Staying Positive

Posted on

Happy Friday everyone! If you love to follow many healthy living blogs like I do, then I’m sure you’re aware of the Healthy Living Summit that’s currently taking place today. I am super bummed I’m not there and have been living vicariously through all their fun posts, but I’m really going to make plans on saving a little cash so that I can go next year…although maybe I can bypass a plane ticket if it’s held here in CA?! How fun would that be?! I think San Francisco would be a perfect spot for a blogging summit, hint hint πŸ˜‰Β  And I got a great pad for everyone to crash at, heheh πŸ™‚

So I had quite an interesting day yesterday. I’m fortunate enough to live within a couple miles from my work so unless I have other plans for lunch, I always go home on my lunch break and eat there while catching up on my DVR shows and laundry. So as I was driving back to work I suddenly heard this loud noise as if I ran over an animal. But as I continued to drive, I kept hearing a loud clanging noise coming from the back of my car. Freaked out and totally scared out of my mind, I pulled over into a parking lot, got out of the car and walked around to the back to see none other than this in the back of my tire…

That would be a pair of pliers in my tire!! All I could say was “oh my god, oh my god!” I get freaked out over these things very easily, yes I can be dramatic, so once my shock and panic wore off I called work knowing I’d be late. Thankfully my coworker said he could come and help me switch out my tire and put my spare on, so that made me feel better and back in control of everything. We were done in about a half hour and now I got a sweet lil doughnut on my beautiful Ford Mustang…

My poor baby!! 😦

The auto repair shop already said it’s not fixable so I gotta shell out a pretty penny for a new one. Oh well, things could have been much worse and the only thing that matters is that I’m ok. So to everyone out there, please always be careful when driving! I wasn’t even going that fast, about 25-30 mph, and that happened. So please always be cautious of your surroundings, you never know what may instantly happen to you in just a split second!

The rest of the day I was pretty annoyed about what happened, especially since I was being so careful! As I was catching up on blogs I came across a comment that Sarah left on another blog which said β€œEliminate your negative thoughts! Your life will not change until your way of thinking does.” It came at such a perfect time and I needed to read that at that very moment. I felt like that totally spoke to me and told me to snap out of my funk. Like I said earlier, things could have been much worse and it’s just a tire and a lil money to fix the problem…I had to remind myself that it’s not the end of the world.

That quote also got me thinking about staying positive. I always try to remain positive in my life and do things to make me happy. So when something like this happens that turns my mood upside down, it really puts me in a funk and I throw myself a pity party. I have to remember that life comes with the good and bad of things and that I can’t control everything that happens to me, but I can control my way of thinking into a positive one, and that will lead to a positive, good, life! πŸ™‚

Speaking of control, when I didn’t want to face my problems head on (work at the time), I would shove those emotions towards my disordered eating and control the very thing that I had power over, my food and weight. Restricting and seeing the pounds go down was, in a delusional way, a powerful feeling to me. Even though I hated how unhealthy I looked and felt, focusing on calories and losing weight was my way of blocking out unhappy feelings and emotions and it was just a vicious cycle that continued until I couldn’t go any longer.

Now when I’m faced with a problem, like yesterday, I face it head on and deal with it. I don’t hide it with restricting, or with other emotional masks such as over eating or drinking, I sit with the emotions and feel the rawness of it. Now that is empowering! The mind is a powerful thing, and we really do have the power to transition our negative thoughts into positive ones…it takes work, but it’s work I’m willing to proactively do every minute so that I can continue on this journey to live the good life πŸ™‚

Also, if you’re currently struggling with this, know that you’re not alone. It takes work but if I did it and came out pretty good on the other end, you can too. And if you’d like more info on this, I would encourage you to read The Secret. It doesn’t talk about disordered eating per se, but you can relate it to it’s theory in regards to how effective putting positive thoughts and feelings out into the universe will bring great, positive things back into your life. I’m actually going to start reading it again since I think I could always do even better about being positive in my life πŸ™‚

Speaking of positive things in our life, let’s get to food! I didn’t get a picture of yesterday’s lunch, it was a usual avocado and turkey sandwich that I didn’t want to bore you all with another pic of πŸ˜‰

Dinner was another salad…I just love them so much in the summertime!

Chicken, avocado, sauteed carrots and bell peppers, mushrooms, croutons, and drizzled with homemade Italian balsamic vinaigrette

This morning was a workout day for me and the hubby so we got up bright and early at 4:30am…well, not really bright!

Ugh, I hate that we’re back to dark mornings 😦
At least that means fall is almost here which also means…football and pumpkin!! πŸ™‚

In the dark I enjoyed my lovely cup of coffee with our new creamer…thanks hubby!

Once at the gym I did 30 minutes of intervals on the elliptical (30 seconds on, 1 minute off), and 30 minutes of weights and abs.

Breakfast was a new fav of mine…overnight oats!

Mmmm, get in my belly!! πŸ˜‰

And yay for casual Friday at the office! It’s the little things in life… πŸ˜‰

Hope you all are having a fabulous Friday! I think I’ll have time tomorrow to pop in and say hi with a recap of tonight so I’ll see you all then! πŸ™‚

Questions:
1. Do you believe in the power of staying positive and positive thinking?
2. How do you deal with control and unhappy moments in your life?
3. Have you read The Secret?

4. Any fun plans tonight or for the weekend?!

 

20 thoughts on “Staying Positive

    Lauren said:
    August 19, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    I definitely believe in staying positive – if you are a pessimist you will always be able to find something bad. Being an optimist is the only way to be – this really helps me control any unhappy moments in my life.

