Too much of a good thing…?

Posted on Updated on

Hello friends!  Hope you all are having a great day so far!  Hubby and I have a stocked fridge with the same ole eats and we’re making a concerted effort to stick to our grocery budget so you’ll see a lot of food repeats on the ole blog here…hope you all don’t mind! 🙂

However this Friday is payday (yippee!) and I’m going to try and stock the fridge with some different goodies…I better start researching for some good (different!) foods.  Speaking of the same ole foods…can eating the same type of vegetables be too much of a good thing?

When I look back on my sauteed vegetables and salads…what is the one veggie that sticks out?  If you guessed red bell peppers, then I love you and that means you’re a loyal blog reader 😉

But in all seriousness, yes I eat the same types of veggies (i.e. carrots, zucchini, bell peppers) everyday.  And this may be very neurotic but I make sure to eat a red bell pepper with at least lunch or dinner (or both!) each day…why you may ask?  Well I hope this isn’t too TMI, but you know, it gets things moving 😉  Whenever people complain to me about digestive issues, I always say, eat a bell pepper.  I kid you not, it works.  And when the checker at Trader Joe’s wonders why I buy 6 packages of bell peppers at a time and asks me “are you making stuffed peppers tonight?!”  I just smile and let him think that yes, that is why I just bought out your whole stock of bell peppers, and to save him from knowing my trick to healthy digestion 🙂

But could it be too much of a good thing?  Usually an excess of anything in one’s diet isn’t necessary – it’s all about balance and variety is the spice of life.  So once again, I should break out of my Creature of Habit moments and tap into some different veggies that I may end up liking, even loving!  However, at least I’m reaching my daily quota of vegetables per day and that’s what matters most.  Maybe this Friday on my next grocery trip I’ll pick up some new veggies…however the bell peppers are here to stay 😉

Lunch and dinner were veggie heavy since the day after the weekend I like to get lots of vegetables in.  After eating copious amounts of frozen yogurt, ice cream, and carbs, I like Monday’s to be filled with veggie-rific meals 🙂

Lunch: Well whata you know…bell peppers made an appearance!

Dinner: Another salad beast…

And beforehand, our favorite snackies…

And ended with this…

Best.chocolate.ever!!

This morning I woke up more tired than usual, but once I heard the coffee maker go “beep beep” to signal that it was ready and could then start smelling the delicious coffee aroma, it instantly got me outta bed…that and I like to pretend I’m in a Folger’s commercial 😉  If only I looked as bright eyed and bushy tailed as they do, ha!

After my sweaty spin class I was more than ready for breakfast and felt like having a repeat of yesterday’s goodness…only this time I added a lil drizzle of honey.  What a world of a difference it makes in giving it a creamy sweet texture, love it!

Cinnamon Raisin English Muffin with 2 tbsp. PB2, sliced banana, and a drizzle of honey. Side of 3 egg whites and coffee with Vanilla Caramel Coffeemate.

Today I’ll answer with you all!

Questions: Do you repeat a vegetable (or certain food) in your diet? Red bell peppers, avocados, bananas, and hummus…to just name a few!

Is there something in your life that you think is “too much of a good thing”? In the past it was my exercise, but my body is very thankful that I’ve cut back on this as it was definitely getting in excess and my body was not happy with it…you can read more about that here.

Have you found a certain vegetable/fruit to help with your digestion? (If too TMI you don’t have to answer! 🙂 ) Other than bell peppers, prunes do the job too!  And if you can’t stand the taste, dip ’em in peanut butter…sounds weird but really good!

15 thoughts on “Too much of a good thing…?

    Lauren said:
    August 9, 2011 at 11:29 am

    I have to say that I tend to eat ALOT of onions – I just love them. During the fall/winter I probably eat 3-4 apples a day.

    Chocolate is probably my “too much of a good thing” oh cheese and wine too 😉

    I have never heard about eating bell peppers for this but I love them so I’m going to start doing this. I find garbanzo beans help quite a bit.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 9, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      I love eating apples too when they’re in season, and I would more if they didn’t bother my tummy so much. Same with onion, my stomach just doesn’t do well with those either….in my eyes you have a stomach of steel! 😉

      Oh yes, chocolate and wine are definitely another my “too much of a good thing” 🙂

      I agree, garbanzo beans definitely help with that too…and I hope the bell peppers work for you! 😉

    Amy said:
    August 9, 2011 at 11:48 am

    I definitely repeat, brocolli, bananas, avacodo, and garbanzo beans.
    Exercise is something I’ve gotten way too much of but have recently cut back drastically and I hate to sound like I’m repeating you but prunes. Their the best when I need them they’re always there!!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 9, 2011 at 12:05 pm

      Yes broccoli and garbanzo beans are some of my favs to repeat too!

