Idiosyncrasies

Posted on

Hello everyone! Sorry I was MIA yesterday…it was a busy one here at work and I couldn’t devote enough time to a quality post…I never want to half-a$$ my posts here and I’ve come to realize that I really just love to go with the flow in blogging. When I want to blog I will, and when I don’t I won’t, it’s that simple πŸ™‚

First I want to say how much I loved reading all your comments in regards to Tuesday’s post about being thankful. To sum it up, we really can find just one thing to be thankful for and that’s the amazing thing about life. Sure there are ups and downs in our days and the everday stresses that come with life, but in the end we have to remember how short life is and to enjoy every moment of it. It’s sometimes hard to keep that perspective, but when you’re down or things just aren’t going right in your life, always remember what you have to be thankful for πŸ™‚

*****

On this blog I like to talk about an array of different things – some topics are serious, some are funny and lighthearted, and some are emotional and personal. Today as I was getting ready for work I realized I follow a particular order in my routine and it actually made me wonder if others follow suit while getting ready? So I thought it would be fun to talk about my behind-the-scenes habits and idiosyncrasies that are hidden behind this blog…I like to think these quirks are what keep me not so normal and real, which to the hubby (among many other things, heehee) is what attracted him to me πŸ˜‰

  1. I wash my hair every other day and never fully take my eye makeup off, I always leave a fine line of eyeliner on…is that gross?
  2. I have to brush my teeth before getting into the shower – the thought of a dirty mouth while cleaning the rest of myself grosses me out – ugh!
  3. I have to brush my hair before getting into the shower – I can’t stand washing already tangled hair!
  4. I absolutely can’t stand water in my eyes so when I’m in the shower I have to keep a towel nearby – so yes, that means when I swim I have to wear goggles.
  5. In the shower, I first wash my face, then my hair, then my body, then shave if needed.
  6. I always need two towels when showering – one for my body and one for my hair.
  7. I sometimes wish I were the type that put on a silky, pretty robe once out of the shower but no, instead I immediately put on my outfit. And always always, I put my left leg first into my pants – maybe that’s because I’m left handed?!
  8. I keep my hair wrapped up in my towel while I put my makeup on, and that has an order too. First concealer, then eyeliner, then eyeshadow, mascara, bronzer, blush, and lastly curl my lashes…it’s been done in that exact order for years.
  9. When curling my lashes I blast a shot of hot hair onto the curler, it’s like an instant hot curling iron for your lashes! Has anyone does this before? It works so well at keeping your lashes curled, but be careful not to burn your eyelid, I’ve done that a few times πŸ˜‰
  10. Once makeup is done I blow dry and style my hair – and I absolutely cannot stand hair on the floor (and in the shower – it gives me the eejie beejies), so I clean up the floor once I’m done styling my hair.

So that’s a lil behind-the-scenes look of this blogger here…maybe I can make this a series so that you can learn a lil more about me each time…because trust me, I got a whole lot more πŸ˜‰

My food hasn’t been too exciting this week…breakfast has been my usual smoothies and lunch has been my yogurt and salad combos…but dinner last night was a winner! Another salad, just a tad different…but first it started with a lil snacking…

Best.Snack.Ever

With my salad I decided instead of turkey as my protein base I would instead make an egg sammy – I can’t use whole eggs because of my cholesterol so only the whites were used…

Iceberg lettuce with sauteed carrots and bell peppers, 1/2 avocado, crumbled honey goat cheese. Paired with an egg sammy on a sandwich thin, and a couple bagel chips.

Dessert was provided by my lovely big sis who knows I love all things chocolate and stocked me up with a huge bag of Adora Disks!! I don’t think there’s any better way to get your daily dose of calcium in πŸ˜‰

…especially when dipped in crunchy pb πŸ˜‰

…and enjoyed with a handful of puffins…

Delish! πŸ™‚

Today was a rest day for me so after my idiosyncratic routine, I made none other than a smoothie bowl!

Smoothie Station…

Instead of using protein powder as my protein source, I instead went with this 2% Strawberry Banana Greek yogurt…however, my only complaint about this flavored yogurt is that the sugar content is pretty high (17 grams!) but it really is delicious! πŸ™‚

Final product…

Berrylicious! πŸ™‚

It was one of those mornings where I wanted to wear something to brighten my mood so I pulled out a pair of skinny jeans that I forgot about and have had for years and paired them with a bright fun top!

Skinny Jeans: Antik Denim
Top: Zara
Shoes: Nine West Pumps

Hope you all are having a great day so far and I’ll see you all tomorrow for TGIF! Yipeee!

Questions: Do you have any idiosyncrasies? Do you follow a particular routine when getting ready in the morning?

10 thoughts on “Idiosyncrasies

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    August 25, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Okay, your #s 1, 3, and 6 i totally relate to all!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 25, 2011 at 11:53 am

      Haha that’s so awesome! I’m so happy to hear I’m not the only one with those, love it! πŸ˜‰

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 25, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    When I first scrolled down your post I thight that you had made a goat cheese ‘sandwich’ with those Milton’;s crackers! hahah And I was like, huh… what a fun idea! Your salad looks delish πŸ˜€

    I totally have a morning routine… and if Andrew gets in the way for some weird reason (almost never happens because we have our sched/routine down PAT) I borderline freak out!

    I HAVE to brush my teeth before I get in the shower too! so weird haha

    I always put my moisturizer on my face immediately when I get out of the shower before I touch anything else… I feel like once I touch my hair brush or anything I will need to wash my hand again to put moisturizer on my face. Can we say.. OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE?? Crazy…

    Absolutely love your outfit! You must get so many compliments at work! I work alone… and still put in the effort but sometimes I wish I had people to dress up for πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 26, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      Haha omg that made me laugh out loud…could you imagine a sandwich thick like that with all that goat cheese?! Yes pleaseeee!

      Yes I totally freak out too if the hubby gets in the way….he knows by now to stay away!

      And I am totally with you on the whole needing to wash your hands before putting on moisturizer!! And yes, I way OCD too πŸ˜‰

      Thank you so much for the sweet compliment girl…thankfully I have one girl here who is younger than me (23) and we get to talk fashion all day πŸ™‚

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    August 25, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    Haha, cute post! I know I definitely have my quirks as well. In the AM, I’m a shower, then lotion up whole body, then put on makeup (curl lashes, eyeliner, mascara), then put on clothes, then feed the pets, turn on the coffee maker, then dry hair, then put on face lotion and maybe a little blush and lip gloss.

    Mary @ Bites and Bliss said:
    August 25, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    Omg, those crackers! I used to go through an entire box of them when I was younger. They weren;t that brand..but the same type and came in a blue box. So good!!

    Amy@ahealthyandhappyheart said:
    August 26, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    i have a morning routine as well… and if something comes up that messes up my schedule, I kinda just walk around confused. Creatures of habit I guess πŸ™‚ My roommate in college taught me the trick to heat your eye lash curler..love it!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 29, 2011 at 10:41 am

      I am such a creature of habit too!

      Isn’t that eye lash curler trick awesome! Love it too! πŸ™‚

    16 Weird Facts About…Me! | The Good Life said:
    August 29, 2011 at 9:31 am

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time Skip to content Home16 Weird Facts About…Me!AboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJune 24 – July 3July 6 – 10July 11 – 17July 19 – 24July 25 – 31August 6 – 14August 15 – 21FitnessGetting ready…Wedding ← Idiosyncrasies […]

Leave a Reply

