Chicken Parmesan Sandwiches, Getting Older & Brain Food…

Posted on

Hi everyone!  Hope you’re all having a great morning, or to my East coast friends, great afternoon!  Yesterday’s eats were delish so let’s get right to the nitty gritty…and then I’ll touch on today’s interesting title 😉

Yesterday morning before work I made a stop at the grocery store to pick up some essentials (milk, yogurt, bananas, strawbs, etc.) and I stumbled upon a new to me cereal that I had been seeing all around the blog world…

Fiber One Honey Squares cereal! And with 80 calories and 10 grams of fiber per serving, sign me up 🙂 And if you click this link you’ll be directed to the Fiber One website and you can print out a $1.75 coupon to use on that cereal!

For me, the best way to try out a new cereal is to incorporate it into a yogurt bowl so that’s exactly what I did…

1 cup Fage yogurt with Fiber One cereal, puffins, and strawberries. Side salad of butter lettuce with sauteed red bell pepper, zucchini, with a drizzle of homemade Italian balsamic vinaigrette.

Dinner was a definite highlight!  My hubby is the chef in this house, a special thanks goes out to his mama (Hi East Coast Mom!) for that ;), and he got to work on healthified chicken parmesan sandwiches!

Chicken grilling away! Seasoned with pepper, basil, and garlic salt

Finished product! Chicken on 100% Whole Wheat Thomas English Muffins, topped with TJ’s marinara sauce and mozzarella cheese. Side of red bell pepper slices and mushrooms.

They were deliciously satisfying and healthy to boot too 🙂

This morning hubby and I got in a sweaty Bootcamp workout and it’s suffice to say our booty’s were sufficiently kicked today 🙂

Got home, showered, blow dried my hair, and as I was putting it up I noticed none other than a GRAY HAIR!!  Ahhhh!  Mind you, this is the fifth gray hair I’ve found in the last couple months….I guess I’m getting older!?!  I’m a bit shocked that at 29 I’m sprouting gray hairs along with some deep laugh/smile lines and crows feet…but in actuality it doesn’t freak me out at all and I think it builds character.  To me, the signs of aging all signify milestones in your life and I think we should all embrace the inner and outer beauty of aging…although that’s not to say I’m not going to color my hair to cover those pesky lil gray’s 😉

I spy you gray hairs!!!

Side note: How the heck to you spell the color gray?  Is it grey or gray?  I Googled it (what did we do before Google?!) and according to Wikipedia grey is the British form of spelling it and gray is the American way of spelling it.  Huh, you learn something new everyday 🙂  Did you all know that?!

Since this morning was a more weight based workout with cardio intervals, I took to the smoothie to get in some nutrients that were easy to digest and for those growing muscles to quickly absorb!

Smoothielicious  🙂

1 1/2 cups Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1 frozen banana

1 scoop Vanilla Casein Protein Powder

1 tbsp. Chia Seeds!!

Did you know Chia Seeds are a brain food??!!  According to Dr. Oz (sent from my lovely mom, thanks mom!) Chia Seeds rank #2, right below Lentils, in boosting brain health…

Chia seed or salmon – are high in Omega-3 fatty acids and have been found to assist in keeping arteries in the brain clear of plaque. Omega 3’s also protect neurons and may prevent memory impairment as well. (source)  Interesting stuff huh?!

I hope you all have a wonderful day!  I’m headed off soon to lunch with my coworkers to Mimi’s Cafe, yum!

Questions:  Have you made a healthified chicken parmesan sandwich?  If not, try mine!

Are you or have you experienced any signs of aging in your 20’s?

Do you eat Chia Seeds?  How do you incorporate them into your diet?  I would love to know new ways instead of just smoothies and oatmeal 🙂

12 thoughts on “Chicken Parmesan Sandwiches, Getting Older & Brain Food…

    ittybitsofbalance said:
    July 27, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Just found your blog– LOVE your perspective on aging! It is such a natural process and I’m a firm believer that everyone needs to embrace it, rather than run out and get plastic surgery

    Chia seeds are great sprinkled on toast with PB & banana in the mornings 🙂 One of my personal favorites!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 27, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      Hi there and welcome! Ditto on what you said, it’s too bad everyone runs off to get plastic surgery, in my opinion I think they end up looking worse!

      Oooo I’ll have to try your chia seed suggestion! I love having pb & banana on english muffins too so I’ll have to try adding chia seeds to it!

      I’m going to hop on over to your blog..love the name of it (I’m all about balance!) and thank you for stopping by 🙂

    Sherri said:
    July 27, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    Whoa! I think I got my first grey hair at 21!

    Chelsea said:
    July 27, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    I’ve got lots of greys!! I think it’s genetic.

    I use chia seeds in my protein bars-yum!

    It’s good to “see” you!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 28, 2011 at 8:17 am

      My mom just commented that she got her first gray hairs at 21 so yes, I think it’s definitely genetic! 🙂

      Oooo do you have a recipe for your chia seed protein bars?! I’d love to try it!

      Good to see you too Chelsea…I bet living in Boise is spectacular and a great place to raise a family…I’m very happy for you 🙂

    Corrie Anne said:
    July 27, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Booo! I’ve got greys too!! And a few wrinkles, but no biggie!! 🙂 I just dye my hair, but I really did that anyways. My parents both greyed super early so I had a feeling they were underneath my hair dye habit anyhow!! I haven’t tried chia, but I’m CURIOUS!!! 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 28, 2011 at 8:21 am

      Haha I’m sure I’ll have to start coloring my hair too if they start multiplying! 😉

      Chia seeds are awesome! You can read about the health benefits here. I love to add them to smoothies because they “gel” up and makes the consistency of your smoothie, or whatever liquid you put them in, thicker. You can also add them to salads to give a nice crunch. Give ’em a try, I think you’ll like them! 🙂

    Nicole said:
    July 27, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I am cracking up because I Googled the gray (grey) think just a few weeks ago! Haha…what did you think of the new Fiber One cereal? I really try not to eat processed foods, but I always have Fiber One in the house because I’m psycho about fiber. I’m seeking help, I promise 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 28, 2011 at 8:13 am

      I’m happy to know I’m not the only one wondering about the grey/gray debacle 😉

      Ha ha your last sentence made me laugh 🙂 I’m a stickler for getting lots of fiber in my diet too. I thought the cereal was really good, has a nice crunch and subtle sweet flavor to it. My hubby had it for breakfast this morning with milk and sliced bananas and it was super good that way….and if he likes it anyone will like it! 😉

Leave a Reply

