Sweet ‘n’ Savory

Posted on

Hi everyone! I was happy to commiserate with you all on yesterday’s post regarding annoying work habits.  I gathered that we all share experiences with people not replying to emails, BlackBerry use during meetings, and talking too loudly on phones.  In fact, one of my past coworkers talked so loudly that when I was on the phone the person on the other end could hear her in the background talking, ha!  It was fun to talk about this with you all and maybe pass on the list to your other coworkers to, you know, give them the hint 😉

****

Being a foodie lover and one who loves to read all things food related (blogs, Food Network, cooking magazines), one thing that will always start to make my mouth water and strike any craving in me, are foods that are sweet ‘n’ savory.  I absolutely love when foods are made with a balance of sweet and savory components.  And looking back on my meals from yesterday, they did just that…

Lunch: My version of sweet and savory…

Fage yogurt (sweet) with peanut butter puffins (savory/sweet), and side salad (savory)

Side Note: Don’t you ladies love coming home to empty containers left from the hubby…

Sorry hubby, I just had to call you out on that 😉

Luckily I have all the components on hand to make this fabulous dressing…and if you haven’t yet, I suggest you give it a try, it’s delicious and so fresh/natural tasting…

Once you have these ingredients, just follow the instructions on the Good Seasons Recipe box and you got one fabulous homemade Italian balsamic dressing!

Dinner: Although hubby redeemed himself by cooking up one fabulous sweet ‘n’ savory meal…

Sweet ‘n’ Sour (savory!) chicken with sauteed pineapples and bananas

Mmmm…pineapples and bananas sauteing in the sweet ‘n’ sour sauce

His:

Hers!:

It was absolutely delicious and a perfect sweet ‘n’ savory meal…however huge compliments go to my amazing hubby…he’s the chef in this household and I’m so thankful for it. Although I like to say I’m his sous chef since I did all the prep work…hey, cutting up a pineapple is hard work! 😉

And earlier when hubby was at the grocery store getting the ingredients for this amazing dinner, he also knows the way to my heart and picked up a lil something special for dessert…

A perfect note to end on a sweet ‘n’ savory day 😉

And sweet ‘n’ savory must have been on my mind all day since that morning I entered a lil contest for fun…

Have any of you entered this? It’s from Food Network Magazine and in every issue at the end they feature this contest that has you give a name to that particular food/dish and all you have to go by is a picture of the food and its ingredients.  Hubby and I thought of a very cute name that I’m really happy about…and if you guessed that it involves the idea of sweet ‘n’ savory, then you guessed right 😉  However, I’ll let you all in on what we named it when the contest ends, which is August 30th!

Breakfast: Last night I had a feeling I’d want overnight oats again the next morning so I mixed up a batch of it, set it in the fridge to do its magic, and then this morning I had my delicious concoction ready to go!

Action bite shot!! 🙂

This morning was a day off from the gym for me so I felt like putting in a little more effort into my outfit and hair…which I also finds brighten my mood a bit more!

Floral tops, skinny jeans, cute shoes, and my hair down always make me happy 🙂

Hope you’re all having a great day so far….we’re almost to Friday, whoo hoo!

Questions: Do you like sweet ‘n’ savory foods? If so, what’s your favorite sweet ‘n’ savory concoction?

Does your S.O. ever leave something empty in the fridge/cupboards?

Does putting more effort into your look for the day brighten your mood?

P.S. If you want to enter the Food Network contest click here Name This Dish!

11 thoughts on “Sweet ‘n’ Savory

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 11, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    I love skinny jeans with flowy tops and heels. It’s such a great go-to outfit and you obviously rock it girl!

    I hear you on the sweet and savory combos…. I often put rasins or cranberries in my salads to give it that sweet edge… and I adore kettlecorn. And of course, PB&J’s…. classic sweet and savory 😉

    I love charred chicken… I looks absolutely delicious. It’s so funny how similar our ‘his’ and ‘her’ meals look. My boyfriend always gets the ‘plate’… rice, meat, veggies… and I go the salad bowl route. It works, right!?

