Blogging Inspiration

Posted on

Hi everyone! Sorry for being MIA yesterday, it was just one of those days I wanted to disconnect from the blog world. And work was busy with my boss’ birthday (cake ensued!) and I just had other things I needed to take care of. I didn’t even comment on any blogs either and just wanted to chill from it all – do you ever have those moments? If there was one piece of advice that I’ve read from numerous bloggers, its that if you have nothing to say, don’t say it all. My hubby gave me the same advice too. I said to him last night, “I didn’t blog today, just wasn’t feelin’ it.” And he said, “Good! Don’t be fake and don’t try to force it.” I really value that advice and stand true it. I never want to feel “forced” with blogging, I want it to always feel natural and write authentically to you all.

Taking a break from blogging got me thinking about inspiration and what inspires posts I want to blog about. If you’ve read most of my blog and posts from the beginning, then I’m sure you gather that I’m an open book and am inspired to talk about my past struggles and issues that I’m currently dealing with. It comes from the hope in helping others out there who are dealing with similar circumstances and to know that they’re not alone. I also like to write about random, fun things such as a weird dream I had (future post!), or sweet ‘n’ savory foods, or gym etiquette, or about my workout buddy. I like having this variety in my blog and it always keeps things interesting and fresh. At times there will be thought-provoking posts that have a more serious tone, such as my About and Getting Ready pages, and some that are fun and lighthearted. In the end, I hope all you readers know that you can come here to expect to read something new everyday and that it will always come from my heart 🙂

Which brings me to my next thought, since you all know I am an open book, I was wondering if any of you have any questions for me? I love getting to know more about bloggers, like my personal questions post, so if there’s anything you’d like to ask me and for me to post about, please leave it in the comments section or shoot me an email at thegoodlives@gmail.com 🙂

Now let’s get to the good stuff – food! I’ve been feeling kinda “off” this week…it could be that my hormones are kicking back in and something could be coming back very soon…if you’re wondering what I’m talking about read here. So food this week hasn’t been very exciting and I’ve just been going with my cravings and what I feel like…nothing annoys me more than eating something that’s not satisfying!

After my bootcamp class yesterday, I felt like something hearty and satisfying so I went with my Elvis inspired breakfast…

Whole Wheat English Muffin with 1 tbsp. Skippy Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter, 1/2 sliced banana, drizzle of honey

I knew after lunch we’d be having cake for my boss’ birthday so I kept it light for lunch…

Iceberg lettuce with sauteed carrots and bell peppers drizzled with homemade Italian balsamic viniagrette

Fage yogurt with Peanut Butter Puffins and 1/2 sliced banana (other half from morning’s breakfast)

No cake pictures since my coworkers don’t know about my blog but it was absolutely delicious. My coworker made it and she said she baked it with me in mind by making it with egg whites! It was a white cake with cheesecake frosting topped with blueberries and raspberries. It was absolutely perfect and delish…I even asked for the recipe so that I could try making it myself and will definitely blog about it for you all to try. I also took a slice home for the hubby and helped him finish off that too 😉  And let me tell you, I was on a definite sugar high after that, whoo weeee! Just ask the hubby, I was literally bumping into things and talking nonstop, ha!

After my copious amounts of cake my appetite for dinner was pretty small, and with sugar rushing through my blood I just felt like a bunch of veggies so a nice big ole salad did the trick…and I believe that when you have veggies it totally equals out the fat and sugar from the cake, right?! 😉

Iceberg lettuce with sauteed carrots and bell peppers, turkey, 1/2 avocado, croutons, and a small side of Mediterranean Orzo Pasta Salad from our grocery deli, so good! Even dipped a couple Trader Joe’s bagel chips into it to make lil orzo bagel sandwiches

For once no dessert after dinner was had for me…wasn’t even feeling it after that cake and later the sugar crash kicked in and I promptly went to bed at 8:30pm…I know I live such a crazy life 😉

Today was a rest day for me and it was nice to get in that extra hour of sleep. Enjoyed some coffee with a new creamer hubby got for us…Bailey’s Irish Cream – without the alcohol of course 😉 So good, you guys gotta try it! And I enjoyed my coffee while catching up with some of my dvr shows…like Best Thing I Ever Ate. Love that show! It was about Food Trucks and if you haven’t watched it yet, you got to. They have some pretty serious yummy food on that episode…like The Salty Pimp ice cream cone, “wow” is all I can say 🙂

The ice cream actually wetted my appetite for a creamy smoothie so that’s what I went with…

Mmmm look at that creaminess…

2 cups Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1/2 frozen banana

A couple pieces of frozen mango chunks

1 scoop Vanilla Casein Protein Powder

1 heaping tsp. xanthan gum

With my rest day, I some had extra time this morning to do laundry and put more effort into my outfit which I like to do to brighten my mood 🙂

There’s sequins on my shirt and my coworker said I was sparkling – that brightened my mood too 🙂

Hope you all have a wonderful day and safe travels to those that are going to Healthy Living Summit this weekend! I’m super jealous and wish I was there to meet all you lovely bloggers and readers…maybe next year?!

