Personal Questions

Posted on Updated on

Happy TGIF everyone!  Hope you’re all having a wonderful start to your Friday so far!  I know I am…my sis and I have been texting back and forth and it’s been making the morning fly by, especially since she’s good at making me laugh – love ya sis 🙂

I loved reading all your comments from yesterday’s post!  You all have delicious sweet ‘n’ savory eats such as kettlecorn, pb&j’s, and my one and only fav noted from my sis, PF Chang’s Tofu Lettuce Wraps!!  Have any of you tried those?  Trust me , order them and make it your meal.  The best sweet ‘n’ savory dish ever…especially when you end it with fortune cookies 😉

A series called “Personal Questions” have recently been done on Caitlin’s and Tina’s blogs so I thought it would be fun to do it too.  I love getting to know more about bloggers and would love you for all to get to know even more about me!  So without further ado…

1) Do you have a tattoo?

Yes, I have two on the right side of my lower back and were done at different times.  The first is a butterfly and I got it right when I turned 18…it was the rebel part of me wanting to come out and prove that I was adult and getting something “adult” done. It was done in Santa Cruz with my sis…I’ll never forget it, it was a bonding moment 🙂  And then I got it bigger, reshaped, and the color redone in San Diego with my husband, then boyfriend.

The second one is an angel/fairy and it was done I think 3 years later?  I can’t really remember.  Again, done in Santa Cruz with my sis 🙂  I’m always thinking about getting another one but not sure of what to get or where on my body to put it?

2. What do you have on your bedside table?

A lamp, alarm clock, and cell phone…sometimes water if I’m thirsty.

3. What is your worst habit?

My worst habit is playing with my hair. Family knows all about this…whenever I’m thinking about something, working, making a decision, I always start to play with my hair!

4. If you could change your name, what would you change it to?

Honestly, I really like my name. But if I had to choose, I’ve always liked the name Makayla.  Ha, it’s still kinda like Shayla!

5. Have you ever stolen anything?

When I was little, I once stole a handful of Micro Machine’s (remember those?!) from my preschool and I remember my mom making me return them. I’ll never forget how embarrassed I was.

6. What are you really good at? What are you really bad at?

I’m really good at typing fast, computer/tech savvy, spinning (and I like to think teaching spin too ;)), writing my thoughts/feelings, organization, multitasking, excel spreadsheets, rhythm, procrastinating (although in my older years I’m getting better at it!), sense of direction, math, sense of style/fashion.

I’m really bad at relaxing, good posture, stopping myself from fidgeting, putting my thoughts/feelings into words (I’m good at writing them but it’s hard for me to say it – in fact family has told me how impressed they are with my blog writing because I can articulate better in writing than speaking, lol!), whistling, flexibility.

7. Have you ever been in a car accident? What happened?

Yes! And it was awful. I was 18 or 19 at the time and I was coming home from the gym around dinnertime so it was dark out. I was going the speed limit which was 40 mph and a car suddenly came out of a side street, slammed right into the middle of my car on the passenger side, and I did a 180 across the street and went down the hill through the fence and into a family’s backyard. My car was hanging on the embankment of the hill so I immediately jumped out of the car since the first thing that went through my mind was that the car would blow up (I’ve watched too many action movies ;)). Ran down the hill and sat in the people’s backyard while in total shock of what just happened. Thankfully I wasn’t hurt, but my poor, beautiful, brand new convertible Mustang that I got from my parents and was just detailed by my dad (tinted windows, blacked out lights, chrome rims, new tailpipes) was totaled 😦  It was the worst day of my life, but again, thankfully I was ok 🙂

Funny enough, the guy that hit me was also driving a Mustang, around my age, and claimed he didn’t see me.  I still to this day do not understand what happened, the whole incident boggles my mind and it still kind of freaks me out to this day. Luckily you all don’t live around me, I’m a grandma of a driver!

8. Why did you attend your college?

The first college I attened right out of high school was The Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising (FIDM) in San Francisco. I went there in hopes of making it in the fashion industry to be a buyer, you can read more about that here. FIDM was by far the best experience of my life. I was a very very shy person, and so going to a school where I didn’t know anyone was definitely out of my comfort zone. But I’m so happy I did it because it really made me a more outgoing person and tremendously improved my viewpoint on school. In high school, studying was very difficult for me (for some people it comes very easy/natural to them, for me I had to really work and study hard to get good grades. So FIDM put a new spark in me for school and I loved every moment of it, it was by far the best scholastic experience of my life and I’ll never forget it.

At first I only wanted to go to FIDM, get my AA, and be done. But since it was such a positive experience for me and I really enjoyed school again, I went on to get my Bachelor’s in Business Administration at California State University, Hayward. The University was more like a commuter school and I really fit in there because I’m by no means the “party” school type. I met some really nice people and I loved being able to go to a University and be able to come home in 15 minutes to my family, it was a really nice balance. And I’m so happy I made that decision because getting both degrees have really helped me in my careers and more than anything, were great life experiences.

9. Describe your morning routine today

Woke up at 4:30am, made the hubby breakfast (English muffin with pb & banana) and coffee, drank my coffee while blog reading, made and packed hubby’s lunch, washed my face, brushed my teeth, got dressed for the gym, worked out, quick trip to the grocery store, showered, got dressed, made my smoothie for breakfast, drove to work, ate breakfast with another cup of coffee. Whew!

