My Workout Buddy – Part 2

Posted on Updated on

***Edited to Add:  “Getting ready…” page was updated with the new info

Good morning everyone!  It’s another dreary one here in Northern California…isn’t the summer gloomy weather only supposed to happen in June (i.e. June Gloom)?!  This is not July weather…

So today was definitely a sweater day…and I think I finally found a perfect way to take my outfit pics!  The lighting in our bedroom isn’t the best so I flipped the mirror around to the other side of the door…that way I can take the pics in my hallway which has much better natural light and lighting…

The clarity of the pictures are still not as good as I’d like them to be…granted I had to use my phone since my camera is outta juice, so tomorrow they’ll hopefully be just right!

So this morning was a tough one having to get up at 4:30am (ugh!), but it was made even easier to do because I got to have my workout buddy (aka hubby) with me again this morning!  Last night I told him that I was planning on going to the 5:45am Ab Class and then a Bootcamp class from 6-6:45, which to my delight, peaked his interest and wanted to give it a shot!  The hubby is all about switching up his routine to avoid that dreaded plateau, and I have to say, he’s the reason that got me proactive in switching up my workout routine as well…so now we’re motivating each other to try new things!  He’s pushed me to add more weights and break out of being a cardio queen…and now I’ve motivated him to take group exercise classes and spinning…it’s a win win! 🙂

So for 45 minutes, hubby stood along my side in the front row working up a sweat and got his bootcamp on…I was quite impressed and thrilled to  see that he was getting a good workout in.  We’re both competitive exercisers, so during squat jumps he was pushing me to jump higher and harder, and during burpees I was pushing him to go faster and give it all we got…it made for a tough workout and I loved having each others energy to push each other along and break out of our comfort zones.

After class, we followed it up with a lil hill climbing on the treadmill and chit chatted away about the class.  I’m happy to say that hubby enjoyed it and especially loved the burn in his muscles and lungs that it gave him.  He was happy to see that it wasn’t at all a wussy class, it was a hard core sports conditioning/muscle confusion (i.e. P90x) bootcamp type of class and now wants to include it into his routine.  Whoo hoo that’s 2 points for me!  Not only have I got him into spin classes, but now bootcamp class with me too, sweet!  And he’s supposed to join me tomorrow again for another group exercise class, spinning!  Hehe, now that I’ve put it out there on the blog I hope he feels a lil added pressure to spin away with me 😉

Breakfast – Creature of Habit Day 2:

Today’s eats are slightly similar to yesterday’s, however this time I added my peanut butter and banana slices to a bagel thin, and protein was consumed in the form of egg whites instead of protein powder.  Delicious again and a perfect meal for this dreary, cold day.

Ha those egg whites look like a pile of mush, but I assure you they were delicious!  And I would eat the egg yolk (in my opinion it’s the yummiest and tastiest part), but like I mentioned yesterday I have high cholesterol and I have to be proactive about lowering as much as possible.

Hope everyone has a great day and I’ll be back today or tomorrow with new info for our “Getting Ready” page! 🙂  Side note: No I’m not pregnant and I still haven’t seen the monthly visitor yet, so yesterday I had blood work done to see where my hormone levels are at and am waiting from the doctor to hear what the results are.  If they’re low, that means less exercise and reevaluating my diet…if they’re normal, then it’s a waiting game…I’ll keep you all posted!

5 thoughts on “My Workout Buddy – Part 2

    Shannon said:
    July 13, 2011 at 10:40 am

    You are lucky to have each other for motivation! Especially that early in the morning! Wow- that’s impressive!!
    Good job with the egg white addition! Also from yesterday what’s PB2 peanut butter? Can’t wait to read the getting ready page! Hope all the lab tests come out ok!! Xoxo

    Sherri said:
    July 14, 2011 at 10:13 am

    Cute outfit! I think i would have liked the bootcamp in my younger days!

    Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun said:
    July 14, 2011 at 11:47 am

    I love that you and your husband worked out together AND that he tried boot camp. Mine would never. How fun!

    I love pb + banana together. I had them with my oats this morning and swooned over every bite. I see it again tomorrow morning! 😉

    PS – You’re gorgeous!

    Struggle Muffins said:
    July 14, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Hi Shayla – I’m new to your blog and I’m digging it 🙂 I soooo related to your post about being a creature of habit (I type this as I’m eating my third – that’s right, third – yogurt, pb, and cereal concoction of the day.

      Shayla said:
      July 14, 2011 at 12:16 pm

      Welcome Meghan!! So happy you stopped by! I am loving your blog too (you’re About page is awesome and you write so beautifully, creatively, and so very insightful)…and I’m happy to see I’m not the only creature of habit 😉 Btw, yogurt, pb, and cereal can never get old…highly one of my creature of habit meals too!

Leave a Reply

