4th of July Fun & I’m Back!

Posted on Updated on

Hello everyone!  Sorry for being MIA for so long, it apparently took me awhile to get back into the swing of things and I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday?!  I’m not complaining though, only two more days until the weekend, whoo hoo!  I last left you all with my family and I taking a little vacation up to our cabin in Lake Tulloch…we had such a fantastic time and it was just what the doctor ordered…full of relaxation, good food, good wine, and good company…all together that makes “the good life” 🙂  Oh, and a few dance parties may have taken place too…we like to get our groove on 😉

Since so many shenanigans took place and I don’t want to leave any good moment out, I’ll let the pictures do the talking…

I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July, and when you have moments like these to spend with family and friends, remember to always make the most of those moments…those memories will last a lifetime and when you’re with your loved ones, always strive to make it a good one…I know we sure did 😉

Cheers to The Good Life!

Back to Reality

After a fun and quite indulgent weekend, I’m happy to say that it feels good to be back to a lil normalcy…though as much as I love to get away, relish in many indulgences (i.e. sweets and champy 😉 ), take a break from working out, and let loose a bit…getting back to my regular routine always feels nice.  And that’s one of the things I have really tried to strive for when getting healthier and still try to maintain to do…balance.  During the work week I really aim to comprise my meals chock full of healthy grains, veggies, and fruit…and then once the weekend rolls around, that’s my time to be more carefree with my diet and exercise and focus my time with loved ones.  With life, there’s ebbs and flows that happen, and that’s how I like to look at my diet and exercise.  I know from experience that I can’t be too strict with myself day in and day out, I’d pretty much go crazy and not be a pleasant person to be around, and that’s no fun.  My motto is that life is too short to live that way everyday, and for some people that may be their thing and that works for them, but I’ve come to realize I can’t live like that and my happiness will suffer to maintain that way of living forever.  It’s always a work in progress, but it’s something I’m happy to work on and always strive to get better at…I can’t always be perfect, but I can appreciate the journey and learn from the experience.

And on that note…I started my day off with a healthy, refreshing smoothie and a nice sweaty cardio workout.  It felt good to be back in the gym and show off my new tan too 😉 (Don’t you wish there was a healthy way to stay tan 24/7?!  It really does give a nice glow and shows off those arm muscles 😉 )

Oh, and I didn’t forget about my “Creature of Habit” challenge I signed myself on to do…since it’s already Wednesday and with the frenzy of coming back from vacation, I haven’t committed to a huge grocery haul like I said I was going to, so I’m recommitting my challenge to start next Monday, promise!

Fashion and Fitness pages were updated.

Question: Is it hard for you to go back to your routine or do you like it?  Do you like to “ebb and flow” with your healthy and indulgent eats?

2 thoughts on “4th of July Fun & I’m Back!

    Sherri said:
    July 6, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Yep, back to the routine I’m the original “Creature”!

    Shannon said:
    July 6, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    I love the pics! What a good time! I also love what you wrote here. I enjoy the ebbs and flow with both my workouts and eating routines. This past weekend did I realize more than ever how important it really is to give your body a break. Not only do I need it but it makes it that much easier to get back into my routine. Thank you for your encouraging words and helping me to enjoy the ebbs and flows!

Leave a Reply

