 am

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time HomeAboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJune 24th – July 3FitnessGetting ready….Wedding ← Happy Hump Day!! […]

Leave a Reply

