Creature of Habit

Posted on Updated on

Howdy folks.  Hope you’re all having a great day so far!  This morning while eating breakfast I was reflecting back on this week in regards to my exercise, meals, and fashion…and there’s one very thing that came to mind that I’ve learned and accepted about me.  I am the epitome of someone who is a “creature of habit.”  One thing I’m very very stubborn about changing are my workouts, meals, and fashion.  Anyone who knows me well, knows that change is hard for me and I like a routine, A LOT.  I like to say I live by the  motto, “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it”.  But there are times when there is just too much of a good thing…

Exercise – Once I do a workout and absolutely love it, i.e. spinning, I instantly get hooked and it’s really hard for me to break out of that routine.  If you can believe it, I used to spin almost everyday…everyday?!  Granted I wouldn’t go all out in intensity every time, but doing a spinning class each and everyday over and over not only gets boring, but it’s also not beneficial to your joints and muscles to perform the same kind of motions over and over again.  Eventually I got out of my rut, yes I still spin quite a lot – 5 days a week, but now I do make sure to balance it with running, treadmill hill climbing, bootcamp and medicine ball classes.  It’s so important to keep those muscles guessing and to always avoid a potential fitness plateau.  From my experience, you’ll never make any gains in fitness if you keep performing the same workouts everyday, and if you do, you’re simply just wasting your time.

Here I am today post spin: a sweaty beast with one lil dry spot on my shirt…if you look reeeeal close you can see it!  And not to toot my own horn, but I’m likin’ those arm muscles I’m seein’…that medicine ball craziness must be payin’ off 😉

So overall, I feel I’ve made a good effort to switch up my exercise routine and break out of a fitness rut, but this next one here is a weak one for me…

Meals – I love food.  And I love certain foods so much that I eat them everyday.  For the past couple of weeks day in and day out, I’ve had smoothies for breakfast; greek yogurt with puffins, banana, and a salad beast for lunch; and either a turkey panini or turkey salad with some sort of carb on the side for dinner.  Thrown in there too are snacks of almonds or fruit, and dessert would be prunes w/ peanut butter (don’t knock it til you try it!) or jello pudding cups.  I take a multivitamin (now a prenatal vitamin since we want to start trying soon) to fill in any nutritional gaps, but this health buff knows that it’s most important to get your vitamins through real food as much as possible.  And, it’s really important to switch up your foods and meals so that you’re always filling in those nutritional gaps…this is especially very important to me and I need to start this now for before and during I have that bun in the oven 😉  Next week after I get back from our holiday weekend getaway, I’m going to make a grocery haul and really make a concerted effort to stock pile my fridge and cupboards with an assortment of (healthy) goodies so that I can make at least one different meal everyday.  I’d also really like to start putting my love for watching Food Network, what I’ve learned from reading its magazine, and the healthy living blogs I read, to good use…I know my hubby would appreciate some nice (new!) meals too 😉  And now I got this blog for accountability and can’t let you all down so I’m excited to take on this challenge!

Here’s this mornings smoothie and coffee – and those black specs, no they’re not ants, they’re chia seeds!  Great crunch factor and awesome nutritional stats, but boy do they stick in your teeth!

Fashion – As much as I love fashion and before this blog, I have to admit that I would tend to get lazy, and couple that with being rushed for time, I would just throw on some skinny jeans or dress pants, a top, heels and call it a day.  Looking back on my fashion posts, that’s exactly what I did.  I liked my outfits, but one week I wore skinny jeans everyday!  Granted I don’t have quite the extra money to spend on clothes and accessories, but I want to work with what I have already in my closet and really start to put some effort into it.  If J’s Everyday Fashion can do it, I hope to also!  By the way, you need to check out her blog, it has inspired me to break out of my fashion rut and try new trends and styles…and she’s gorgeous to boot and has an amazing fashion sense and taste!

