The Act of Smiling

Posted on Updated on

Did you know that the act of smiling has been medically proven to relieve stress with countless other health benefits?!  A couple weeks ago my mom came across an article that discussed the health benefits of smiling and it got me thinking about how calming and happy I truly feel when I smile.  Whether it be at a stranger, my husband, my family, my coworkers…in that very moment of smiling, you can’t help but feel happy.  And not only does it make you feel good, but imagine how good you’re making the person you’re smiling at feel.  Though you may be in a good mood, you never know what emotional stress or hurt that person may be going through, and just imagine what your smile at the end of the day may do for them…knowing you can do that for a person is in an emotional high in itself and will doubly make you happy 🙂

And just for fun, here are the top 10 benefits smiling can have on your health (source):  And if you click on the source link it will describe more in detail these benefits.

  1. Smiling Makes Us Attractive
  2. Smiling Changes Our Mood
  3. Smiling Is Contagious
  4. Smiling Relieves Stress
  5. Smiling Boosts Your Immune System
  6. Smiling Lowers Your Blood Pressure
  7. Smiling Releases Endorphins, Natural Pain Killers and Serotonin
  8. Smiling Lifts the Face and Makes You Look Younger
  9. Smiling Makes You Seem Successful
  10. Smiling Helps You Stay Positive

And on that note, I know one thing that made me smile yesterday – lunch!  And catching up on my pre-recorded episode of the Bachelorette 😉 With some adult responsibilities of folding laundry…multitasking at it’s finest 🙂

Lunch:

I was in the mood for something refreshing and cool so I had my ole standby, a creamy sweet bowl of my favorite Fage Greek Yogurt with some sliced strawberries and Peanut Butter Puffins.  And on the side I got in some veggies with a salad of butter lettuce, sauteed carrots and red bell peppers, all drizzled with some Italian balsamic vinaigrette.  And of course, it was a warm not cold, salad 😉

Side Note: Are any of you watching The Bachelorette?  I haven’t finished the episode yet so no spoilers please!!  I love the hometown dates episode and I just finished watching Constantine’s, and I have to say I’m pretty surprised at how well they’re getting along.  Although I’m rooting for J.P. (he’s a cutie pie), and Ben (not my type looks wise) but he seems like a genuinely nice and sincere guy who has true feelings for her…if you’re watching, who are you rooting for?!

Dinner:

I’ve been on a super avocado kick lately and ever since my mom and I talked about Boudin’s signature Avocado and Turkey Sandwich, I have been having a serious craving for it that I can’t shake…so that’s what I had!  With more roasted veggies on the side too.

Sandwich Thin with oven roasted turkey and half an avocado.  Sauteed carrots and red bell pepper in spray butter with seasoned salt.

And beforehand I snacked on some Trader Joe’s Bagel Chips and their Guacamole Hummus.  An awesome find which I had to get once I saw it featured on Struggle Muffins blog…thanks girl!

And I have to give some love to the hubby’s masterpiece mid action in all it’s glory…

Lean Ground Turkey with 3 eggs, red bell pepper, spinach, and seasonings

Half of the time the hubby and I like to create our own meals, since I’m by no means a chef, and like to eat our own thing.  And whatever he’s making for dinner that night he likes to cook up a large batch of it for leftovers to have during the week for lunch!

Workout:

Today was another fun workout for me and the hubby.  I had my workout buddy again with me and we completed a 15 minute Ab Class and 45 minute Bootcamp Class.  It was filled with high intensity circuits of burpees, squat jumps, and mountain climbers with gliders done at an all out intensity for about 30 seconds and then we would transition to a strength move such as push ups, rows and other shoulder exercises.  It was a tough one and I think the instructor especially made it tough since my hardcore athletic hubby was in class 😉

Breakfast:

Another smoothie!  Same ingredients as yesterday:

Hope you’re all having a fabulous day so far and Fashion page was updated!

Questions:

Do you smile often?  How does it make you feel?

If you’re married or with a significant other, do you always eat the same meals for dinner, or do you do your own thing?

6 thoughts on “The Act of Smiling

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    July 20, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I definitely need to smile more — for all those reasons!

    And I’m so torn on the Bachelorette. I was rooting for JP but didn’t love that pouty side..hmmm…

    Struggle Muffins said:
    July 20, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Thanks for the bloggy love Shayla, glad you like the guac-hummus!

    I for one, am a big proponent of smiling. Smiling at strangers is the best because you really have nothing to lose; they’re usually either really moved by it and return the gesture with a smile of their own or look at you like you’re a crazy person. So yeah, win win. I keeps smilin’ 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 21, 2011 at 7:46 am

      You’re welcome! And yes I absolutely loved it!

      Haha love your comment, I’ve definitely gotten strange looks too and it’s pretty funny, so yes a definite win win 🙂

    Sherri said:
    July 20, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    Having a positive attitude keeps you smiling, lifts the spirit and gives you energy.
    Don’t worry, be happy!

    Lauren said:
    July 21, 2011 at 4:36 am

    I honestly believe that smiling makes me feel better! My husband and I would normally eat the same dinner but now with a 5 month old we are lucky to even eat at the same time! And we are definitely doing our own thing these days…. quick and easy!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 21, 2011 at 7:43 am

      I totally agree, anything that’s quick and easy is a winner in my book, especially when you have lil wee one 🙂

Leave a Reply

