Lady Gaga and Baby Duckies

Posted on

Happy Friday everyone! Before I get into that interesting title, I want to share my eats for yesterday!

Lunch: I was feeling my old standby of yogurt and salad so I went with it…

1 cup Fage yogurt, strawberries, Peanut Butter Puffins. Side salad of sauteed red bell peppers and zucchini.

Dinner: We had a conference call about our next step for selling our house so I was in the mood for something simple, quick, and satisfying…

Salad with sauteed carrots and red bell pepper, oven roasted turkey, croutons. Side of Bagel Chips with Sabra hummus – so good, you gotta try this flavor – drizzled with Italian Balsamic Vinaigrette

Speaking of the vinaigrette – I wanted to give you all the recipe for it because it’s a good one!

The recipe is from Good Seasons and here are the main ingredients you need to make this dressing…

This works best if you get the Good Seasons dressing bottle (you can find it at your local grocery store) and it looks like this…

On the bottle a V (vinegar) and W (water) is etched on the bottle so you know where to fill it to.ย  You first start with the vinegar and pour it up to the V, then the water until it fills to the W.ย  Add the Good Seasons Italian seasonings packet, then add 1/4 cup of the Crisco Natural Blend Oil, then 1/4 cup water, close it up, shake it, and you got one awesome, delicious, homemade dressing!ย  Finished product…

That’s my recipe for the day ๐Ÿ˜‰

So when I think of the highlights of my day thus far, two things pop to mind, Lady Gaga and baby duckies.ย  Strange combo I know, but I just have to admit to you all that I have a serious girl crush on Lady Gaga…second to Britney Spears though of course ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  But Lady Gaga is just pure awesomeness and I felt it this morning as I was rocking out to her two songs I’m lovin’ right now – Edge of Glory and Judas.ย  Great beats, lyrics, and puts me in an energetic mood…

And of course, I gotta give some love to my fav girl of all times, Miss Britney Spears…

I grew up with Britney Spears, we’re the same age, and I have always loved her.ย  I know I know, she had her crazy moments.ย  But the girl can dance, entertain, has a rockin’ body, and creates awesome music…I am a huge fan and I have no shame in it ๐Ÿ˜‰

My cardio session went by fast with my tunes and before I knew it 30 minutes was up!ย  I then went over to weight area where all the manly man are and got in an awesome strength session.

Side Note: Were you or are you now, intimidated to go into the weight room?ย  When I first started working out and strength training, years ago at my local 24 Hour Fitness, I was terrified and felt sooo self conscious.ย  Now I couldn’t care less and just do my thing, I guess that comes with getting older ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  However if you feel intimidated, I’m telling you right now from experience – don’t!ย  Everyone is in their own world, doing their own thing, and worrying about their own workout.ย  And if they’re looking, they’re probably just checkin’ you out cause you’re lookin’ good lifting those weights and flexing your muscles ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Just go in there with confidence, have a plan of what exercises you want to complete so that you don’t look confused and lost, and own it ๐Ÿ™‚

So once I completed my 30 minutes of interval work on the elliptical, I did a weight routine that looked like this: (all exercises 3 sets of 15 reps)

  • Squat with shoulder press – 15 lb. dumbbells while standing on the Bosu Ball
  • Up right rows – 15 lb. dumbbells while standing on the Bosu Ball
  • Bicep curls with simultaneous lunge – 15 lb. dumbbells
  • Seated Row machine – 55 lbs.
  • Lat Pull Down machine – 45 lbs.
  • Chest Press machine – 20 lbs. on each side = 40 lbs. total

Breakfast: Smoothie Time!

1 1/2 cups Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1 frozen banana

1 scoop Vanilla Casein Protein Powder

1 tsp. Xanthan Gum

Handful of Peanut Butter Puffins

With smoothie in tow I headed to work and was pleasantly surprised by this delightful sight…

Wait for us Mama!!!

How adorable is that??!!ย  I kept awww-ing to myself and I think everyone around me heading into work thought I was a loony.ย  I love just animals so much and when I was in Elementary School when everyone asks you what you want to be when you grow up – I always said I wanted to be veterinarian ๐Ÿ™‚ย  And you all know our love for anything and everything bird related and our love for Penguins ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now you see why Lady Gaga and Baby Duckies were the highlights of my day ๐Ÿ™‚

Fashion Page updated!

I hope everyone has a wonderful Friday and has a great start to the weekend!

Questions: What music are you listening to right now?ย  Are you a Britney or Gaga fan?!ย  Are you a lover of animals too?

7 thoughts on “Lady Gaga and Baby Duckies

    Sherri said:
    July 22, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Ahhh! Love the duckies. The babies are getting big. That’s soooo wonderful see.

    GaGa’s hot and so is Britney. Hats off to Britney for getting her life and career back together.

    Great advice on the weights.

    Shannon said:
    July 22, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    I want one of those salads! Yummy! Anyways I am so gaga for lady gaga! I absolutely love her and keep replaying my 3 favs: born this way, judas, and edge of glory. I love her message too. She is positive and encourages others to love themselves. She is the best! As for the duckies… How precious. Almost as cute as a baby penquin! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lauren said:
    July 23, 2011 at 6:42 am

    I love Britney Spears and Lady Gaga! I’m going to see Britney at the end of August and I cannot wait.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 23, 2011 at 10:21 am

      Lucky girl! I’ve been to a couple of her performances and she gives an awesome show, and I heard her Femme Fatal show is fantastic, you’ll love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Courtney said:
    July 23, 2011 at 9:50 am

    Ahhh, the peanut butter puffins! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I loved seeing your tweet yesterday about them. Believe it or not, I’ve actually never tried those! You’re making me think that I should though (OR, maybe I shouldn’t…) ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 23, 2011 at 10:18 am

      Omg yes you must try the pb puffins!! But don’t say I didn’t warn you if you end up eating half a box like me ๐Ÿ˜‰ If you don’t have them at your local grocery store let me know and maybe we could do a trade again! ๐Ÿ™‚

    […] 1 cup Fage yogurt with Fiber One cereal, puffins, and strawberries. Side salad of butter lettuce with sauteed red bell pepper, zucchini, with a drizzle of homemade Italian balsamic vinaigrette. […]

Leave a Reply

