16 Weird Facts About…Me!

Posted on

**Edited to Add – This post was supposed to publish Friday but somehow it didn’t?! So here it is and I’ll post my weekend recap tomorrow! 🙂

Happy TGIF!! Hope your day is going swimmingly well so far! I work in a recruiting firm and somehow all the recruiters at once decided to take the day off so it’s feeling a lil like a ghost town in here today…

Hi Everyone!! 🙂

And lucky me the boss decided that we should have some fun since everyone else was off enjoying their day…so he took me and our intern here out to lunch – sweet! We went to Waterfront Pizza – a Mediterranean/Pizza restaurant here in Foster City that’s right by the water and we were able to enjoy our lunch outside. It was such a nice way to break up the work day and celebrate the end of the work week. And as I’ve said before to you all, my coworkers are still unaware of my blog so I didn’t snap any photos, but I can show you some pics of the place that I got from Yelp

This is inside the restaurant…

And this is the beautiful view we get to enjoy while eating outside

For lunch I got the Greek Salad with Chicken which came with iceberg lettuce, olives, tomatoes, and feta cheese. It was delish and the chicken was perfectly grilled and seasoned – I gobbled the whole thing right up! 🙂

So yesterday you all got to know a lil more about me with my idiosyncrasies post, and today you have the pleasure of getting to know more about this blogger here. The lovely Andrea from Andrea Out Loud tagged me in a fun “16 Weird Facts” survey and I’m so thrilled she tagged me since I love answering these types of questions. I always love to know more about the person behind their blog so I find a lot of joy in giving all you readers some more interesting facts about moi! So without further ado, here we go….!

#1. What’s a nickname only your family calls you? I love this question because I have a pretty funny story. It all begins with the movie The Muppets Take Manhattan – do any of you remember that movie?! OMG the best! So watch this video and then you’ll know what I’m talking about…especially pay attention at 0:34!

So, the part where the dogs go “haha lil pinky pooter, has a smooshy bottom!” Well, I can’t remember how this came about, but while my family and I were watching that part we could not stop laughing, it tickled us all so much so that I started calling my sister “pinky” and I got the nickname “pooter!” I still get called it to this day and though when I was younger I was horribly embarrassed by it, I now just really love it because it reminds me of that moment being with my family and all laughing together 🙂

#2. What’s a weird habit of yours? I always play with my hair – and weirdly enough I only do it with the lil hairs by my neck. I remember it started in high school while I was studying and from then on I haven’t been able to break the habit. It drives my family nuts, but they at least know my mood based on that habit – and it’s a “don’t bother me I’m thinking” mood 😉

#3. Do you have any weird phobias? Yes! I kinda glossed over this yesterday in my idiosyncrasies post…I absolutely cannot stand hair that is anywhere but attached to someone. If it’s on the floor, in the bathroom sink, shower, you name it, I have an instant gag reflex. I don’t know why but it grosses me out…which is why we have a cleaner and it’s the best monthly expense ever 🙂

#4. What’s a song you secretly love to blast and belt out when you’re alone? Basically anything Britney Spears…love the girl ❤

#5. What’s one of your biggest pet peeves? Bad drivers!! Especially those who are tailgaters and those who cut me off and are basically all around pushy on the road. I just want to tell them to calm down!

#6. What’s one of your nervous habits? See #2! Only magnified by 10 🙂

#7. What side of the bed do you sleep on? When I’m by myself it’s always furthest from the door, and if I’m with the hubby it’s always on the right side.

#8. What was your first stuffed animal and it’s name? It was a white curly dog (but it didn’t really look like a dog, kinda a cross between a bunny and a dog) and the tail was a little jingle ball with a red tie around it’s neck. I don’t think I even had a name for it?! Mom, help me out! However my other prized possession was my “blankey” and I carried that everywhere with me!

