Feelin’ the Burn and Rest Days

Posted on Updated on

Today I’m feelin’ the burn, and no it’s not a burn from a workout this morning (today’s a rest day, whoo hoo!), this is a burn from yesterday’s Bootcamp class and I am loving the soreness and tight muscles I’m feeling.  Makes me feel like I really got a kick butt workout and my hubby is even sore too!  In fact we were talking about how imperative it is to give your body a rest day after an intense workout because it’s allowing your muscles to grow and repair.  I love this quote I found on Bodybuilding.com…hubby was essentially saying the exact same thing to me too, he’s a smarty (athletic) pants 😉

“The number one overlooked factor in building a better body is rest. If you don’t rest, then how can your muscles grow? Our bodies need the stimulus to grow such as intense training. Once this happens, our bodies are essentially “broken down”. Afterwards, it needs the proper nutrients and recovery time to grow bigger and stronger so that it can be broken down again. So if you’re not resting any, then I would suggest you set aside a day or two of rest each week. And remember, rest days are rest days. Nothing more, nothing less.” (source)

Before my new exercise plan for Getting Ready, I would have worked out today in the form of cardio and I would not have reaped these important benefits that come with rest days.  I’ll be honest and admit that I’ve known for years the importance of rest days but wouldn’t take enough of them because I felt like an invincible athlete who could go go go everyday.  Now that I’m slowing down, taking rest days, and finally putting into practice what I’ve known for so long, I’m getting more comfortable with these rest days and realizing how imperative it is for my body…my body appreciates it and I’m finally giving it the love and respect it deserves…all in the name of achieving balance 🙂

*****

Before I continue with my eats, I want to say how much I love all your comments and feedback.  The blogging community is an awesome one and I’m so happy to be a part of it 🙂

You also may have noticed that I gave the blog a lil makeover.  I want a more streamlined, less cluttered, vibrant look and I’m still playing around with it so don’t be surprised if it changes again 😉

Lunch:

Yesterday I wanted to use up some leftover garbanzo beans and half of an avocado so I put together another massive, delicious salad…

Half spinach half butter lettuce, sauteed carrots and bell pepper, 1/2 cup garbanzo beans, 1/2 avocado, handful of croutons, drizzle of balsamic vinaigrette

Dinner:

We had some ground turkey to use up and it was a hot sunny day so hubby had the perfect, delicious idea of making turkey burgers.  Yes pleaseeee!

Chef of the household…action shot of hubby forming the turkey patties…and an awesome shot of his “The Good Life” tattoo 🙂

Weeeee…look at those hands a flyin’!

Ahhhh…perfection!  My hubby knows what he’s doing 🙂

Turkey burger (hubby seasoned it with balsamic vinegar, Pappy’s seasoning, and pepper) on a Whole Wheat English Muffin with tomato and onion.  Side salad of butter lettuce, red bell pepper, and zucchini. And it was a cold salad this time 😉

*****

Today was a rest day so we got to sleep in for a couple more hours, felt so good!  Caught up on some blog reading, did laundry, and off to work with a smoothie in tow…

Breakfast Smoothie:

1 1/2 cups Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1 scoop Chocolate Peanut Butter Casein Protein power (last of the tub 😦 gonna have to stock up on some more!)

1 frozen banana

1 tsp. xanthan gum

2 packets Splenda

handful of Peanut Butter Puffins

…no spinach today, I’ll get more greens in at lunch and dinner 🙂

Fashion page updated!

Questions:  Do you take rest days from working out?  Is it currently or was in the past, hard for you to take a break and relax?

6 thoughts on “Feelin’ the Burn and Rest Days

    Sherri said:
    July 21, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Yes it can be hard to take a day off exercising but having that extra time to get things done can definitely relieve your stress.

    Lauren said:
    July 21, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    I do take rest days – mainly when I can’t bring myself to get out of bed at 6am. Your salad looks delicious, as much as I love garbanzo beans I never think to eat them in my salad I always roast them.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 21, 2011 at 9:02 pm

      I know 6am is rough! And you gotta try garbanzo beans, great way to add protein to your salads and it gives a nice creamy, crunchy texture to it. I had it once at this really neat restaurant here in Berkeley…I stole the idea from them 😉

      How do you roast them? I would love to try that!

    Lauren said:
    July 22, 2011 at 4:38 am

    It used to be so hard to take rest days! I just felt like my day wasn’t complete until I got my work out in. It really affects my mood as well! These days I’m more lenient but I still can’t go more than a few days without getting my endorphins going 🙂 It just makes me feel so much better!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 22, 2011 at 9:04 am

      That’s exactly how I used to feel too…my day just had to start with a sweaty exercise otherwise it didn’t feel complete…crazy how the mind works! And I too can’t go more than at least a couple days in a row without getting a sweat going and that endorphin rush…that high and energy it gives is a great feeling 🙂

Leave a Reply