    My Sister always makes that Good Seasons dressing when I go to her place. it is SO GOOD! I’m actually going to her place tonight for ladies night. We are making haddock and a huge Greek salad… accompanied by lots of wine!

    So I am actually the one who leaves nearly empty bottles in the fridge… and I leave caps loose too. It’s an awful habit!

    I work alone for the most part except when my boss makes a random appearance, or when the maintenance men or tenants pop in. I could probably wear my yoga clothes and no one would care haha However I love to dress professionally and putting effort in my look each day totally makes me feel attractive and happy even if no one sees me!

    So glad it’s Thursday! Do you have fun weekend plans?

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 11, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Thanks Sarah, you’re too sweet girl 🙂

      Ooo yes, how could I forget about kettlecorn and PB & J’s, those are my absolute fav sweet ‘n’ savory combos! Love adding cranberries to my salads too 🙂

      Haha yes, the his and her’s routes definitely work! I’ve noticed on other blogs too that the boys dishes always have those three components – rice, meat, and veggies and the girls do the salads…love it 🙂 We love charred chicken too, and I always try to give my veggies that char when I saute them, love that burnt flavor!

      What a perfect ladies night with your sis…nothing better than good food like that with yummy wine….definitely my kind of night too 😉

      When I was unemployed I would laze around in my workout clothes or comfies and be totally depressed by the end of the day…so I started to “dress up” and even if no one saw me it still made me happy to get dressed! It’s the little things and us girls we always like to “pretty” ourselves up 😉

      It’ll be another relaxing weekend for us…but I know I’m having a lunch date with my mom at our fav salad place and then fro yo! Any fun plans for you?!

    Amy said:
    August 11, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    You look beautiful and yes putting in a little more effort to get ready def makes me feel better and more cheery too. I’m a big skinny jeans girl with heels and a cute girly top. That always makes me feel put together and of course some makeup.

    Amy @ ahealthyandhappyheart said:
    August 11, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    So my husband isn’t the only one who leaves empty containers/bags everywhere!? Spending a few extra minutes getting ready always makes me feel better about the day!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 12, 2011 at 9:04 am

      Hee hee nope! He’s most definitely not! It must be a gene all men share 😉

    Shannon said:
    August 12, 2011 at 8:48 am

    Sweet and savory! Such a fan! Where do we get that from, I wonder? My fav combo has to be the veggie lettuce wraps at pf changs. I think you know the ones?! The soy sauce is kinda salty sweet and the tofu and water chestnuts are just yummy goodness. Finish with some fortune cookies and call it done. My mouth is watering just thinking about it!
    Putting more effort into my look always brightens my day. Wearing scrubs to work all the time makes me feel like a scrub sometimes, even though they are way comfy. I totally look forward to the weekend when I have a little more time to pretty up. Love your top in this pic! Another Express find?

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 12, 2011 at 9:11 am

      Ahhhh PF’s Chang lettuce wraps…be still my heart!! That is by far the best sweet and savory meal ever!! Especially when topped off with some fortune cookies 😉

      And you by far are the only nurse around here who makes scrubs look hot!! 😉

      Yep! Another Express top, gotta love that store! I think I could have my own makeshift Express store by now?! 😉 xoxo

    Sherri said:
    August 14, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    If you have confidence in how you look your positive attitude improves your mood!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 15, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      Exactly! And they also say, as long as you’re comfortable in your outfit that will make you confident too! 🙂

    Blogging Inspiration | The Good Life said:
    August 18, 2011 at 10:34 am

    […] alone. I also like to write about random, fun things such as a weird dream I had (future post!), or sweet ‘n’ savory foods, or gym etiquette, or about my workout buddy. I like having this variety in my blog and it […]

Leave a Reply

