Focus on the Present

Posted on Updated on

****Edited to Add – I got my camera cord back and added in photos from the weekend, enjoy!

*** First and foremost, I want to say a big, warm, welcoming hello to a few new readers…welcome and thank you for following me along on this journey…this blogging community is a pretty spectacular one and from the bottom of my heart thank you for your comments and readership, it really means a lot to me ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Monday everyone!ย  And on that note…Happy August!ย  Seriously, where has time gone?!ย  I can’t believe it’s almost (emphasis on the almost ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) the end of summer and we’re nearing fall sooner and sooner.ย  With time slipping by so quickly, it allows me to remind myself to really focus on the present and to remember how good life is right now.ย  I admit, I tend to fantasize and think about the future all too often…whether it be upcoming vacations, holiday’s, birthday’s, anniversary’s, parties…and one very important one to me and my husband, getting pregnant.

When hubby and I decided in January that we’d start trying for a baby this summer, I admit I naively thought it’d be easy for us and that by August we’d have good news to share with everyone.ย  Today on the 1st of August, it leaves me a bit sad to not be where I envisioned 8 months ago being on this day…but it also reminds me to remember how far I’ve come since 3 years ago and that life will only get better from here on out.

This morning, after I had my pity party, I snapped out of it and remembered that life is pretty darn awesome right now, and to remember all I have to be thankful for.ย  I have my health, family, stability, a good job, and more importantly, life.ย  Though I’m not perfect,ย  I take pride in how far I’ve come on this journey to health, and that this journey can only get better with our goals of Getting Ready…, to living the good life, and to having all you amazing readers and bloggers to follow me along for the ride ๐Ÿ™‚

****

So how was everyone’s weekend?!ย  Mine was absolutely great…Saturday was spent with my mom and sister out to lunch and capped it off with fro yo at our fav spot Nubi Yogurt.ย  The rest of the evening was spent at my parents house where we BBQ’ed and had great quality time together…

Lunch at Fresh Choice – salad with tomato pasta salad, peas, carrots, beets, bell peppers, broccoli, green onion, and croutons with Italian balsamic vinaigrette dressing…yes we bring our own salad dressing from home…is that weird ๐Ÿ˜‰

Dessert, round #1! Vanilla frozen yogurt with a cake cone on the side…and see those lil pieces in the cone…that would be chopped peanuts! Makes for a delicious ending bite ๐Ÿ™‚

Dessert round #2! Since this was my second sweet treat, I didn’t want to go into a sweet induced coma, so I focused more on the yogurt and less on the toppings…so I just got lil to satisfy my craving for it but not overdo it too much.

Snacks:

First time trying these lovelies and they were pretty darn good…great crunchy texture with pieces of raisins and a cinnamon coating.

Tomato crostini’s courtesy of the hubby…he simply sliced french bread and topped it with a bit of balsamic vinegar, cooked in the oven for a bit, then topped it off with slices of tomatoes, pepper, and salt. I had two of these plus one more.

Dinner:

Before: The hubby and dad’s salmon ready to go on the grill…

…and After!

Us girls felt like salads so we made one with 1 whole avocado, 3 hard boiled eggs, carrots, green onion, 1/2 can of garbanzo beans, and croutons…

Sides:

Steamed veggies

Roasted baby red potatoes

My plate, x2!

While dinner was cooking we were treated with the most adorable sighting ever in my parents backyard…

Baby duckies!! Not only that, but they were walking with their mama and daddy…

Is that not the cutest thing ever??!!

More close up shots!

And no pictures from yesterday…I’ve decided that Sunday’s will be my off day from taking pictures and blogging to just focus on quality time with loved ones ๐Ÿ™‚ย  So we got in a quick trip to the gym, ran some errands, came home and I crashed hard…this go go go girl took an hour nap (that’s unheard of for me!).ย  I don’t know what overcame me but I just listened to my body and it wanted a lil cat nap, it sure felt good ๐Ÿ™‚

This morning was welcomed with a couple extra hours of sleeping in since today is a rest day from the gym for me.ย  For breakfast I was feeling comfort food and carby goodness so I went with a recent obsession of mine…

Sandwich Thin with 2 tbsp. PB2 peanut butter, 1 large sliced banana, drizzle of honey

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday, and I’ll be back later to insert pictures of my eats from Saturday! ๐Ÿ™‚

Questions: Is it hard for you to focus on the present? Do you get caught up in the future of what you want to happen in your life?ย  Do you like to take cat naps?

10 thoughts on “Focus on the Present

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 1, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Happy Monday! Looks as though you had a fabulous weekend! I used to have a borderline problematic addiction to those cinnamon raisin bagel thins! Dipped in cream cheese haha

    I love PB2 but when Trader Joe’s came out with their peanut butter flour I just started using that… Until they discontinued it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ it was so good and so fun to bake with!

    I think focusing on the present is difficult for most people. There is a great book called ‘The Power of Now’ and it addresses how important it is to stay in the present because the future does not exist and you have no control over the past. There are so so so many things in want to do with my life… And being in a great spot now, I can taste them all haha which makes me get ahead of myself! The journey is just as important as the end result ๐Ÿ™‚

    I took a 3 hour nap after brunch yesterday haha does that count? I never do that! I blame it on Saturdays wine consumption.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 1, 2011 at 5:36 pm

      Oooo dipped in cream cheese! Good call, I gotta try that ๐Ÿ™‚

      I know I was sooo bummed when TJ’s discontinued the peanut flour…we should start a “Bring Back the TJ’s PB Flour” boycott ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Wine consumption will definitely illicit a much needed nap, good for you!

      And I can relate to what you said in that since life is so great now, we want all these things to happen that we can taste it…totally agree. And I love your quote “the journey is just as important as the end result”….I’m definitely going to remember that and enjoy this journey ๐Ÿ™‚

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    August 1, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    There is something about little baby duckies ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I was planning on writing a post on my journey to getting pregnant this Friday so stay tuned. In the meantime, enjoy every day that you can have a glass of vino!

    Lauren said:
    August 1, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    I definitely struggle with living in the present – I’ve always been very consumed with the future and I really need to stay in the present because afterall, it is pretty great.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 1, 2011 at 5:30 pm

      Yes, the present is pretty great ๐Ÿ™‚

      Oh and I’m going to talk about the PB Puffins tomorrow, stay tuned ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sherri said:
    August 1, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    I think I live in the moment! Surprised?? Maybe that’s why you think I’m always happy!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 2, 2011 at 9:53 am

      Haha yep I bet that’s why mom!! I should follow in your footsteps more often ๐Ÿ˜‰

    e@thisnotedlife said:
    August 3, 2011 at 11:30 am

    hello! I’m new to your blog and I found i have so much in common with this post – i’m so guilty of always living for the future rather than in the present and it’s something i’m working on as well. Not to mention, my husband and I are working on having a baby (haha that sounds so weird) too and, like you, i thought it’d happen the first month and definitely still no baby. Anyhow – i look forward to following along and getting to know you more through your blog!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 3, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      Hi there and welcome to the blog! ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like we have a lot in common…I empathize with you on living for the future and wondering when we’ll see those two little pink lines…I try to remember what my mother told me…she said that everyday along this journey, it allows us to learn more and more and we’ll be better prepared for when that miracle comes true ๐Ÿ™‚

      Good luck to you and thank you for stopping by…I look forward to getting to know more of you too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

