Movie Star Crushes

Posted on

Hello and happy Friday everyone!  I’m so happy that in T-6 hours the weekend will officially begin for me!  First I want to say how much I LOVE all your attitudes about turning 30…the consensus is that 30 is the new 20 and I totally agree…let’s own it ladies!  And if you haven’t checked out the comments yet you should…especially one from my fabulous, inspiring, gorgeous sister…your rock sissy! ❤

There’s actually not too much going on for us this weekend…tomorrow I have a lunch and manicure/pedicure date planned with my mom and sis which I’m really looking forward to…and then just some quality time with the hubby.  In fact last night he mentioned wanting to see Rise of The Plant of The Apes…to which I kinda moaned about…but then he said James Franco was in it and then that seemed to peak my interest a lil 😉

Which got me thinking…over the years I’ve had many different crushes on different movie stars.  To name a few I had a 15 year old crush on Leonardo DiCaprio when Romeo & Juliet and Titanic came out.  Oh I remember the days when I listened to that soundtrack everyday all day…stereo blaring with love songs and would daydream about having a love story like theirs…of course without the dying part!  And then came 90210…ahhh Dylan McKay…the bad boy heartthrob.  And what about Zack Morris from Saved By The Bell?!  He was such a cutie 🙂

And then I met my hubby, and all movie star crushes of my teenage past were put to shame…he’s my one any only heartthrob 😉

Lunch:

Can you believe that years ago I used to eat egg sandwiches everyday for lunch??!!  I know my family can because they would see me make them all the time.  I don’t what it was…I just loved me some eggs 😉  So for lunch I felt like bringing back that old favorite of mine, and I was remembered why I love them so much…there’s just something about eggs with buttery toast that’s always comforting and satisfying…

Egg sandwich made on a Sandwich Thin with 4 egg whites (I would use the yolk but I can’t due to my high cholesterol). Side salad with spinach, avocado, zucchini, bell peppers, and Italian balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

Dinner:

Right when work let out I rushed to get home because I was super excited for what we had planned on the menu…

Turkey burgers!!

Turkey burgers on an English Muffin with tomato, onion, and ketchup. Side salad with butter lettuce and red bell peppers, drizzled with Italian balsamic vinaigrette.

Beforehand we snacked on some Bagel Chips with hummus, we practically killed the whole bag! And then dessert was more TJ’s Dark Chocolate Bars 🙂

Breakfast:

This morning I was feeling something refreshing and creamy after my sweaty workout so I went with a smooooothie…

In the mix:

1 1/2 cups Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1 scoop Vanilla Casein Protein Powder

1 frozen banana

1 tbsp. chia seeds

Handful of puffins added once I got to work!

Hope you all are having a wonderful Friday!  And if I have time I’ll try and pop in sometime this weekend 🙂

Questions: Who were your teenage movie star crushes?  Do you like egg sandwiches?

10 thoughts on “Movie Star Crushes

    Amy said:
    August 5, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I’m so lovin Ian Somerhalder from the vampire diarys right now. He’s so hot. I love me some egg salad sandwiches for lunch actually thats what I packed for lunch tomorrow on my millet and flax bread. Yummy!!!

    Lauren said:
    August 5, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Brad Pitt! Now, I would have to say Bradley Cooper – 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 5, 2011 at 1:27 pm

      OMG me too!! Love love Bradley Cooper…although I have to say I’m biased to that because the hubby looks so much like him 😉

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 5, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Oh man I LOVE egg sandwiches. Egg and avocado sandwiches. (Fried eggs are GREAT on burgers too!) When I was a senior in high school we were allowed to leave for lunch. My friends and I would always go to Dunkin Donuts to get bagel egg sandwiches! We were obsessed.

    I’m a dork. I seriously had crush on Jonathan Frakes from Star Trek the Next Generation when I was a teenager! hahaha And I was and always will be in love with Cary Grant. I also remember being slightly obsessed with Jonathan Taylor Thomas and the kid from The Next Karate Kid. I completely forget his name..

    BTW the texture of your morning smoothie looks perfect!

    Happy Friday!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 6, 2011 at 7:14 am

      Yes! With my egg sandwich that day as I was eating it I took the avocado from my salad and put it on the egg to make egg and avocado bites, and on my goodness, so good! Can you believe I had never tried that combo before?! So good! And wow, a fried egg on a burger sounds fabulous…hubby ordered that once at a restaurant and I remember it being insanely delicious 🙂

      Oh yes Ralph Macchio from Karate Kid! He was a cute…I wonder where he’s been?!

      I owe the smoothie texture all to the xanthan gum – it makes a world of a difference! Have you tried it? It’s kinda expensive ($12/ bag @ Whole Foods) but it will last you forever and it really makes your smoothie so thick and deliciously creamy 🙂

    Lauren said:
    August 6, 2011 at 5:30 am

    I used to love Leonardo DiCaprrio and Zach Morris too! These days it’s Ryan Reynolds…. aside from my husband of course:) I love egg sandwiches… I really should make them more often. I must say I’m a little obsessed with the egg sandwiches from Panera Bread… So good!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 6, 2011 at 7:07 am

      Ooo I didn’t know Panera Bread made egg sammies?! I’ll have to try ’em sometime – thanks for the tip! 🙂

    Sherri said:
    August 14, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    Ralph the Karate Kid was on Dancing with Stars!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 15, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      Really?! So I guess he is still around! I bet he was cute dancing 😉

Leave a Reply