Questions:

Bloggers – Where do you find blogging inspiration?

Readers – What types of topics/posts do you like to read about?

Readers & Bloggers – Do you ever feel the need to disconnect from the blogworld?

P.S. Remember to leave a comment or shoot me email if there are any questions you’d like me to touch on and I’ll post about it!

18 thoughts on “Blogging Inspiration

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 18, 2011 at 10:58 am

    LOVE your sparkly tank Shayla! Missed you yesterday but I was actually fairly MIA myself! Work was just crazy busy and I was totally feeling off myself… I was actually a little over emotional in general haha I almost cried after my 4 mile run, and I cried about this silly argument my boyfriend had about cabinets n our kitchen (he had a sense of humour about it all thankfully haha)

    I didn’t have what you mentioned for YEARS…. now that it’s back and regular I feel SO much better… but the first couple months were like an emotional rollercoaster.

    Holy deliciousness! That ‘ice cream’ looks insane…. I have to make it… like seriously I must. I bought some Xanthan gum FINALLY! Sometimes I just put frozen bananas in the food processor for that banana ‘soft serve’ effect but I love your additions!

    I think A LOT… I always have things milling around in my brain I want to discuss… it is hard though… I find the more I think about a post the less I have to say. I have lots of random drafts of thoughts I don’t want to lose I sometimes pull from… that helps when I have a block 🙂 I also take my camera everywhere… you never know what you’ll catch!

    I love to read everyday healthy living blogs such as yours! I also love blogs that focus on running as I am training for a half myself.

    I just could not post yesterday… I had too much to focus on at work so it would have been double stress. I need to find a way to make my blogging schedule easier haha

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 18, 2011 at 11:42 am

      Thank you so much Sarah for the sweet comment! And I missed you too yesterday…see, it must be something in the stars 😉

      It’s nice your boyfriend has a sense of humor with it all….my hubby does the same for me and knows when to steer clear when my hormones are getting the best of me 😉 I have moments too where I just need to let it out, either it be screaming or crying, so good for you for letting that cry out.

      Isn’t weird how our bodies will go months/years without it?! I think I will feel so much better once it’s back and regular, but like you, right now in the beginning I’m feeling like an emotional rollercoaster…glad to know it’s normal and I’m not alone!

      I love the tip you gave of keeping a camera with me…I’m still getting the hang of and habit of taking more pictures. I find that when I have more pictures I have more to talk about and I love having the pictures guide me through my thoughts. And I love your tip about keeping drafts of thoughts to pull from when you’re in a block…I have to remember that. My hubby actually just got me a notebook to jot my blogging thoughts down so I gotta put it to use! I think having that to pull from will keep my moments when I sit down to blog much more efficient and fun!

      I’m still trying to figure out my blogging schedule too…I think right now what’s working for me is right after I eat breakfast – need that food fuel for brain power! 🙂

      Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
      August 18, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      I am so glad I can double comment on both of you at the same time (hehe) because I feel like in reading both of your blogs I can relate to both of you the best out of many of the HL blogs I follow. I am not sure if it is our delicious love of WINE (mmM!) or just in general but I figured I would let you both know!

      And I can majorly relate to having 20 different drafts with random thoughts because I hate to lose those ideas and I am always pulling from them! I keep a list on my iPhone too of ideas for posts! gotta keep it fresh! 😉

        Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
        August 18, 2011 at 4:49 pm

        Thank you so much Andrea, your comment totally made my day. And I’d like to believe it’s definitely our love of wine that brings us together….if only all us bloggers could come together and make one blogging office filled with wine and smoothies all day long….ahhhh a blogger could only dream 😉

        And great tip about jotting down your notes on your phone…the most random blog ideas come to me when I’m out and about so I’ll have to utilize this tip, thanks! 🙂

    Amy said:
    August 18, 2011 at 11:04 am

    You look so beautiful. I loce your shirt and I loved your maxi dress the other day. I enjoy reading about your everyday life, your food and fitness. It gives me inspiration to keep moving forward in my recovery seeing I can eat healthy and workout at a healthy balance.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 18, 2011 at 11:29 am