10. Do people think you are older or younger than you actually are?

Funny my mom and sis were just having a discussion about this! When I was younger people always thought I was older. Then when I hit about 25 people thought I looked my age. Now people think I’m younger than I am. In fact the other day at the gym, a trainer couldn’t get over that I was 29, she was hard pressed to believe I was 23! I think I look a lot younger at the gym though without any makeup on 😉

11. How did your parents relationship influence you?

My parents are still married and I think that instilled in me that even through all the ups and downs, it’s possible to be with someone forever – they gave me a very healthy and happy perspective on marriage. Before getting married, I always hoped to meet someone that I could be with forever, like my parents are doing, and I’m so happy and thankful to say that I did 🙂  They also gave me a very happy, loving, safe, nurturing, and supportive childhood which drives me to give that to our children too.

12. What were the 3 happiest moments of your life?

1. The day I graduated from college, both of them!
2. The day I married my husband
3. Everyday I’m with my family…does that count?! 😉

Whew! Since that was a long winded post I’m gonna whip right through my eats!

Lunch!

Dinner: Salmon for him, and salad for me! (Side note: I really do not like salmon! I used to when I was younger but then my taste buds changed. Now I find it to be way too fishy tasting for me, blech! I really want to start liking it again so I challenged the hubby to come up with a new salmon dish me for me. If you have any suggestions or tasty salmon recipes I would love to hear them so leave them in the comments section!)

His:

Hers!:

Spinach salad with turkey, avocado, sauteed carrots and bell peppers – croutons put on later. Drizzled with homemade Italian balsamic vinaigrette.

Breakfast:

As I was making my smoothie this morning I was thinking back to last time I had it and it was already a week go…who am I?!

1 3/4 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk, Vanilla Casein Protein Powder, 1 frozen banana, 1 tsp. xanthan gum.

At work I like to mix in my puffins and put it in the freezer for a bit to get it extra cold and it creates this awesome frozen crust on top…

Yummmm!

Hope you’re all having a fabulous Friday so far and happy almost weekend!

Questions: Choose any of the 12 questions to answer, I’d love to hear your responses! 🙂

11 thoughts on “Personal Questions

    Lauren said:
    August 12, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    The same thing happens to me – everytime I go out, people think I’m 17… when I’m actually 23. I went to get my hair cut, and the stylist asked me how I wanted my hair done for prom because apparently it was prom weekend…

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 12, 2011 at 12:13 pm

      Omg that’s pretty funny…and trust me you’ll appreciate that once you’re my age! 🙂

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    August 12, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    What a fun post, I might have to do do it soon! I love reading more about my favorite bloggers too!
    And your car accident sounded really scary!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 12, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      Yes do it! It was really fun answering them all. And I agree, getting to know more personal things about bloggers is always fun…makes me feel like I know them more 🙂

      Omg that car accident was so scary…a part I forgot to mention was I crashed literally an inch away from a tree so I could have hit that and that would have been way worse…an angel was definitely looking over me that day 🙂

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 12, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    I have to get xantham gum or chia seeds SOON. I think either will really improve my smoothie and overnight oat textures ohh the trails and tribulations of life haha

    I really liked how you mentioned that your parents staying married ” instilled in you that even through all the ups and downs, it’s possible to be with someone forever” Though my parents got divorced when I was young I am super close to my maternal Grandparents that are very young and are still, after over 50 years of marriage, madly in love to this day ! My Grandmother is constantly telling me how important it is to ride the wave… that sometimes you can only give so much and your partner as to give a little more and vice versa. TEAMWORK! 🙂

    I have a tattoo of a G-Clef on my back and want to get another tattoo soon! I’m thinking a bunch of grapes but I’m not quite sure where yet.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 15, 2011 at 3:40 pm

      You definitely have to get the xanthan gum, it takes your smoothies to a whole other level! The creamy texture it creates will rock your world 😉 And the chia seeds really bulk up the overnight oats, you can’t even tell they’re in there, they just add a great texture to it 🙂

      I really love what you said about marriage and the advice from your Grandmother, that is exactly what I try to strive for. It’s a give and take and it’s all about what you said, teamwork!! And how awesome they’re still together after 50 years! That is exactly that kind of journey I envision our marriage to take 🙂

      Omg a bunch of grapes would be so cute and perfect for you…what a perfect way to signify your love for wine!! 😉

    Shannon said:
    August 12, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    My friday flew by because of our texting session- thanks sis! I believe both of your tattoos were in Santa Cruz with me… Hmmmmm see a trend here?! If u get a third I must be there to witness and maybe get another one myself. Yes I do have a tattoo of tinkerbell on my back side (we will leave it at that) that I’m sure will look pretty awesome when I’m 80! Sweet! I love your 3 best moments and that it included family. I totally agree and cherish every moment we spend together whether it be one on one or as a family all together. There is nothing better – and I think its part of the good life! Love u!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 15, 2011 at 3:36 pm

      Awww love ya sissy, it’s all definitely part of the good life! 🙂

      And if that 3rd tattoo happens you definitely have to be there, we can’t break the tradition!

      Had so much fun together this past weekend and I hope you had a great Sunday 😉 xoxo

    Sherri said:
    August 14, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    The three happiest days of my life

    1. My wedding day
    2. Sweets #1 is born
    3. Sweets #2 is born

    Blogging Inspiration | The Good Life said:
    August 18, 2011 at 10:35 am

    […] if any of you have any questions for me? I love getting to know more about bloggers, like my personal questions post, so if there’s anything you’d like to ask me and for me to post about, please […]

Leave a Reply

