Gym Etiquette

Posted on Updated on

Hi everyone!  Hope everyone is having a great day so far!  As I was thinking about what to write for my post today, first thing that came to mind was my workout and how I felt distracted during the class…distracted in the sense of someone chit chatting away next to you and they’re clearly not getting the picture that you don’t want to talk.  Granted, I have my easy workout days in which I really enjoy talking with a friend while on the cardio machine to make the minutes go by…but twice this week I’ve been sidelined with the chit chatters while working out.

Case in point, this morning I took a spin class with an instructor who I’m friends with and I really respect and enjoy her class.  Well, a gym acquaintance of mine who I hadn’t seen in awhile decided to bike next to me and wanted to talk about Match.com, the weather, and the Real Housewives of Orange County (specifically Alexis)…um, what??!!  I didn’t want to be rude to her so I would just look over and smile here and there, but I also felt very rude towards the instructor.  I apologized after class for the chit chatting and she was fine about it and understood, but I just find talking in a group exercise class to be bad gym etiquette.  And as a former spin instructor myself, I know how distracting, embarrassing, and uncomfortable it can feel for people to talk in class while you’re instructing.

I’m curious to know what your opinion is?  Do you think talking in group exercise classes is bad gym etiquette?  Or am I just being uptight? 😉

Ok, ranting over!  I was in a rush this morning so I made my old standby and all time favorite breakfast this summer…smoothieeee!

Side note: Have you ever eaten a smoothie with a spoon?! Add xanthan gum and a frozen banana, and you got yourself a super duper thick, milkshake consistency smoothie to be eaten by the spoonful, try it!

Smoothie:

1 1/2 cups Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1 frozen banana

1 tsp. xanthan gum

2 big handfuls spinach

Handful Peanut Butter puffins mixed in

Those 2 huge handfuls of spinach definitely made this one a lil too much on the green side…it was a bit grassy for my liking but at least I got my greens in! 😉

Outfit!

Getting Ready, Fashion, and Fitness pages updated.  Have a great day!

11 thoughts on “Gym Etiquette

    Sherri said:
    July 14, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    What about people talking on their cell phones and leaving their personal stuff on the equipment!! UGH!

      Shayla said:
      July 14, 2011 at 3:52 pm

      I totally agree…we even have signs posted in our gym that say “No Cell Phone Zone” and I see people still talking on them!

    Shannon said:
    July 15, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Oh I have some gym etiquette pet peeves. How about these: eating a candy bar on the treadmill (why even workout?), having a full on conversation about where u are meeting for drinks while on the elliptical, listening to your own i pod in spin class, wearing sunglasses in spin class (isn’t it dark enough already) and of course the endless chatty cathy who thinks its appropriate to talk about her date last night while spinning away. I mean really, if u can talk that much you aren’t working hard enough!!!

      Shayla said:
      July 15, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      Haha omg love ALL of these!! I about died laughing…and they’re all so true!

    Struggle Muffins said:
    July 15, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    I can imagine how frustrating it must be for an instructor to have to teach to excessive chatterers. As a yoga teacher, it peeves me beyond belief when people talk at the end of class as we’re going into savasana. Its not uncommon to take a water/ towel off break here and there throughout the class (the studios are usually 95 – 100 degrees) and talk then, but to yammer on at the point when complete silence and stillness is *supposed* to be going on is just crazy-rude. So yeah, I hear ya.

      Shayla said:
      July 18, 2011 at 8:47 am

      I totally agree with you…especially during yoga when silence is a pivotal point during one’s practice.

    Diana Sternberg said:
    July 18, 2011 at 8:33 am

    My greatest pet peeve is when people feel they can enter or leave a class whenever suits them – I understand that we all live busy lives, but it’s fairly obvious when you leave JUST in timr for shavasana in a yoga class, which disrupts everyone else’s relaxation! Also, when someone’s cell phone goes off and they pretend that it isn’t theirs. You shouldn’t have brought it in, but come on, take one for the team and just shut it off!

      Shayla said:
      July 18, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Thank you for your comment Diana! Yes I definitely agree with you on both of those…during Group Power/Body Pump people always seem to leave at the end during the stretch part which is the most important part of your exercise routine! Like you said, I understand too that people have busy lives, but is 2-3 minutes of stretching really going to mess up your schedule? And the cell phones…great pet peeve of mine too…if you’re working out while talking on a cell phone, then you’re truly not working out!

    Health and Fitness Vancouver said:
    July 18, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I book-marked this. thanks YMCA Vancouver

      Shayla said:
      July 19, 2011 at 8:46 am

      Thank you!! 🙂

    Blogging Inspiration | The Good Life said:
    August 18, 2011 at 10:34 am

    […] fun things such as a weird dream I had (future post!), or sweet ‘n’ savory foods, or gym etiquette, or about my workout buddy. I like having this variety in my blog and it always keeps things […]

Leave a Reply

