So thankful…

Posted on

Hi everyone! I loved hearing from all you lovely ladies that football was/is a tradition of yours as well! I’d like to think that just makes us even more fabulous for our boyfriends or husbands…and our dad’s certainly taught us right πŸ˜‰Β  Speaking of dad’s, mine win’s “Dad of the Year Award #2!” for helping me with my bum tire and fixing the whole thing for only $200! Sweet! No matter how old I get and am a married woman, I’ll always need my dad and I’m so thankful for himΒ to help me pick up the pieces and I’ll always be his little girl…love ya dad ❀

That’s my dad’s “I know best” look πŸ˜‰

My dad coming to my rescue (as always ;)) and for being so thankful for him in my life and for all he’s done for me and my family, got me thinking about everything else I’m thankful for in my life…like family and how special and important they are to me…

Like my mom who’s always there for me and who I can go to for advice, support, friendship, laughter, and tears…

And my sis who I can count on as my best friend who will always be there for me through thick and thin…

And for the most amazing husband who’s my partner, lover, and best friend for life…

Not only is family the most important thing in my life…but I’m also thankful for my health and being able to move my body physically and the ability to perform workouts I love so much, like spinning…especially when the instructor plays awesome music and that makes me thankful for the ability to hear this beautiful song…

And thankful for sense of taste to be able to enjoy this delightful package that arrived at work for me today…

Yes pleaseeeee!! πŸ˜‰

And since I love to talk about food…so very thankful for Trader Joe’s and all the amazing, delicious goodies I find there…

One word – ah.ma.zing

4 avocados for $4.99 – yes please! πŸ™‚

All incorporated into a delicious salad…

The best bites were the ones with goat cheese, avocado, and a crouton…heaven

And so thankful for xanthan gum…have you ever seen a smoothie texture like this before?! I didn’t think so… πŸ˜‰

1 1/2 cups non-fat milk, 1 frozen banana, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1 tsp. xanthan gum

And so thankful I found these pants deep in my closet…comfy, flowy, and perfect for this summer day πŸ™‚

So thankful for everything in my life, and I hope you find time today to find just one thing that you’re thankful for, it’ll sure to put a smile on your face πŸ™‚

Questions:
What are you thankful for today?
Are you still your dad’s (or mom’s/grandpa’s/grandma’s) little girl?
Have you ever tried goat cheese?

19 thoughts on “So thankful…

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    August 23, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    All those wedding photos are so so lovely!

    I am probably more of a mama’s girl πŸ™‚

    Amy said:
    August 23, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Your wedding dress and pics are absolutely beautiful. Yopu look gorgeous as always.
    I’m thankful for getting to spend the day with my hubby unexpectadly.
    I’m thankful for almond butter and oatmeal(my fav breakfast), I’m also thankful for everyday I wake up, another day to spend with my hubby and my family.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 23, 2011 at 4:10 pm

      Thank you so much Amy, you’re so sweet ❀

      Your last sentence got me quite emotional…I'm so happy for you and you're so lucky to have such a wonderful, supportive hubby and family πŸ™‚

    Katie said:
    August 23, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Beautiful wedding pictures!

    I’m so thankful to be at home with my little gal instead of at work all day. An enormous blessing in my life.

    I’m such a daddy’s girl.

    I love goat cheese! It’s really the only cheese I like. πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 23, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      Thank you Katie and thank you for stopping by!

      And I can’t ever remember trying goat cheese in the past (I’m sure I have?), but that was my first time buying it and I am in love…I’d say it’s the only cheese I like now too!

      And you’re so lucky to be able to be with your precious daughter all day – a definite blessing πŸ™‚

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 23, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    Great post Shayla!

    I really struggled today with how my left leg has greatly started to suffer through all my long runs. I have been running long distances through the pain because the rest of me felt great. I neglected a part of myself that needed attention and now I am paying for it because I can’t run at all… not even through the pain 😦 I have been so grateful for having my health and strength and thus the ability to run and cherished that because of how it makes me feel… running is a huge stress reliever for me and I have really been relying on it.

    When I couldn’t run today I got extremely mad at myself… something I was grateful for being able to do was ‘taken away’ from me… but really I was the one who didn’t take care of something I cherish and am grateful for.

