Achieving Balance…

Posted on Updated on

Good morning everyone!  Happy Monday and I hope you all had a fabulous weekend!  I know I sure did with my girls weekend and I’ll recap that in a moment, but first I want to talk about something that’s been on my mind since my update on my Getting Ready page – balance.  From fitness magazines, to diet books, to healthy living blogs, to health expert recommendations, the one topic and catch phrase that is always discussed is – balance.  When choosing to lose weight, balance is discussed to avoid deprivation through under eating, to avoid burn out and injury through over exercising, and to avoid a lack of energy and motivation from putting your body through all these changes.

My journey will always be a work in progress, I am not perfect, but I continue to forge on a path towards healthy living and achieving balance in all areas of my life.  Although I have to admit, one area of my life that has been difficult for me to achieve balance in is – exercise.  Fitness is my passion.  I love it so much that I became a certified Spinning and Group Power instructor…and my Fitness page proves that I indeed love to exercise.  However, as my lab results indicated, my body and my hormones are not happy with this amount/intensity of exercise and I have to make a change.  Now is the time to achieve balance in that one area of my life and I am now ready more than ever to do it.

Since my version of a “normal” weekly exercise routine for me is a bit skewed, I talked with my family for their input in coming up with a exercise routine to lessen the intensity of my workouts, the duration, and getting adequate rest days.  Per week will be a maximum of 2-3 spin classes, 2 rest days, and the other 2 days will be no more than 30 minutes of cardio and 30 minutes of strength training.  Getting my body healthy for myself, my hubby, and our future family is the most important thing for me right now, and if I’m going to do this and succeed, then I will do it the right way right from the very beginning.

So with that being said, today I started my day off with…sleep!  Yes, sleep.  No early morning work out, no 5am alarm beeping, no rushing around…and boy did it feel good.  I think I’m going to like this sleeping in a lil too much 😉

I’m happy to have this lil blog here to share this all with you and have your support along the way.  It will keep me accountable, motivated, and succeeding towards my goal in living a healthy, good life…all in the quest to achieving balance 🙂

It’s beautiful outside today so I started my day with a smoothie.  Speaking of breakfast…I always seem to blog this but rarely ever my other meals.  I’ve been going back and forth as to whether or not I want blog about it since my blog isn’t necessarily a “food” blog.  But I think it would be a fun component to show you all what I eat, especially since I’m still forging on my Creature of Habit challenge, and to be sure I’m getting enough nutrients for our Getting Ready… journey.  Granted I’m not going to post every single morsel that touches my lips, but I would like to show you all my breakfasts, lunches, and dinners.  I’m still getting into the swing of taking pictures of my meals before scarfing my food down (it’s not second nature to me quite yet), but I think it will be fun and you all will have more than one post from me to read a day 🙂

Today’s smoothie:

Not the most appetizing looking smoothie, but I assure you it was a good one!

1 1/2 cups Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1 frozen banana

1 tsp. xanthan gum

1 handful spinach

1 handful of Peanut Butter puffins, for crunch factor 😉

Weekend Recap:

My girl’s weekend with my mom and sister was such a blast!

It first started with a sweaty spin class and my official workout buddy/best friend/sister joined me.  It was so fun having her with me in class…it was just like old times… 😉

I think we rock the sweaty, no makeup look quite well 😉

I then had to stock up on some essentials…toilet paper, paper towels, etc…so Target it was!

So deep in thought here….hmmm Charmin is 18 rolls for $15 and Target Up $12…decisions decisions!!

Target Up – The Winner!!  Side Note: I had no clue my sis was catching these moments…she’s turning quite into the blogging assistant 😉

And I felt like a giddy school girl when I came across the infamous Champion Empire Waist exercise top that I’ve been seeing all around the blog world…

Cute huh?  Love love it!  Thank you sissy ❤

After all this running around, our bellies were a rumbling!!  And I’m sure it comes to no surprise that salad beasts and fro yo were consumed…

Every Saturday we have a love affair with Nubi Yogurt, and we’re not at all ashamed about it 😉

After a few more errands to CVS, the mall, and Costco, it was time to start the fun with my sister!

In the form of this….

And I found a new hot accessory…champagne earrings!!! (Thanks sis for the great tagline and photo op!)

A friend of ours then joined us in on the shenanigan fun…

It was a great night indeed with my favorite girls… 🙂

Now the hubby is back home safe and sound and I’m happy to have my other best bud back with me 😉

Hope you all had a fabulous weekend and are ready for the start of a fresh new week!

Fashion and Fitness pages updated!

Questions: Do you try to achieve balance in all areas of your life?  Are some harder to achieve than others?

6 thoughts on “Achieving Balance…

    Shannon said:
    July 18, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    Thank u for the fun weekend too sissy! I am so proud of your journey to achieve balance in your life. I know at times it will be hard but just know we all support and love u so much. I am always here for u if u need anything! Xoxo
    Love the champagne earrings. Now I need a pair! 🙂

    Sherri said:
    July 18, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Go Todd!!!! I think 2 days off is wonderful!

    I’m definitely a fan of the champagne earrings!

    Hubby said:
    July 18, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    I love my beautiful, smart, loving and honest wife more than anything in this universe..

    Struggle Muffins said:
    July 19, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    I struggle with balance as it relates to exercise more than anything else. Yesterday I took a rest day and I NEEDED it in the worst way – it was amazing. Definitely hard to wrap my head around the concept of not moving strenuously (or really much at all) for a full day, but I’m glad I stuck it out. Rest days feel magical physically but when you’re the type who works out a lot and prides herself on her ability to exert herself at a high level, they can feel challenging mentally. Glad you were able to rest, relax and restore, too! 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 19, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      Hi Meghan! Love your comment, it describes everything perfectly and I appreciate it so much. Yes it can definitely be so hard and challenging mentally…but in the end it feels so good. So happy you were able to give your body and mind a break too…our bodies will thank us in the end 🙂

    Feelin’ the Burn and Rest Days « The Good Life said:
    July 21, 2011 at 11:13 am

    […] Before my new exercise plan for Getting Ready, I would have worked out today in the form of cardio and I would not have reaped these important benefits that come with rest days.  I’ll be honest and admit that I’ve known for years the importance of rest days but wouldn’t take enough of them because I felt like an invincible athlete who could go go go everyday.  Now that I’m slowing down, taking rest days, and finally putting into practice what I’ve known for so long, I’m getting more comfortable with these rest days and realizing how imperative it is for my body…my body appreciates it and I’m finally giving it the love and respect it deserves…all in the name of achieving balance […]

Leave a Reply

