Sunday Traditions

Posted on

Hello everyone and happy Monday! It’s a gloomy one here and I can’t believe we’re one week away from September?! Seriously, where did the summer go?! Although I do really love summer for it’s warm weather and weekends full of BBQing, I have to say I’m very fond of fall as well and September is by far my most favorite month out of the year. It represents many wonderful memories…such as our dating and wedding anniversaries (I planned our wedding date to be right around our dating anniversary ;)), and it’s the start of a family tradition that I get super excited for every year – football!!!

As a kid, I have the most special, heartfelt memories of Sunday football. Every Sunday morning I’d wake up to the delicious smell of pancakes wafting throughout our home, and our whole family would gather around the table in our PJ’s to eat pancake after pancake (dollar sized and plain I might add – just the way I liked them)! Then once sufficiently stuffed my dad and I would relax on the couch starting with Fox NFL with Howie Long and Terry Bradshaw, and then football fun while rooting for the 49er’s. I’ll never forget those Sunday’s with my family – they were the best ever and I can’t wait to recreate those kinds of memories with our children. There’s nothing I’d love more than to bring soon-to-be bambino/a over to grandma and grandpa’s for our Sunday tradition of pancake breakfast and football and to relive those wonderful memories all over again…I’m so ready for that next chapter in our lives and I can’t wait to make memories and Sunday traditions for our children like my parents did for me ๐Ÿ™‚

****

So let’s get into our eats from the weekend starting with Friday night…

Due to my tire debacle from Thursday, hubby was awarded “Husband of the Year” by getting perfectly juicy New York strips for us to grill up…along with some cucumber salad and potato salads…

Look at that medium rareness…perfection!

In the background of the above photo you can see we enjoyed some Trader Joe’s pita chips along with dinner…if you haven’t tried these yet you gotta, super good!

And hubby was in heaven with his steak and glass of red wine…a perfect pairing indeed…

All enjoyed with some Dave Matthew’s Band entertainment…

And then the best part…hubby’s “Husband of the Year Award” was magnified by 10 once this was brought out to me…

Yes pleaseeeee! ๐Ÿ™‚

I couldn’t contain myself and started digging right in to the apple pie with a side of white peaches…but being the good hubby that he is he instantly proclaimed, “get a pic for the blog!” What would I do without him?! ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  And I don’t know why but lately I’ve been in the very bad habit of not capturing my meals and realizing it after I ate it! Still trying to get better at this whole blogging, picture taking thing ๐Ÿ˜‰

Saturday I took the day off from the blog world and didn’t snap any pics. However it was a fun day that ended with the hubby and I enjoying pizza and salads with my parents at their home. And my dad was given “Dad of the Year Award” for saving me from paying an extra $225 to fix my tire debacle…let’s just say that mechanics like to take advantage of us girly girls and will get charged a ridiculous amount of money for not knowing any better…thanks again dad!!

****

Ever since I moved out of my parents home to live with my then boyfriend now husband, Sunday’s have had a different kind tradition in the sense of it revolving around a mix of errands and relaxation, a more “grown up” traditional Sunday so to speak. But yesterday involved a trip to the beautiful, foggy, quaint, beachy town of Half Moon Bay – everything about it was perfect and this is a tradition I would like for us to keep for future Sunday’s – a tradition that will keep evolving as our family grows… ๐Ÿ™‚

First, a Sunday tradition we’ve been keeping for quite awhile now which begins with a breakfast from Starbuck’s…we always like to get a different variety of goodies…

Coffee with Reduced-fat Cinnamon Coffee Cake, Reduced-fat turkey bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich, and the Santa Fe spinach and egg wrap…with a side of the Sunday paper and my hubby’s toes ๐Ÿ˜‰

With full bellies we headed to the gym to complete our respective workouts, showered and got dressed there, and then headed out west to the beach for lunch at the Half Moon Bay Brewing Company

(source)

To start we got the Artichoke Hearts – Artichoke hearts are battered with our Mavericksยฎ Amber Ale and then fried. Served with bleu cheese dressing for dipping...