So I started this challenge today by nixing the skinny jeans and wore black capris and a top with color (another fashion rut of mine is always wearing black!)…and yes I am in the girls locker room of the gym in my office building…I seriously need to get a full length mirror so that I can take these pictures at home – promise!

Side note – funny story: My mom told me that even when I was little, that when winter time came around, I wouldn’t dare stop wearing my leggings shorts (remember those, with the lace on the bottom?!) and t-shirts even though it was 50 degrees outside!  Old habits definitely do die hard 😉  And I like to say these habits of mine are hereditary, mom you know what I’m talking about, same lunch now for how many years?! 😉

I also coupled my outfit with a new perfume someone special got me…my sissy!

Hands down, the best smelling perfume EVER!  You must try it!  Thanks again sissy, xoxo 🙂

I’m happy that I got “my creature of habit syndrome” out in the open and I’m excited to start these challenges!  Especially now that I have this blog for accountability…I know you all will be watching me 😉

Question: Are you a creature of habit?  If so, with what?

13 thoughts on “Creature of Habit

    Sherri said:
    June 30, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Love the shirt!

    I’m a creature of habit on everything. Sorry Sweets!

    I’m enjoying this new journey!

    Sherri said:
    June 30, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    P. S. as Dad would say “Nice guns”!

    Sherri said:
    June 30, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    P.S. as Dad would say “Nice guns”!

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    June 30, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    check out how GORGEOUS you are. And those arms…I’m having “guns” envy. I lost all that a few months back 😉 Very lean and healthy!

    I am SO a creature of habit!!!

    Spinning EVERY DAY!???

    I took spinning 2x in my life and hated it. That was years ago and I was thinking today at the gym how I should try it again. I like biking in life, but never liked it in the gym for some reason. It always killed my knees!

    Congrats on the bloggie 🙂

      Shayla said:
      June 30, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      Laury!!! Thank you so much for stopping by! You’re the sweetest, thank you for the compliment 🙂
      I know I don’t know how I took spin classes everyday…although that took a couple of years to get to that point, but still, it was a lot! I think you’ll like it if you get that “right” instructor who you connect with and feel that energy…it makes a world of a difference!

    4th of July Fun & I’m Back! « The Good Life said:
    July 6, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    […] and I didn’t forget about my “Creature of Habit” challenge I signed myself on to do…since it’s already Wednesday and with the […]

    To Live a Good Life… « The Good Life said:
    July 12, 2011 at 10:46 am

    […] normal!  However, I was kind of glad it was gloomy and cold out since today I’m starting my Creature of Habit challenge, and for once I didn’t feel like having a smoothie for breakfast.  I’m going […]

    My Workout Buddy – Part 2 « The Good Life said:
    July 13, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    […] – Creature of Habit Day […]

    Achieving Balance… « The Good Life said:
    July 18, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    […] would be a fun component to show you all what I eat, especially since I’m still forging on my Creature of Habit challenge, and to be sure I’m getting enough nutrients for our Getting Ready… […]

    Intuitive Eating & Overnight Oats | The Good Life said:
    July 28, 2011 at 10:40 am

    […] face them head on.  So this may sound silly, but trying an entirely new breakfast creation and my Creature of Habit challenge, is a huge step for me.  In the past I was always afraid to try something new for fear […]

    […] By the way, I hope my food isn’t getting too boring for you all!  You know I’m a Creature of Habit and tend to love eating the same things all the time…and we’re trying to stick to a […]

    Too much of a good thing…? | The Good Life said:
    August 9, 2011 at 11:01 am

    […] all about balance and variety is the spice of life.  So once again, I should break out of my Creature of Habit moments and tap into some different veggies that I may end up liking, even loving!  However, at […]

    Inspiration, Everywhere… | The Good Life said:
    September 15, 2011 at 11:06 am

    […] same ole yogurt and salad combo, and didn’t want to bore you with it. I guess it’s the creature of habit in me If you’re new around here though, here’s what it looks […]

Leave a Reply

