Intuitive Eating & Overnight Oats

Posted on Updated on

Hello everyone!  Hope your Thursday is off to a great start so far!  I loved everyone’s comments yesterday and I’m happy to know I’m not the only one sproutin’ some gray hairs 😉

Before I get into today’s topic I wanted to go over my eats from yesterday.  For lunch I went out with my coworkers to Mimi’s Cafe.  My coworkers don’t know (yet!) about my blog so I didn’t snap a pic, but I got the Chicken, Baby Greens, and Fruit salad.  For a chain restaurant it was quite delish, the portion size was perfect, and it was surprisingly very fresh.  It came with copped chicken breast, field greens, strawberries, honeydew melon, feta cheese (my fav!), and balsamic vinaigrette.  I gobbled it right up, no prob.

I had half of an avocado to use up before it went bad and felt like incorporating it into a big ole’ salad for dinner so that’s what I went with…

Butter lettuce with sauteed carrots and bell pepper, Boar’s Head Salsalito Turkey, 1/2 avocado, croutons, Italian balsamic vinaigrette

And beforehand I snacked on some of these lovelies with hummus…

Have you ever tried the Vermont Cheddar Wheat Thins??!!  To.Die.For. 🙂

Yesterday evening as I was catching up on some blog reading I came across Kath’s overnight oats and deemed it necessary to finally make this inventive concoction once and for all.  Side note: Can you believe I’ve seen this luscious oat creation for about 2 years now and have not made it once?!  And coincidentally, I had been thinking about wanting to incorporate oats back into my diet but since summer rolled around, I have not had the desire to eat a warm bowl of anything whatsoever…but a creamy, cold, ooey, gooey bowl of overnight oat solves that problem!

And if you’re new to the overnight oats recipe, one thing to know is that there is absolutely no cooking involved.  You just simply add oats, milk, and yogurt together, let it sit overnight and the oats magically do their thing by absorbing the liquid.  So last night I mixed together 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup Fage yogurt, 1/3 unsweetened vanilla almond milk (you could use regular), 2 packets Splenda, and 1 tbsp. chia seeds…

In they go to the fridge…work your magic oaties!! 🙂

And this morning I topped ’em with 1/2 a large banana, handful of Peanut Butter Puffins, and the crumb remnants of the bag (best part!)

Verdict!  Ah.ma.zing.  Purely awesome and I can’t believe I waited this long to try them?!  I have to admit, I’m a texture freak and this satisfied all my texture taste buds.  If certain textures of foods eek you out and gooey foods errs on the side of gross for you, then I wouldn’t recommend them to you.  But if you’re like me and you love ooey, mushy, creamy anything – then this fits the bill 🙂  The flavor was spot on too, wonderfully delicious.  I don’t think I’ll be able to help but make a repeat of this tomorrow 😉

I think aiming to live a healthy, balanced lifestyle has it’s challenges daily and I’m not perfect, I still face them head on.  So this may sound silly, but trying an entirely new breakfast creation and my Creature of Habit challenge, is a huge step for me.  In the past I was always afraid to try something new for fear of the calorie/fat content, and being physically unsatisfied, both fullness-wise and taste-wise.  Over the years I have overcome this fear and anxiety, and everyday I try to make new strides and break out of my comfort zone.  The more I try to eat intuitively and listen to what my body is craving, the more satisfied and happy I am in all areas of my life.

One thing that interestingly enough has taught me to eat intuitively, happened when I cut back on my workouts.  I’m no doctor so I can’t explain why this happened (if you do tell me!), but ever since I cut back on the duration and intensity of my workouts, I’ve found myself to eat more intuitively by trying new and different foods, interesting concoctions such as overnight oats, and truly just going with what my body wants to eat at that moment.  By letting go of trying to eat low calorie this and low fat that, and instead fueling myself with whole, nutritious, real food, my body is in a happy, energetic, and satisfied place.

I’m no expert, but this is what worked for me.  If you’re having trouble with this try taking baby steps…try a small portion of an avocado, almonds, or olive oil and don’t be scared by the fats in it, know that they’re healthy fats and it makes your body happy.  I know how the mind can play tricks on you, I’ve been there, so if you’re fearing carbs, try the overnight oats or Bagel/Sandwich Thins, so that it doesn’t feel like you’re eating a loaf of bread, but you’re still getting the nutritional benefits of carbohydrates…and then afterwards consciously feel that energy it gives your body.  It’s taken me 5+ years to get to this point.  But know that you too can do it, have faith and strength in yourself, and treat your body like the temple that it is for it’s the only one you’ll have forever 🙂

Questions: What types of challenges do you face in striving to live a healthy, balanced lifestyle? Do you try to eat intuitively? Is it hard for you to break out of your comfort zone and try new/fear foods? Have you given the overnight oats creation a try yet?!

