Soaking Up The End of Summer

Posted on

Hello everyone! Happy Tuesday and I hope your day is going well so far…since yesterday I posted Friday’s post that leaves me to post today about our weekend recap! It was a gloriously good one filled with summer temps, BBQ action, fro yo, and al fresco dinning – a great way to soak up all the last bits of summer. I’m bummed I didn’t snap any pictures of our day Sunday because it was all in a sense, perfect. We started our day with our usual Sunday morning treat…

I like how the barista put an exclamation point next to my name ๐Ÿ˜‰ Our goodies were the Spinach, tomato, and feta wrap, blueberry coffee cake, and the turkey bacon, egg, and cheese sammy

We then hightailed it to the gym, did our respective workouts, and then set out on the 30 minute drive down south to Santana Row(source)

(source)

Love love this place. If you ever have a chance to visit the Bay Area, make this place a definite destination spot. They have the best foodie restaurants, shops, and none other than, Pinkberry!!! I left my camera at home since Sunday’s are my days off from any blog related tasks, but in the end I wished I had snapped some pics of all our glorious food!

For lunch we went to the Yankee Pier where we dined al fresco…(source)

(source)

And for an appetizer we shared the Manila Clams – Gordon Biersch Mรคrzen steamed, linguiรงa & chives, bacon, and corn. And for my entree I got the Yankee Salad – Fuji apple, sweet & spicy walnuts, Shaftโ€™s blue cheese and hubby got the Roasted Pacific Rockfish – Castroville artichokes, balsamic onion, olives, capers and red potatoes. It was all delicious and satisfied both our bellies ๐Ÿ™‚

Hubby usually isn’t the sweets type but since it was about 85 degrees out, he got in the mood for something cold and refresing to cool off with, and knowing me I always grow an extra stomach for dessert, so Pinkberry it was! Hubby got the Watermelon flavor with raspberries, strawberries, and blueberries, and I got the amazingly delicious peanut butter (holy yum – I proclaimed it to be the best PB fro yo I ever tasted!) with toasted bread crumbs, strawberries, and blueberries. It.was.epic.

Saturday was just an equally amazing day. It was spent with the family and it was perfect sunny weather for some BBQ action…

From left to right: Chad (friend of sis), sis, dad, mom, hubby, me!

We started the evening with some delicious apps…

Veggies with Ranch Dressing

Strawberries, kettle chips, Sabra Spinach & Artichoke Hummus

Yummy!

Best.dip.ever. Fage yogurt mixed with Splenda & Sugar Free Cheesecake Jello…You gotta try this, a perfect dip for chips and strawberries ๐Ÿ™‚

Per usual, dinner was steaks for the men and salads for the ladies…

And some of the best broccoli casserole…

My plate!

Hubby’s…

The night ended with a couple spoonfuls of Dreyer’s Drumstick Ice Cream. Amazing flavor and you must try it if you haven’t yet!

It was truly a wonderful weekend and I’m so happy we got to soak up every last bit of summer with a summer inspired weekend. And though that season is coming to a close, I especially can’t wait for all that fall brings, especially as you all know for me and my family, that means lotsa Sunday Funday Football! ๐Ÿ™‚

And here’s an outfit pic from Saturday since today’s isn’t that exciting…

Top: Express
Jeans: Antik Denim
Shoes: Via Spiga Wedges

Hope you’re all having a fantastic day so far and I’ll see you all tomorrow! ๐Ÿ™‚

Questions: Have you tried Pinkberry before? What’s your favorite flavor? Are you soaking up every last ounce of summer? If so, how are you doing it? Are you looking forward to fall?

13 thoughts on “Soaking Up The End of Summer

    oneloverun said:
    August 30, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    Their salted caramel flavor this summer was so good! Now they have a pb&j flavor I really want to try!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 30, 2011 at 12:22 pm

      I know I was praying they’d still have the salted caramel b/c I’ve been wanting to try that and they didn’t have it so I guess it’s gone for the season?! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Yes they gave me a sample of the PB&J (toasted bread crumbs w/ jelly drizzle) and it was insanely good. I decided instead to go with the fresh strawberries instead of the jelly along with the toasted bread crumbs and it was still amazing!! Can’t wait for you to try it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    August 30, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    The PB flavor rocks!

    I was totally debating on getting the drimstick flavor but got the pb choc instead. Next time ๐Ÿ™‚

    We need to do a meet up girl!

    Amy said:
    August 30, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    I have to try the sugarfree jello in my yogurt. that looks so good.
    I’m looking fwd to wearing my jeans and boots. Gotta love fall. Its all about the pumpkin.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 31, 2011 at 11:05 am

      Yes definitely try the jello in the yogurt – so good! Especially try with the Fage, I’ve tried it in other yogurts and it just doesn’t work as well.

      I’m so looking forward to fall for the fashion too! My absolute fav outfits are my sweater dresses with knee high boots or with jeans tucked in ๐Ÿ™‚

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    August 30, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Hi Shayla! Love the exclamation point at the end of your name! Makes breakfast just a little more exciting, no? ๐Ÿ™‚ that would totally put a smile on my face too!

    That Yankee salad sounds incredible… Fuji apple, sweet and spicy walnuts and blue cheese = bliss.

    Love Pinkberry… Though, there are soooo many fro yo places here in Boston that are incredibly similar. I usually go to Berryline, which is essentially that same thing as Pinkberry. I always get the plain tart with loop loads of chocolate sprinkles and raspberries. It’s incredible.

    I cannot wait for fall. It is my absolute favorite season… I feel my best that time of year for sure! But I am star eu ally planning our last few beach days ๐Ÿ˜€

    Glad you had such a great weekend! I’m already ready for this coming weekend! It can’t come soon enough.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 31, 2011 at 11:02 am

      I’m so ready for this weekend too! And I never think to get chocolate sprinkles on my fro yo – I have to remember to try that next time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Yes that salad and Pinkberry was incredible, wish I had gotten pics! Although I know we’re definitely going to recreatE that day again and I’m most definitely going to snap pics next time! ๐Ÿ™‚

      When I was younger in school with summer breaks, summer was always my fav season, but now that I’m getting older it’s definitely now fall. I just love all the more family time we get to have together with the holiday’s and the scent of fall alone is so nostalgic for me…I swooned this morning in our grocery store with their fall decor up and I could smell cinnamon and pumpkin everywhere!! โค

    spinach&spice said:
    August 30, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    You and your family are beautiful! And your food spread looks great ๐Ÿ˜€

    Lele said:
    August 31, 2011 at 10:46 am

    That sweet yogurt dip with the salty chips sounds REALLY good!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 31, 2011 at 11:05 am

      Yes it’s so good, you gotta try it! It’s such a great sweet and salty treat! Especially try it with the Fage yogurt, works best with that one! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    August 31, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Yum that blueberry coffee cake is my faaaavorite from Starbucks ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I am somewhat looking forward to fall because I have never really had a real fall (fall in alaska is literally a week long and then instantly winter) and word on the street is east coast falls are amazing! also, i cant wait to pull out all my scarves and boots!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      August 31, 2011 at 5:33 pm

      I always go back in forth between the blueberry and cinnamon coffee cakes and this past time I definitely decided I like the blueberry better, delish!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      My hubby’s family lives in upstate New York and from what I’ve heard fall is definitely amazing. So beautiful with all the colorful leaves and the temps are just right!

      I too also can’t wait for fall fashion, my fav outfits are those with boots and scarves…sweater dresses too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