Ah.ma.zing. The batter was slightly sweet and the crispy texture was perfect with the warm, creamy artichoke hearts

And the Yucatan Ceviche – Fresh fish, Bay shrimp, Habanero peppers, lime juice, cilantro and other Yucatan inspired seasonings. Served with fresh housemade tortilla chips…

Absolutely delicious…and why I love raw fish like this and not salmon is beyond me, but ceviche does not taste the slightest fishy to me…so if someone can figure out how to make salmon not taste fishy, please let me know your secret! ๐Ÿ˜‰

And for my entree I got the Pear Salad – Radicchio, spring mix, endive, candied walnuts and pecans, roasted pear, dried cranberries and bleu cheese with raspberry vinaigrette…

(source)

(source)

Yes bad blogger here and didn’t snap photos of our entrees, another moment in which I realized it after we ate it…but you get the idea ๐Ÿ˜‰

We were very satisfied with our meals and everything was absolutely perfect…and we couldn’t stop talking about how fun it will be when we have soon-to-be bambino/a joining us for car trips and picnics to the beach ๐Ÿ™‚

We were then pondering what to do next and with it being gloomy and overcast outside, we thought coffee sounded perfect to warm us up! So we drove to Main Street which has the cutest lil downtown area and this awesome mural…

Once to the coffee shop we each got cappuccino’s. Perfectly creamy, rich, and strong…

We drove back home and finished off the day with a trip to Safeway to stock up our fridge for the week and then crashed at home. Since we were both pretty full and satisfied from our lunch, we had a light dinner of crackers, Trader Joe’s Honey Goat Cheese (so.good.), and veggies with hummus, all while watching Limitless. Which was pretty good and a definite must see if you haven’t yet…I especially enjoyed it since I got to look at hubby’s twin for 2 hours ๐Ÿ˜‰

After the movie we crashed hard and got in a good amount of sleep to start the week off on the right foot! We each took a rest day from the gym and got in a good extra hour of sleep…it was glorious ๐Ÿ™‚

With the weather still being gloomy and cold I thought a nice, warm bowl of creamy oats sounded perfect…

This here is a 1/2 cup of oats, sliced banana, and 2 tbsp. PB2…a lil messy since it exploded in the microwave, hate it when that happens!

I hope everyone is having a great Monday so far and a great start to the week!

Questions: Do you have any Sunday traditions? Anything fun happen over the weekend?!

17 thoughts on “Sunday Traditions

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    August 22, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Wow that is so crazy because football is a very fond memory of my childhood too! I remember having football themed bday parties because my bday is Feb 1st which a lot of times would fall on superbowl weekend but monday nights (when it was still monday night football) after school was always a blast and so relaxing even when I was like 10! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 22, 2011 at 3:11 pm

      That’s so awesome your birthday sometimes falls on superbowl!! I would love that!

      Football memories are the best…and I like to think that all our football traditions prepared us in making us better girlfriends or wives ๐Ÿ˜‰

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 22, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I am so glad that tire situation turned right around for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    That steak was cooked perfectly! The only cut of beef I can ever manage to NOT over cook is filet…. I love my meat medium rare to rare… I even managed to over cook hamburgers a couple weeks ago! The worst.

    Beer battered artichoke hearts??? Yum!

    I love Sundays ๐Ÿ™‚ If we aren’t committed to something and have the day free, Andrew and I go out to breakfast. We always go to this one amazing place near our apartment.. we keep saying we will try something new but it is just sooo good. Every time we go some place new and just cannot compare to our fave ๐Ÿ™‚

    We usually go for a run together, grocery shop, check off a few errands and RELAX. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 22, 2011 at 3:08 pm

      Thank you Sarah! Nothing worse than car problems…and thank god for dad’s – they’re always good at helping us girls with that kinda stuff ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Hubby will be happy to hear you think the steak was cooked perfectly…in fact he was very proud of himself that night and kept oooing and ahhhhing over it, it was pretty cute ๐Ÿ™‚

      Ooooo I love going out to breakfast on Sunday’s, they’re the best! We have our moments too where we always say we’ll go somewhere new but never do because we want to go with where we’ll know we’ll be happy…why mess up a good thing, right?!