    I have not read the Secret but I’m definitely going to next time I get a new Kindle book.

    This weekend I intend on relaxing and packing for my trip next week!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 19, 2011 at 3:27 pm

      I love your comment, being optimistic is really great in controlling unhappy moments in your life, that’s exactly what it did for me. And let me know how you like The Secret!

      Oooo have fun on your trip next week! πŸ™‚

    Amy said:
    August 19, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Pumpkin and football 2 of my favorite things. My Steelers won yesterday whoo whoo.
    I do believe in the power of positive thinking, I love the Secret its a great book.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 19, 2011 at 3:23 pm

      I wish we had a great football team to root for! The 49ers aren’t looking too hot this year….oh well, it’s still a good enough reason to tailgate! πŸ˜‰

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    August 19, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    I DO believe in positive thinking. I seriously seriously believe it is. My boyfriend used to be guilty of being a somewhat negative nancy if something was going wrong he would keep thinking about how it could get worse. And i would always tell him to STOP talking like that and in the last year his attitude has changed so much in a good way and he says he feels like his positive thinking and teachin himself to let go of the little insignificant things is the reason!
    And yes my old boss made us all read the Secret. I couldnt get into it at first but I like the overall concept it is presenting, very powerful!

      Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
      August 19, 2011 at 1:08 pm

      Oops I meant to say “I seriously believe it is very important**” I was thinking too fast for what I was trying to type! πŸ™‚ It happens sometimes haha

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 19, 2011 at 3:23 pm

      Love your comment Andrea. That’s awesome you did that for your boyfriend and I’m so happy to hear he’s more positive, I’m sure that makes it easier on your relationship too. Positive thinking and letting go of insignificant things is truly what it’s all about…I couldn’t agree more! πŸ™‚

      I actually couldn’t get into The Secret at first either, but now that I’m in a different place I appreciate the meaning of it so much more and it really is a powerful thing for what it’s done for so many people πŸ™‚

    Kait @ One Love Run said:
    August 19, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Love the idea of a California hls! I vote for san Diego πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 19, 2011 at 3:15 pm

      Oooo I would definitely go for San Diego, let’s make a HLS San Diego petition! πŸ˜‰ And I would love love to go down there again since it holds such a special place in my heart πŸ™‚

    Sherri said:
    August 19, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    To stay positive you have to deal with your negative issues head on.
    “IN ORDER TO HEAL YOU HAVE TO FEEL!”

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 19, 2011 at 3:13 pm

      Love that quote!! That’s exactly how feel about it all πŸ™‚ xoxo

    Kiah said:
    August 19, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Ah car troubles. Both of ours bit the dust this summer. At least it’s only a tire! πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 19, 2011 at 3:12 pm

      Ugh car troubles are the absolute worst…you’re right though in that it’s only a tire! πŸ™‚

    Amy @ ahealthyandhappyheart said:
    August 20, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Positive Thinking changes everything and influences the people around you too πŸ™‚ I am going to check out The Secret…thanks for sharing… sorry to hear about your car..

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 22, 2011 at 3:24 pm

      Thank you Amy! I almost had a breakdown Saturday about it but it’s better today, all thanks to my dad! πŸ™‚

      Love what you said in that positive thinking influences people around you too….I love putting a smile on other people’s faces who may be having a bad day and need a little light in their life…and that in turn makes me happier!

      Let me know how you like The Secret! πŸ™‚

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 20, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    Shayla- I am SO glad that yuo faced this problem head on! It’s so easy to get wrapped up in being overwhelmed, angry, and upset. It’s like a downward spiral once you get going… and you have to catch it before it get’s out of control! The mind is a powerful thing and the way we deal with all our experiences, good and bad is determined my our perception. It seems like you are totally aware that you WANT to stay positive and not fall into that trap of having no control so you create control. Bravo girlfriend! You’re on the right track πŸ™‚

    It’s funny how positive thinking can be so difficult! Wouldn’t you think that we WANT to be positive so it should be easy right? Why is being negative or miserable so easy and why does being positive take that extra step?

    LOVE early morning workouts! I planned a 7.5 mile run for tomorrow morning that I am desperately begging Andrew to run with me… I need him for motivation! hahaha I think I’m in on this one alone and I know I’m going to have to be really strong minded.

    PB Puffins = ❀

    Sorry I am just getting to comment here Saturday night! This weekend is flying by! I need it to be longer… haha I think we could ALL use a nice long weekend πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 22, 2011 at 3:19 pm

      Your comment made me so happy Sarah, thank you πŸ™‚

      I love what you said about how I’m aware in that I want to stay positive so I create healthy control in order to not get out of control….that’s exactly what I’m trying to do. And it’s so true about how you said that it’s so easy to fall into a negative place, and staying positive is having to take that extra step….human nature really is so complex!

      And I bet you rocked your 7.5 miler! I need to read all about it in your post! I’m behind in my blog reading…Monday’s are always a hectic one!! πŸ™‚

        sarahsmodernbites said:
        August 22, 2011 at 7:42 pm

        Monday WAS hectic! Actually, ALL of August has been CRAZY! I hope it starts winding down for us SOON πŸ™‚

        Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
        August 23, 2011 at 4:00 pm

        Omg I hope so too! If the weeks and months keep going like this New Year’s Eve will be here before we know it, ha! πŸ˜‰

    Sunday Traditions | The Good Life said:
    August 22, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time Skip to content HomeAboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJune 24 – July 3July 6 – 10July 11 – 17July 19 – 24July 25 – 31August 6 – 14August 15 – 21FitnessGetting ready…Wedding ← Staying Positive […]

Leave a Reply