      Good for you for cutting back on some exercise…it’s such a fine line with exercise since it’s hard to cut back on something that’s inherently good for our bodies and gives us energy…but balance is the key and it’s always healthy to give our bodies that break 🙂

      Yes prunes are great…try them dipped in peanut butter! 🙂

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 9, 2011 at 11:55 am

    I always have banana in some form with/in my breakfast, avocado at lunch, and broccoli at dinner. They are not always prepared the same way but they always make an appearance at those meals! I love ’em all so why quit? haha

    I’ve been pushing my running a bit over the past few weeks. I’been having trouble with my left leg.. it just doesn’t want to heal like my right leg does after long runs. But I keep pushing myself because the rest of me feels good. Too much for poor lefty.
    As far as with food… I do believe there is such a thing as TOO much fiber! last Fall I ate so much butternut and kabocha squash and brussels sprouts they were coming out of my ears! Not to get too deep into it… I was so bloated I had no idea what was wrong with me. I eliminated the squash and sprouts 😦 and I was back to normal. I love squash and spouts so much I’m not sure how I will be able to handle cutting back this Fall/Winter!

    For digestion I definitely have to go with yogurt. I used to buy insanely expensive probiotic pills because I thought I needed them. Nope, really good yogurt works just fine!

    Your breakfast looks delish by the way! I keep meaning to get myself some PB2! It’s so much fun to bake with too 🙂

    Happy Tuesday!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 9, 2011 at 12:24 pm

      I agree, if it ain’t broke why fix it? 😉 We’re definitely similar with our eats….I too love love bananas in some form with my breakfasts, avocado with lunch most of the time, and I used to do broccoli with dinner but it started to be too much fiber for me and cause major bloating…I guess that’s why I love red bell peppers so much – no bloating and gets the job done 😉

      I know the feeling, it’s so hard to back off from your favorite form of exercise when the rest of you feels great except for that one part of your body. I used to run all the time but had to give it up because it was effecting my right hip so much….I guess this is what comes with turning 30 soon, ha!

      Oh man I feel you on the butternut squash. Hubby and I tried it for the first time too last fall when spaghetti squash was all over the blogworld – I loved it that way and had it for dinner a couple times but could not deal with the bloating afterwards…hubby and I had matching poof bellies, it was awesome, lol!

      Yes yogurt is great for digestion, those probiotics are so great for that!

      PB2 is awesome! I only wish they sold the stuff in grocery stores…I’m always stocking up my cupboards with it since the store where I get it is such a drive away for me!

    Paige @ Running Around Normal said:
    August 9, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    omg…the dark chocolate caramel w/ sea salt sounds like the three best flavors EVER!

    My Very First WIAW « Chocolate, Cheese and Wine said:
    August 10, 2011 at 5:04 am

    […] from Chipotle!  My had: Rice, Black beans, tons of fajita veggies (including bell peppers, see Shayla’s @ The Good Life’s post for interesting info about bell peppers), blackbeans, chicken, mild salsa, corn salsa and […]

    foodsweatandbeers said:
    August 10, 2011 at 7:13 am

    In my salads, I always repeat the bell peppers, tomatoes, and avocado AND when I roast veggies, I like to go for bell peppers, zucchini, yellow squash, and red onions FAR AS THE EYE CAN SEE!

    Sometimes, when I get the food I get, I just wanna whisper to someone “I like this food because I like to poop!” but, let’s be honest, that kinda stuff doesn’t fly at fancy spots like whole foods. Maybe I’ll sneak it in one time at a Super Wal-Mart.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 10, 2011 at 10:07 am

      Haha omg I cracked up laughing at your comment – that.is.awesome 🙂 Let me know how it goes at Wal-Mart and I’ll give it a go at KMart 😉

      And we definitely have the same taste buds for veggies, love all the ones you listed, they’re my fav!! 🙂

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    August 10, 2011 at 11:09 am

    I definitely eat the same veggies often because I try yo go with what’s in season! I am on a red pepper and zucchini kick now!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 10, 2011 at 12:02 pm

      I totally agree! Going with what’s in season is so great to do – both money and taste wise! Since I love red bell peppers so much I love how much of an abundance there is of them right now and they’re always on sale – love that especially since they’re so expensive! And it looks like we’re on the same veggie kick girl, I’m loving zucchini right now too! 😉

    Annoying Work Habits | The Good Life said:
    August 10, 2011 at 11:48 am

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time Skip to content HomeAboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJune 24 – July 3July 6 – 10July 11 – 17July 19 – 24July 25 – 31August 6 – 14FitnessGetting ready…Wedding ← Too much of a good thing…? […]

    Mallory @ It's Only Life After All said:
    August 10, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Exercise was definitely too much of a good thing for me at one point too. Now, it’s mainly FiberOne cereal (really messes up my stomach if I eat too much of it! That stuff is hardcore!)

Leave a Reply

