A Good, Tasty Weekend

Posted on

Happy Monday everyone! Hope you’re day is getting off to a great start! Today has been a busy one for me…researching and purchasing flights to visit my in-laws in New York at the end of November (yipeee!) and the usual busyness work brings to Monday mornings…I’m not complaining though since that means the day goes by just that much quicker! And I have fun plans for tonight…hubby and I are going out to dinner with his coworker and wife to an amazing sushi restaurant in San Francisco, Ozumo. My sis has been before and said it’s spectacular and the food is off the charts delicious so I can’t wait! I feel like with tonight and the past couple days I’ve had quite the foodie experiences so let’s get right into why I had such a good tasty weekend ๐Ÿ˜‰

Saturday morning started off as usual with my fav spin class and then it was off to lunch with my best buds – my mom and sister! I’m sure it comes as no surprise to you all that we went to our fav restaurant for huge salads and fro yo ๐Ÿ˜‰

Fro Yo Round #1!

….and #2!

Peanut butter frozen yogurt with cheesecake, cookie dough & brownie bites, mini M&M’s, heath bar, butterfinger, and Reese’s pieces

Hubby had to work all weekend so even though he was pretty tired, I encouraged him to get gussied up and look forward to a nice, intimate dinner out to brighten his mood and give him a nice ending to his workday. We’re thankful to live close to our downtown area where there are an assortment of nice restaurants to choose from, so we went to our tried and true fav where we know we’ll always get delicious food and never be disappointed, Kingfish!

There was a wait for a table so we sat at the bar for a bit…fine by me in that it gave us some time to chat and people watch (something I really love to do! ;))

Hubby got a martini and I stuck to diet coke…I was the DD and haven’t been imbibing since our Getting Ready plans. Once we were seated we were greeted with their awesome bread basket. I had about 2 of these…

Starter salad called the Bercier Green Salad – mixed greens tossed in a champagne vinaigrette

Hubby got the Ceasar salad…I stole a few a lot of his croutons too, so good! ๐Ÿ˜‰

And for dinner, I got the Grilled Halibut – crispy brandade fritter, capered heirloom tomato salad, lemon verbena…

And hubby got the Lamb T Bone – confit of green garlic, english peas, roasted onion,
yorkshire pudding, pan drippings

And then…dessert!! My ultimate fav part of restaurant dining, or anytime for that matter ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  Kingfish now has complimentary treats at the end of your meal (a very welcoming and fun surprise!), so we started with that…

And you know this dessert fiend here couldn’t stop at just that and had to order of their dessert menu, so we went with the Summer Berry Cheesecake Napoleon – Strawberries and blackberries, caramelized puff pastry and whipped cream

No words can describe how delicious this was…the cheesecake was silky, creamy and rich, and with the puff pastry that had a crispy, airy texture to it…together it was an outstanding, delicious combination.

All enjoyed with creamy, rich coffee…

A perfect meal, and a perfect date nite with the hubby โค

Sunday was pretty low key, hubby had to work again so I enjoyed lunch with my two favorite people, mom and dad.ย  And then we relaxed at home for the rest of the evening. We had to put off watching the season finale of Food Network star but I was spoiled by the winner by a Food Network post on Facebook! How rude! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Although I really wanted Vic Vegas to win I think he deserved it…I think the Sandwich King will have an awesome show and the concept is like nothing on Food Network right now so I like that it’s original.ย  And I’m sure Vic will get a show like every other runner up…hmmm perhaps a duo with Guy Fieri??!!

Since tonight we’re going out dinner and I know myself all too well to know that I won’t want to have to wake up early tomorrow morning to work out…I flip flopped my rest day to tomorrow and took a spin class today. Glad I did too because the instructor was new to me and he played awesome music ๐Ÿ™‚

After my spin classes I usually always feel like a smoothie so that’s what I went with…

2 cups Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1 frozen banana

1 scoop Vanilla Casein Protein Powder

1 tsp. xanthan gum

Handful of Peanut Butter Puffins mixed in

Alrighty friends gotta run, today is a busy one so I better be off! Hope you all have a wonderful Monday and I’ll be back tomorrow with a recap of tonights delicious eats, can’t wait! ๐Ÿ™‚

Questions: What was the best part of your weekend? What kind of date nights do you enjoy with your S.O?

 

9 thoughts on “A Good, Tasty Weekend

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    August 15, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    My date nights always include a really yummy dinner as the main focus!

    Have fun tonight ๐Ÿ™‚

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    August 15, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    I absolutely love dinner dates! The kind where you actually dress up like its for a special occasion even if its not! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 15, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      Exactly! And that night for us was exactly what you described…nothing better than nights like that ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ann Marie said:
    August 15, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Since I’ve been recovering from my “disordered eating” phase, eating out has been a huge speed bump to get over. So, the hubs and I have committed to eating out (or bringing take out home) once per week and we love to try new places. We have a ton of “farmers market fresh” style restaurants here in Kalamazoo, MI. Wish we had a Kingfish…looks delish! Often I make him choose the location so that I don’t always stick to the “more safe” choice and once I even let him order for me as a challenge to not order a dish and make a hundred “safe” modifications.

    Next step…order dessert…I’m missing out ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I love, love, love Food Network Star (and any other show/mag food related), and have also not had a chance to watch it. I saw it pop up on facebook and quickly tried to scroll away, but couldn’t move the cursor fast enough. Oh well! I am happy with the winner…he was my favorite.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 15, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      Your comment is actually sparking a good blog topic for me! I can totally relate to what you described, I would always order the “safe” meals and would make hundreds of modifications to the dish. Which is understandable for those who have dietary restrictions or who are healthily trying to lose weight, but for you and I it would be for different reasons and those thought processes are hard to overcome. It definitely takes time and baby steps…it first started for me by eliminating the modifications, then trying to eat the whole dish instead of just picking at it, then ordering dessert, etc. How I ordered (and ate!) that night was a huge step for me and it wasn’t always that way for me, so you’re not alone and know that in time it will get better and stay strong about it ๐Ÿ™‚

      And yes, like you said, order the dessert! Life is too short and in time, you will get there without that anxiety, I promise ๐Ÿ™‚

      Haha I tried to scroll away fast too but it was too hard not too notice with his pic there! He was my second fav (liked Vic!) although I really do like his POV and it’ll be cool to have a show dedicated to sandwiches…I’m always trying to think of new ways to make one so I think his show will be interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sherri said:
    August 15, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Best part of the weekend is being with Sweets #1 & #2!

    oneloverun said:
    August 15, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    any date night that involves a delicious bottle of wine and a yummy dessert is a winner in my mind ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

