An Unconventional Dinner & Being Real

Posted on Updated on

Happy Hump Day everyone!  I hope everyone’s day is going great so far!  I loved reading everyone’s comments regarding how you deal with stress.  So if you haven’t read it yet, I’d suggest you hop on over there, there’s some great feedback in the comments section.

This morning started off great with a 15 minute Ab class and 45 minute Bootcamp class, again with my Workout Buddy!  I’m sad to say though that this will be our last fitness class together 😦 Although it’s for good work reasons so it’s bittersweet…maybe a couple times a week we’ll start doing night classes together?!

Before I get into breakfast I want to get into yesterday’s eats…I went with a meal that always provides satisfaction to the taste buds and tummy so I went with my favorite sandwich…

Turkey and avocado sandwich on a Sandwich Thin with Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese Wedge spread on both sides. Side of roasted bell peppers and carrots.

Hubby and I have our moments where we’re always feeling the same thing and have ESP.  So much so that we can almost always finish each other’s sentences…in fact that was one of the first things I loved about him and our relationship when we first started dating… 😉  So when I got home, we both stared blankly in the fridge, the cupboards, then each other, and then both simultaneously exclaimed, “I’m feeling snacks for dinner!”  So that’s what we went with…a dinner of snacks and a tasting plate of sorts…

Not the most typical dinner…but it satisfied our cravings at that moment and sometimes those unconventional kinds of dinners are always a winner 🙂

Last night as my sweet tooth started to roar, I realized that I never take pics of it…the horror!  Especially for this self proclaimed sweets lover…so I had to change that, fast!

It’s the little things in life, and chocolate is one of them. Oh and yes, the bar on the left does indeed have caramel marks on it…I’m a messy eater…hubby can vouch for that 😉

Have any of you tried these Trader Joe’s chocolate bars?!  Oh my goodness, pure heaven…especially the Caramel with Black Sea Salt…no words can describe the deliciousness of it…you’re just going to have to try it yourself 😉

I had a square of each and was sufficiently satisfied…I found that the real deal (no fake, artificial, fat-free, etc.) will always satisfy my craving, and done so in smaller quantities.  Give me fake ice cream, yogurt, chocolate, “what have you” dessert, and I will need double the quantity to be satisfied.  But give me real, dark, dense, rich chocolate, and I will be satisfied off of a couple squares.

I’ve found that being real in life is always the way to go.  Either it be your personality, food, your body type/shape, weight…being real with yourself in all aspects of your life will lend itself to happiness.  Once I ate “healthy” real food, found my “happy” real weight, owned my “true” real personality…that I was then able to love me for who I was and in that happiness follows.  I’ve found that you can’t live life succumbing to being someone else or trying to live to some ideal of perfection…just be your real true self, and happiness will follow…make that your reality 🙂

After my workout I was feeling something refreshing and cool, and wanted a breakfast that provided sustaining protein and carbs so I went with an oldie but goodie…smoothie!

1 1/2 cups Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1 frozen banana

1 tsp. xanthan gum

1 scoop Casein Vanilla Protein Powder

Peanut Butter Puffins…you know I couldn’t start my day without those babies 😉

Hope you all have a wonderful day and we’re halfway there to the weekend, whoo hoo!

Questions: Do you like to make “unconventional” dinners? Do you enjoy eating real foods/chocolate and find yourself more satisfied eating the real deal? Was/is being real (food, body, personality wise) hard for you to do? How do you strive to be real?

11 thoughts on “An Unconventional Dinner & Being Real

    Shanna like Banana said:
    August 3, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    I do crave snacks for dinner like hummus and veggies but always end up hungry again later…. And then snack more ;-p

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 4, 2011 at 3:12 pm

      I know I sometimes end up with that problem too when having snacky dinners…in fact after that dinner I said to my hubby, alright time for dessert! Ha!

    Sherri said:
    August 3, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    I enjoy breakfast foods for dinner. Ymmm!
    One very enjoyable part of aging is becoming the real you. The older I get the less I worry about the small stuff and the more I enjoy just being me! Free to be me!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 3, 2011 at 3:15 pm

      Breakfast for dinner is the jam 🙂

      I totally agree with the aging part and I was going to say that in the post! Now at 29, the closer I get to 30 the more I care less about what other people think and the more I just enjoy being me! 🙂

    nutritionforarunner said:
    August 3, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Looks amazing I love unconventional dinners!

    Cait's Plate said:
    August 3, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    I tend to eat conventional dinners but I’ve definitely had my fair share of ice cream, cereal or breakfast for dinner dinners too! 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 4, 2011 at 10:11 am

      I love love ice cream/cereal/breakfast for dinner on occasion, those are the best unconventional kinds! 🙂

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 4, 2011 at 9:30 am

    Honestly, I have a very hard time with ‘unconventional’ dinners. Yours looks great but for me, making dinner and having a meal is like a ‘thing’ hahaha I’m not sure how to describe it. But for example, when I go out to eat I avoid tapas restaurants like the plague! Several small plates is just too all over the place for me. You’re dinner however looks delicious! I think the most ‘unconventional’ type of dinner I would have would be breakfast for dinner, like Sherri!

    Now lunch is something that is always unconventional for me (frozen yogurt with granola? haha) Maybe I just can’t handle two unconventional meals a day?

    I totally agree that real foods are SO much more satisfying. Especially when it comes to BUTTER. Have you ever had whole milk yogurt??? That is pretty decadent as well.

    Being ‘real’ is easier as you get older you think. Because I just don’t really care what other people think besides my family and friends (who already accept and love me), it is easier to focus on what I, SARAH, really think s because I’m not consumed with what others think. More room in my brain for my big personality! haha

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 4, 2011 at 3:13 pm

      I agree with breakfast for dinner, it’s one of my most favorite unconventional dinners! And I too will most definitely take fro yo for lunch any day 😉

      Yes real butter is like none other….nothing better than when you go to a restaurant and have *real *butter with the bread basket, insanely delish! No, I’ve never tried whole milk yogurt?! I bet it’s amazing! I’ve tried 2% Fage, but not the whole stuff. I’ll have to get it next time I’m at the store! How do you eat it?

      You comment inspired me for today’s post….totally agree with the getting older part! And I love your big personality…it’s an awesome feeling to just be yourself, so empowering 🙂

    Turning 30… | The Good Life said:
    August 4, 2011 at 11:12 am

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time Skip to content HomeAboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJune 24 – July 3July 6 – 10July 11 – 17July 19 – 24July 25 – 31FitnessGetting ready…Wedding ← An Unconventional Dinner & Being Real […]

Leave a Reply