    I am SO grateful for my Dad and Sister as well! I don’t know what I would do without them πŸ˜€ Your post and my negative experience today…. not caring for something I was grateful for, made me reflect about how it is so important never to take anything we love and are grateful for, for granted!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 23, 2011 at 4:05 pm

      Thank you Sarah!! ❀

      I'm so sorry to hear about your leg…I can only imagine how hard it would be on me if I were to get injured and would have to stop spinning. Though it's very hard on you right now, I commend you so much on your positive outlook and your attitude is very inspiring through all this. And I'm happy to hear my post came at the right time for you….looks like those stars were aligned for us again πŸ˜‰ And I love and stand by your last sentence, I too always try to remember to never take anything for granted since you'll never know when it may be gone from you…

    Amy@ahealthyandhappyheart said:
    August 23, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    I totally teared up as I read your post… I am SO a daddy’s girl..but I live 6 hours away so I miss them so much! I love goat cheese! Bahama Breeze has an AMAZING appetizer..Creole Baked Goat Cheese in roasted peppers..so good πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 24, 2011 at 11:22 am

      Awww thank you Amy, I definitely teared up while writing it! πŸ™‚

      Being a daddy’s *and *mama’s girl I couldn’t live more than an hour from them so I can imagine how hard it must be for you!

      I would die to try that goat cheese appetizer, sounds amazing!! πŸ™‚

    oneloverun said:
    August 23, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    ohh chandon my favorite!! their champagnery was the highlight of my first trip to Napa.

    I’m thankful I get to see my family in two days! living on opposite coasts makes visiting a challenge sometime!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 24, 2011 at 11:19 am

      Omg their winery was my absolute fav in Napa – a definite highlight for me too!

      I know what you mean about living on opposite coasts…my husband’s family lives on the east coast so it makes seeing them often a challenge, but thankfully we get to visit them this November! Have fun with your family and cherish those moments with them πŸ™‚

    Kristin @ STUFT Mama said:
    August 24, 2011 at 1:06 am

    Oh my goodness. Beautiful wedding pictures! πŸ™‚ Amazing! I’m a little jealous of your box of treats. πŸ™‚ And your salad looks delicious! Yum! Soo many things to be thankful for. Right now though I’m especially thankful that I get to spend every day with my boys while all my former coworkers go back to work. I am one lucky gal. πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 24, 2011 at 11:17 am

      Thank you Kristin!

      And you’re so lucky to be able to stay at home with your special boys…I would be so thankful for that too πŸ™‚

    Shannon said:
    August 24, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Awww sissy I love the pics and what you wrote! So sweet! I am especially grateful for my wonderful family and fabulous sistert! She is beautiful, smart, inspiring and my best friend. I am thankful that she is always there for me and that she agrees with me when people are behaving badly!! (Wink wink). Love you so much and can’t wait to see you on Sat! By the way would you be grateful enough to share some of that yummy champy with your bestest sissy and friend?! Xoxo

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 24, 2011 at 11:16 am

      Heehee definitely there for you always when certain peeps are behaving badly!! (double wink wink!!)

      Love you so much lovey…you’re always inspiring me and I couldn’t have asked for a better friend and sissy!

      Can’t wait for Saturday too and you bet that special treat will be shared with you…there’s no one else I’d rather share it with! Cheers to the champy sissy’s! πŸ™‚ xoxo

    Sherri said:
    August 24, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    I am sooo thankful to be here and still be a part of my babies lives, see their beautiful smiles and share their journey!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 25, 2011 at 11:19 am

      You’re going to make me cry!! In fact I am right now… πŸ™‚

      I love you more than words can decribe and I’m so thankful for everything you just said….xoxoxoxo

    Katie said:
    August 25, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I’m probably going to have to get some of that goat cheese… I always joke that it’s my favorite food group! Can’t live without it…. πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 25, 2011 at 11:16 am

      Omg yes you have to try it! I always had trouble finding a favorite cheese, but my goodness I think I definitely found it. I was just telling the hubby last night that I could seriously eat this honey goat cheese morning, noon, and night! Ha! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