      Thank you so much Amy, you’re so sweet 🙂

      What you said is exactly what I’m trying to show others and it’s readers like you and these comments that keeps me blogging and inspires me so much. It makes me so happy to have you as a reader and it means the world to me to know that my blog is helping you along in your journey…blogs did that for me too and it makes me feel so good to be on the other side and provide my experiences in the hopes of helping others 🙂

    Kiah said:
    August 18, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Hi–I just stumbled across your blog via the Fitnessista. All your food looks so yummy! But mostly, I liked what you had to say about blogging: it’s okay to take a break and not “force” it. I totally feel ya on that one (even though I just started…I’ve read a lot about blog-burnout 🙂 ). AND, I wish I could go to HLS, too! I’m pretty darn jealous.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 18, 2011 at 11:54 am

      Thank you Kiah! I’ve only been blogging for 2 1/2 months now and already got the blog burnout feeling. Since you’re new to blogging remember that it’s ok to feel that way if you happen to down the road and that you’re not alone in it 🙂

      I know it’s a bummer about HLS, hopefully next year for us?! For now we’ll just have to live vicariously through them 😉

    lapiattini said:
    August 18, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Mmm I miss Puffins. I go through a weird love/hate relationship with them though. I’ll be really excited and eat a bowl and then just get sick of them. Really odd!
    I had a period of time last Fall/Winter where I felt like blogging became forced. I wasn’t enjoying it anymore due to that. I took about a month break. Of course I ended up missing it and when I returned it was to write about what I wanted, not what I thought I should. I love it so much more now!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 18, 2011 at 4:55 pm

      Haha that’s funny…I think my love for puffins will always remain strong…. 😉

      Good for you for taking that break! Just that one day off left me feeling refreshed and excited to blog again. And when I started blogging I told myself to stay authentic and write what *I* want to write, not what every other healthy living blogger is writing or what I *should *be writing…good for you for realizing what you needed to do to keep happy and staying true to yourself! 🙂

    Kristin @ STUFT Mama said:
    August 18, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Oh man, YES. I feel a need to disconnect from the blog world A LOT. I feel like I get too consumed in it every day. I should be doing laundry and instead I’m sitting at the computer. Good for you for taking a day off. Ibet it felt great! 🙂 I need to try those Puffins! 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 18, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      Yes it did feel great! And I totally relate to you with laundry vs. blogging….sometimes I can get all too consumed with it and the hubby is good about keeping me grounded with it all 🙂

      You must try the puffins! So good and I’ve tried all the other flavors, and the peanut butter reigns supreme! Lil crunchy puffs of heaven 🙂

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    August 18, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    You’re so pretty 🙂

    That smoothie in a bow looks so amazing!!!! I love banana and mango combos!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 19, 2011 at 5:33 am

      Girl you’re so sweet, thank you 🙂 xoxo

      This was my second time trying the banana mango combo and I absolutely love it! Really adds such a great flavor to the smoothie. Have you tried xanthan gum yet? If not, get it! It will make your smoothie so ridiculously creamy and thick!

    oneloverun said:
    August 18, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    mmm baileys irish cream creamer … i have some of that in my fridge and I love it! 🙂 i never blog on days that I’m working (like today) it becomes too much and then i never see my hubby because i’m at work until late and then just at home sitting on a computer! i’ll give myself a little time before bed to read some blogs and then call it a night !

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 19, 2011 at 5:31 am

      Good for you for taking a breather on your busy days. I would do the same…it’s hard sometimes to disconnect but like you, I try to remember that what matters most is spending time with those you love (hubby!) and not the computer screen 😉

    Mallory @ It's Only Life After All said:
    August 19, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Adorable outfit!

    I totally know what you mean about “forcing it”. As a newbie blogger, I am still trying to find a balance in blogging, a rhythm, and how often to post. I post 1-2 times/day, but I’m starting my first post-college job soon and I know my schedule will be completely altered then! I post 1-2 times a day now, but it’s only because I really don’t have too many other things going on.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 19, 2011 at 4:52 pm

      Welcome to blogging and thank you for stopping by! I too was trying to find that rhythm and figuring out when and how often to post. I would post more if I had the time, so don’t feel guilty once you get busy and can only post once a day, that’s all I do! And I tried blogging on the weekends, but it cut during my hubby and family time which I didn’t feel was right. Once you get your schedule and figure out what does and doesn’t work, it all starts to fall into place! 🙂

Leave a Reply

