Busy Bee

Posted on Updated on

Hi everyone!  So I just realized today that it’s already…Friday?!  Where did this week go?!  I also realized I only blogged once this week!  Oops.  It’s been a busy one here at work and with trying to get my life in order after the 4 day holiday weekend and then a half day at work Tuesday, I’ve been go go go and certainly one busy bee.  I’m definitely not complaining though, it’s nice to have the weekend already here and anyway, I think employers should require 4 day work weeks…I think I could get all your support on that, right?! 😉

This morning I started off my busy bee-ness by pressing the snooze button one to many times and woke 15 minutes later than I like too…don’t cha hate it when that happens, gggrrr!  Downed my coffee and off to the gym I went to get in another sweaty spin workout…it was a good one but I don’t know if I’m feeling our new Friday 6am spin instructor.  He’s an outdoor cyclist so he likes to base the classes on particular profiles.  For instance, today we did a class called “race day”, in which you are highly challenged the entire duration of the class.  Below is description of it, and if you’re interested to read more about the various spinning proflies, click on the below source link and the website has an excellent explanation of it all.

Race Day Energy Zone™

“A Race Day Energy Zone ride is a celebration and an opportunity to apply the consistent Energy Zone training you and your students have practiced to a peak performance effort. Race Day is not an everyday ride-it can be used as a monthly test to recognize and appreciate progress made and set further goals. It’s the ultimate challenge. This workshop will teach you to prepare your students and create a safe, high-powered Race Day ride.”  source

Ugh…I’m sorry but let’s just say there was no celebration of any sorts going on and I was about to vomit!  Not my cup of tea.  At least he played good music…but while we were stretching he mentioned that he’d play a theme of disco music next week….uhhh I think I’ll pass on that one, thankyouverymuch!

Question:  If you take spinning classes, what kind of classes do you enjoy?  Is it the music or the profile (i.e. Race, Strength, Interval Day) of the class that gets you going?  Personally, it’s all about the music for me.  Put on some Neeyo, Gaga, Britney, etc., with a couple flat roads and hill climbs thrown in there and I’m good to go 😉

After spin I continued my busy bee frenzy by rushing home to clean up our house for another showing we have today.  I’m telling you, having your house on the market while living there is a pain in the booty!  Crossing our fingers we finally get an offer soon!  Smoothie made then off to work I went…pic here pre scarfage of smoothie and coffee…the spin class sure ramped up my appetite this morning!

Are you wondering why that lovely smoothie is looking green?!  Well if you guessed spinach, you’re right!  We had some spinach going stale and I didn’t want to waste it so I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to make a Green Monster!  I first heard about this wonderfully delicious smoothie invention from the lovely Angela at Oh She Glows.  It was a major hit on her blog and the Green Monster Revolution was made.  I haven’t made one in awhile since spinach is expensive and I like to use it as salads, but when it’s on it’s last leg, it’s the perfect opportunity since you can’t tell when it’s blended up.  I noticed this morning too that the spinach actually lends a sweet flavor to it…now you may be rolling your eyes at me right now, and trust me I was once a skeptic too, but once you try it you’ll never look back…and it’s a great way to add a vegetable to your diet.  And trust me, if I can make the hubby try one and exclaim, “wow! I don’t even taste the spinach, this is good!” then you can too!

And the key to masking the spinach flavor is adding a banana to it, you can’t leave this important ingredient out or else you may get a grassy taste in your smoothie, and we don’t want that now do we 😉  And now without further ado, here’s this mornings smoothie ingredients:

1 1/2 cups Almond Milk – Unsweetened Vanilla

1 frozen banana

1 big handful spinach

1 scoop Designer Whey Chocolate Protein Poweder

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tsp xanthan gum

2 packets Splenda

handful Peanut Butter Puffins cereal mixed in

This smoothie was definitely a good one and I’m still full 3 hours later, sweet!

Yay it’s casual Friday here in the office…and that means it’s a blue jeans and a fun top kind of day!  Sorry for the poor quality photo, I had to rush since there’s lots of peeps buzzing around the office today…I guess it’s a busy bee kinda day 🙂

Hope everyone has a fabulous Friday and I’ll see you tomorrow with a fun day and yummy eats to share! 🙂

P.S. Fashion and Fitness pages were updated!

5 thoughts on “Busy Bee

    Shanna like Banana said:
    July 8, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Hi! So glad you found my blog. There doesn’t seem to be a ton of Bay Area bloggers. And it looks like we like a lot of the same things! Cant wait to follow you more and perhaps down the road have a blogger meet up!

      Shayla said:
      July 13, 2011 at 11:35 am

      Hi Shanna! Thank you for commenting! I just found this today…for some reason it was in my spam? This newbee here is still getting used to all that is wordpress and blogging! 🙂 You’re so right in that there are not many bay area blogger??!! Yes, I would to down the road have a blogger meet up…always wanted to do that! Thank you so much for your readership Shanna and I love your blog and following it…I’m putting you on my blogroll too 🙂

    Shannon said:
    July 9, 2011 at 11:02 am

    U are so pretty! Nice shirt! Anyhow… I want a green monster! U must make one for me sometime! About spinning- its totally about the music! I could do almost any profile if there are good tunes – except maybe an entire ride in the saddle. Yuck!! And it hurts my bottom 😦 And what’s this about pushing the snooze button? I never push the snooze button – people do that?? J/k for me its how many times do I push it!!

    shannon said:
    July 9, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    U r so pretty! Nice shirt! I want a green monster! U have to make one for me sometime!! Anyhow as for spinning, not surprisingly I totally agree with u- its all about the music!! I could do almost any profile with good tunes. Except for maybe an entire ride in the saddle. Yuck!! Its boring and plus it hurts my bottom! And what’s this about pushing the snooze button? I never push the snooze button! People do that? J/k- for me its all about how many times I push the button that’s the problem!

    Sherri said:
    July 10, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    A fun spin class has GREAT MUSIC !

Leave a Reply