I’m loving my outfit today so I thought I’d post it up here, as well as on the Fashion page.  It kind of reminds me of something Jennifer Aniston would wear…love her!  If I had to name who my style inspiration was, she would be one of them 🙂

I hope you all have a wonderful day and I’ll see you tomorrow 🙂

13 thoughts on “Intuitive Eating & Overnight Oats

    Nicole said:
    July 28, 2011 at 11:36 am

    One of my major problems is getting in a food rut. I swear, I could eat the same thing over and over every day. And a lot of times, it isn’t food that gets you all the nutrients you need in the day. I’m getting better about planning my meals for a week rather than a day so I can make sure I use up all my produce and get a good balance. If I don’t plan though, I’m a disaster!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 28, 2011 at 11:50 am

      Great point Nicole! I too know all too well food ruts and part of my Creature of Habit challenge was based on the fact that I wasn’t getting enough nutrients from other foods by eating the same thing everyday…so I’m right there with you on that 🙂

      Good for you and great tip on being proactive about meal planning for a week rather than a day! 🙂

    bakebooks said:
    July 28, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Wow – I really like what you had to say about the workouts and connection to eating…I find that I tend to binge more if I were to workout or be more active that day. If I don’t get it in…then eating so much food – especially the chocolate and cookies, etc…is even more “wrong” . Whereas if I were just leisurely , spent an afternoon at the movies and reading and not feeling like I had to be doing something – then I would be calmer and allow myself to “listen” to myself…

    Unfortunately, easier said than done…and the binging continues 😦

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 28, 2011 at 12:01 pm

      Thank you for your comment, I can totally relate to what you said. Isn’t it interesting the whole mind-body connection of when we workout more we tend to overeat/binge (I’ve been there before!), and then once we relax and like you said “be more calm and listen to ourselves”, we’re then more in tune with our bodies and cravings, thus eating more intuitively…

      Yes at times it is easier said than done…but keep moving forward and keep the faith and strength in yourself 🙂

    Kris said:
    July 28, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Hahaha, I am such a creature of habit and could eat the same every stinking day!! LOL!! These overnight oaty goodness looks amazing!!!!!!! YUM!

    Your outfit is super cute…nice shoes 😉

    xxoo

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 28, 2011 at 3:03 pm

      Hi Kris! Yay I’m glad I’m not the only creature of habit around here 😉 You must try the overnight oats sometime, they’re ridiculously good.

      Thank you so much for the sweet comment, the shoes are from Nine West!

    Simply Life said:
    July 28, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    oh I love your shoes!

    Courtney said:
    July 29, 2011 at 5:14 am

    Awww man! I hate when I see a post with delicious overnight oats…and it’s already morning! 😉

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      July 29, 2011 at 5:19 am

      Haha I know right! I knew yesterday that I’d want them again this morning and I almost forgot to prep them last night!! They need to make an overnight oats reminder app for us foodies 😉

    Steak…it’s what’s for dinner | The Good Life said:
    July 29, 2011 at 11:07 am

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time Skip to content HomeAboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJune 24 – July 3July 6 – 10July 11 – 17July 19 – 24July 25 – 31FitnessGetting ready…Wedding ← Intuitive Eating & Overnight Oats […]

    evafitness said:
    August 4, 2011 at 9:14 am

    oh my god, I have been freaking out because I haven’t missed more then a day of working out in years and I got sick and couldn’t workout the last four days in a row. It never occurred to me that my appetite could become a little more normal if I cut back on the workouts a little but when I read that in your post it resonated with me instantly….
    thanks 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 4, 2011 at 10:16 am

      I’m so happy for you! 🙂 Yes it can be scary to go everyday working out and then suddenly stop..for me in the past, it would cause anxiety for fear of gaining weight or losing fitness gains. But like you said, I’ve found now that my eating is so much more normal with rest days and I’m even stronger in the gym and can give it all I got now that I rest my body 🙂

Leave a Reply