#9. What’s the drink you always order at Starbucks? Tall Vanilla Skinny Latte, my fav! And I always spoon the foam off and eat that first 😉

#10. What’s a beauty rule you preach, but never actually practice? I don’t really preach any beauty rules, but I do know how important it is to put sunscreen on everyday and I never do…whoops!

#11. Which way do you face in the shower? Always away from the shower so it hits my back. Like Andrea, I hate hate water on my face and in my eyes so I always have a towel nearby to wipe my eyes…I prefaced this too in my idiosyncrasies post!

#12. Do you have any ‘weird’ body ‘skills’? Hmmmm not really…although I can shake by booty pretty fast and drop it like it’s hot 😉

#13. What’s your favorite comfort food thats ‘bad’ but you love to eat it anyways? I don’t like to label any food as “bad” but a comfort food I do love to eat and try not to all the time to keep my waistline in check are any all desserts. Cheesecake, cake, apple crisp, ice cream, you name it. I’m a sweets-aholic and have no shame.

#14. What’s a phrase or exclamation you always say? I remember when I was in high school I’d always say “hella”…ugh the thought of that makes me cringe. Nowadays I’m not so sure…but I admit I do have the habit of writing ‘omg’ and ‘lol’ a lot in my IM messages to my friends.

#15. Time to sleep, what are you actually wearing? Wish this were more interesting but sadly I never got on the sexy Victoria Secret lingerie train…sorry hubby! I just wear a t-shirt I got from a 5k I ran with my hubby last year, and pink plaid flannel boxer shorts from Victoria Secret…hey at least I’m wearing something from VS 😉

#16. What did you used to wear that you thought was cool but now you realize it wasn’t that hot? Like Andrea, I used to be all about the velour and overalls. I also had a tomboy phase in middle school where I wore baggy black jeans with t-shirts like Stussy, Mossimo, and No Fear. Remember those?! I thought I was so cool…and my mom was very worried for me, lol!

That was fun! Thanks Andrea for such a fun survey, I hope you all enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it! Hope you all have a fabulous Friday and great start to the weekend…and here’s a video my coworker sent me of the most adorable puppy…and it’s the kind of dog hubby and I want to get! 🙂

Questions: Answer any of the above, I’d love to know more about you! Any fun plans for the weekend?!

6 thoughts on “16 Weird Facts About…Me!

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    August 29, 2011 at 10:24 am

    Yay Im so glad you reposted and I was already laughing after #1 with the muppet video! hahaha! too funny. And I too love Britney! And that puppy is so frickin cute

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 29, 2011 at 10:40 am

      Thank you so much again Andrea for tagging me, it was so much fun! 🙂

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 29, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    I am SO SO SO with you on #3!!!! The sight of hair anywhere, especially in the bathroom, or in/near drains…makes me want to gag!! YUCK ugh I cannot even think of it. I wipe down the bathroom sink and swifter it ALL the time haha

    LOVE that bulldog puppy! I had a pug for 8 months and had to give him up to a cousin a few months ago who has SO much more time for him. I miss the little bugger… he was my companion! SO glad he is loved and still in the family. I got to visit him a few weeks ago! He looked so happy 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 29, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      Haha omg I love the swiffer too for that very reason! I am the exact same with the bathroom sink too, I always wipe/wash it down – I hate seeing hair stragglers in there – ugh!!

      My sister had to do that with a kitten of hers…she gave it to our parents who were able to devote more time to her. We still get to see her all the time and she’s very happy. I’m happy to hear your pup is doing well and that’s so nice you got to keep him in the family – I’m sure he’s so very well loved 🙂

    Mary @ Bites and Bliss said:
    August 29, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    Fun survey!! It was cool to hear about the hair thing. It’s really, really gross..but that happens ALL the time after taken group fitness classes as the gym. GROSS!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 30, 2011 at 12:24 pm

      Eeeewwww I hate the gym floor in our exercise room! Makes me want to gag when I see stray hairs, ugh!

      Just subscribed to your blog and I’m loving it and excited to follow along!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

