To Live a Good Life…

Posted on

Good morning everyone!  Today is a gloomy one over here and we’re having unseasonably cloudy, dreary weather.  On the news they said it was 15-20 degrees cooler than normal!  However, I was kind of glad it was gloomy and cold out since today I’m starting my Creature of Habit challenge, and for once I didn’t feel like having a smoothie for breakfast.  I’m going to begin this challenge by changing up my breakfasts and having a different one each day.  I was thinking this morning about the reason as to why I don’t like changing my meals, and the answer I always come to is “satisfaction”.  Once I find a food or meal that I create for a breakfast/lunch/dinner and it satisfies me, meaning it keeps me full for a long time and my taste buds are happily dancing away, then it’s a winner, and believe it or not, I can eat that meal repeatedly everyday of the week.  Although, like I said in my Creature of Habit post, it’s not necessarily nutritionally sound to eat the same thing everyday in that you’re missing out on many other nutrients your body needs.  However, if you switch up your meals, then you’re essentially balancing everything out and by the end of the week your nutritional intake as a whole should be pretty complete.

So with that, after my sweaty spin class this morning, I headed straight to the grocery store and stocked up on some new goodies.  By the way, how amazing is it to go to the grocery store in the morning?!  Love how empty it is and I could actually maneuver through the store stress free!  Ha, it’s the little things in life that excite me 🙂

Anyway, with the gloomy weather I was feeling something warm and comforting, so I got 100% Whole Wheat Thomas’ English Muffins in anticipation to make a muffin with peanut butter and banana slices on top, mmm mmmm!  Side Note:  I really wanted to get the Cinnamon Raisin English Muffins, but believe or not, I have high cholesterol (for me it’s mostly hereditary), so I really need to be proactive about lowering it.  One of the ways to do that is to reduce your intake of white fluffy yummy carbs and increase your whole grains with lots of dietary fiber.  So until I get my cholesterol down, cinnamon raisin muffins will have to stay far far away from me…for now at least 😉

Final product:

Breakfast:

100% Whole Grain Thomas’ English Muffin

2 tbsp. PB2 peanut butter

1/2 banana slices on top (other half eaten on the side)

1/2 scoop protein powder in my coffee (not the yummiest way to have your protein powder but I had to get some protein in somehow!  Next time I’m going to pair this meal with hard boiled eggs to get that protein in)

So there you have it…round 1 of operation Creature of Habit challenge! 🙂  I have to say it was an absolute success and sooo delicious.  I can’t remember when the last time I had a muffin like that?  It was so satisfying and made my taste buds dance around, that makes it a winner in my book!

For those that have normal eating habits this may sound strange, but for others who have struggled, you may know where I’m coming from.  Part of this routine and habits with my meals comes from my disordered eating days…well not all, there was a time when I was little and ate chicken fingers every night (right mom and dad?!), but I digress….so once I found a food or meal that kept me “skinny” and satisfied, I would be so afraid to venture out of my comfort zone and try something new for fear of gaining weight or feeling “fat”.  I had what some may call “safe” foods, foods that to the mind were deemed ok for one reason or another, and any other food not on that list, would leave me anxiety ridden and crawling in my skin if faced to eat it.

I don’t remember the exact moment that anxiety faded away and I was eventually able to add more foods to that “safe” list, but then over time, that list didn’t exist anymore and I was able to comfortably eat something different and have it not effect my emotions.  I was instead able to appreciate the flavor, taste, texture, and energy it gave me.  Granted I’m not perfect, I have my moments where I come across a food and think “hmmm I bet that has a lot of calories”…but I will definitely try the food and give the experience a shot.  If I truly like it, then fine I’ll eat it.  And if not, then I won’t eat it.  And I think every healthy conscious woman thinks along these lines one way or another, although I’m happy I’ve finally come to this way of thinking and have buried deep down the old unhealthy ways.  You can still enjoy life with a “healthy” way of thinking, and it’s a step in the right direction to living a good life… 🙂

So that’s a little background of why adding in new foods and meals is so special and important to me…it reminds me that I’m being proactive with my health and I’m continually making progress in this journey.  It’s also exciting and fun to try new meals and I’m already excited to try a new one tomorrow morning.  And most importantly, it’s a very important journey in that I’m prepping my body for a soon to be bambino 😉

And if you’re still struggling, know that if you want to change, it is possible and can be done.  If I can do it, you can to.  Read healthy living blogs, food blogs, books…and if you can’t self-help yourself, talk to a professional.  Life is too short to not enjoy the foods this world and life was meant for us to experience and appreciate.  Love, honor, and cherish your body, and you too can live a good life…

And on that particular note…look what my sister and mom got for me on Saturday during our trip to Bed Bath & Beyond!!

“Live a Good Life: And in the end, it’s not the years in life, it’s the life in the years”

How perfect is that?!  I absolutely love it and I was so thrilled when my mom and sister surprised me with it.  Right now I have it set above our TV in between our engagement photo and wedding program…by the way, my sister-in-law designed that frame with the rose and wedding program in it, how ingenious is that?!  If you need an idea for a wedding gift, I highly recommend doing this, it’s so special and thoughtful.

And below, you can see the wall right above the staircase for where we want to mount it so that you see it as you’re leaving the house…

…that’ll be a project for the hubby 😉

What are some things that constitutes living a good life to you?  For me, it’s continuing on this healthy journey and stepping out of my comfort zone from time to time.

4 thoughts on “To Live a Good Life…

    Sherri said:
    July 12, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Props for sharing more of your eating struggles. I’m very proud of you for how hard you have worked to be a healthy eater. I know it has not been an easy journey and you deserve a lot of credit for what you have accomplished. You can also inspire other girls who
    have eating issues. A lot of help, compassion and understanding is given those who want to lose weight. It can be very hard for girls with an eating disorder to be able to talk about their issues and find the help they need to get back on track to healthy living and back to “The Good Life”. More power to ya!

      Shayla said:
      July 12, 2011 at 12:00 pm

      Thank you mom 🙂 Love you lots, xoxo

    Shannon said:
    July 13, 2011 at 7:15 am

    I know you help me reevaluate my struggles and issues with food so thank you for sharing your insights. I’m sure that can’t be easy at times. And major props for breaking the morning creature of habit. That muffin looks yummy!! Can’t wait to see what today’s breakfast will bring. Love u!

    My Workout Buddy – Part 2 « The Good Life said:
    July 13, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time HomeAboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJuly 11 – 17July 6 – 10June 24th – July 3FitnessGetting ready….Wedding ← To Live a Good Life… […]

Leave a Reply