      And like you I love those kinda Sunday’s to workout, grocery shop, and go errand running! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Amy@ahealthyandhappyheart said:
    August 22, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    We are football fanatics here! Actually our whole weekends in the fall are dedicated to football… Friday..our local high school, Saturday, college football, and Sunday..the NFL! But I love it! Have you tried Trader Joes Reduced Guilt Pita Chips… YUM… paired with their hummus…double YUM! Since I am new to the whole blog thing… I also forget to snap pictures too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 23, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      That’s awesome you get to make an entire weekend out of football! We love watching college football too…I got into that once I met the hubby and I really love watching them play – they play with such heart and soul ๐Ÿ™‚

      Omg yes, TJ’s hummus and the pita chips together = heaven!

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one who forgets to snap pictures! It’s such a hard habit to really get into! I’m sure we’ll eventually get it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    oneloverun said:
    August 22, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Half moon bay is on my list of places I must visit in ca! I love just enjoying lazy Sunday’s at home without any pressure to do anything at all!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 23, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      Lazy Sunday’s are the best!

      That makes me so happy to hear Half Moon Bay is on your must visit place! You’ll absolutely love it…and if you have time stop by Santa Cruz – it’s about an hour south of HMB and it’s such a cute/hippy town and the boardwalk and beach there are so much fun. Another fun town by there is Capitola – has a cute lil downtown area with cute shops and restaurants! ๐Ÿ™‚

    katie said:
    August 23, 2011 at 1:26 am

    I love your Sunday football tradition! Honestly, Sunday football is the only thing that gets me through a Wisconsin winter. I love having family and friends over and making food and relaxing. Definitely a favorite time of year ! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 23, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      Love it! You’re football get together’s sound like my kind of party ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Maria@healthydiaries said:
    August 23, 2011 at 5:57 am

    I love fall and September too and I also got married in September (09/19/09)! I just came across your blog from a comment you left on Laury;s blog. Looks like we have a lot in common so I can’t wait to continue to read your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 23, 2011 at 3:51 pm

      19 is my favorite number and that’s the date I originally wanted to get married on ( we definitely then have a lot in common ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). So instead we went with the date that was our dating anniversary – I guess either way it worked out! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks so much Maria for stopping by and for your readership, I appreciate it so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sherri said:
    August 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Ahhhhhh! You have me teary now, they were wonderful Sundays!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 25, 2011 at 11:20 am

      The best ever and I’ll always remember them….I can’t wait to do them again with our children and you get to relive it with your grandbabies ๐Ÿ™‚ xoxo

    Soaking Up The End of Summer | The Good Life said:
    August 30, 2011 at 11:56 am

    […] It was truly a wonderful weekend and I’m so happy we got to soak up every last bit of summer with a summer inspired weekend. And though that season is coming to a close, I especially can’t wait for all that fall brings, especially as you all know for me and my family, that means lotsa Sunday Funday Football! […]

    Happy September!…And New Goals | The Good Life said:
    September 1, 2011 at 9:07 am

    […] and opportunities. When I think of fall it brings a feeling of nostalgia for football and Sunday traditions, fall fashion (my fav!) filled with scarves, boots, and sweater dresses, celebrating the […]

    Weekend Recap | The Good Life said:
    September 12, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    […] next morning was special since I got to relive one of my most favorite childhood memories – Sunday Football with my dad and mom! It was a perfect weekend spent with my family and kept my mind preoccupied […]

Leave a Reply

