Wedding Weekend & TRX

Posted on

Hi everyone! Sorry for dropping off the face of the earth for the past couple days. I unexpectedly had Friday off from work which was a welcome surprise! Then Friday afternoon – Sunday revolved around wedding festivities since my hubby was in a wedding this past Sunday. And Monday we both had off from work and just spent the day together relaxing and enjoying each others company…it was a perfect Labor Day holiday for us πŸ™‚

First I want to start off by saying how much it warmed my heart reading the amazing comments I received from all you lovely ladies. This is such a fantastic, supportive community that I’m so happy to be a part of…I can’t thank you enough for how amazing you all are and your words mean so very much to me, thank you πŸ™‚

I’m disappointed to say that I don’t have many pictures to document what a glorious weekend we had since I’m pretty camera shy around people I don’t know, but I did capture some pics of the wedding, the hubby, and the gorgeous bride and groom. And let me preface this by saying I am the worst action photo taker ever…give me still life and I’m fine…but action shots…notsoverymuch

Congrats Mr. and Mrs!!!

Bridal party…I loved the red and white colors of her wedding, so romantical πŸ™‚

Here’s the handsome hubby in his tux, and this lovely lady and I got along real well and had a blast chit-chatting with one another…

It was a fun weekend but hubby and I were definitely donezo with the nonstop chit chat and small talk with people we didn’t know…for me that kind of socializing can start to get exhausting…but all in all, it was a beautiful, fun wedding, and it warmed my heart to see the joy and love between the bride and groom πŸ™‚

Food-wise this past weekend was a doozy filled with delicious pasta, cookies, pizza, chips & dip, wedding cake, and other glorious goodies so I was more than ready to get a good workout in this morning and follow it up with an ice cold smoothie.

For fall our gym’s workout schedule has changed and my most favorite Bootcamp class is kaput which is a big bummer to me, but at the same time I’m excited for a switch and new workouts to add to my routine to avoid those dreaded plateaus. So instead of Ab class (which they nixed too! :() and Bootcamp, it’s instead a TRX class.

Do you know what TRX is? You can read more about it here and you may have seen the interesting contraption hanging around at your gym…it’s basically a portable bodyweight training tool that helps build muscle, increase flexibility and tighten your core. Here’s what it looks like…(source)

And here’s a great video of an example of the exercise moves we performed in class…

It was a great workout and I’m excited to incorporate new movements into my workouts to better supplement my strength training routine…and it won’t hurt in it helping to build some lean body mass…sexy muscles is where it’s at πŸ˜‰

After a strength workout like today’s I always like to get in a good source of protein and I was excited to try this Vega Protein Powder that I happened to win through a giveaway hosted by the lovely Laury from The Fitness Dish

Along with the powder I added 2 cups Almond Milk, 1/2 frozen banana, and a scoop of PB2 with a spinkle of chia seeds…

It was delish and I’m so happy I finally got to try it, thanks so much Laury! πŸ™‚

Hope you’re all having a great day so far and I’ll see you tomorrow! Can you believe it’s almost already Thursday?! Whoo hoo to short weeks! πŸ™‚

Questions:
Have you been to any weddings this year? What were your wedding colors? Is it exhausting or fun for you to make small talk at social events? Have you ever used TRX before?

11 thoughts on “Wedding Weekend & TRX

    Shannon said:
    September 7, 2011 at 11:35 am

    You and hubby look so beautiful! Love your hair too by the way. The colors almost remind me of a special someone’s wedding in san diego! The best wedding ever with the most beautiful bride! The groom wasn’t too bad either! It is your anniversary month! Can you believe it? Xoxo sissy

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 7, 2011 at 12:01 pm

      Thank you lovey!! For my hair I did that kinky wave I do with the flat iron, so much better (and more fun!) than just straight…and your wavy hair last weekend inspired me to do that again, hee hee…and thank you for such the sweet compliments…you’re the best πŸ™‚ And I know, I can’t believe it’s already our anniversary month?! 3 years already! Wow! Love ya sissy…xoxo

    Amy said:
    September 7, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    I love TRX. I’ve taken it for over a year and just recently quit taking it due to I cut my workouts back and this Sunday class was 1 I decided to cut out. TRX is great though I get more of a lower body workout from it than upper. that may just be because I’m not the most coordinated person so I may have been doing something wrong but my legs would sure be on fire after that class.
    I’m a makeup artist and I have 2 weddings to do Oct 1 and Oct 2nd. Talk about too much wedding in 1 weekend.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 7, 2011 at 3:38 pm

      I didn’t know you were a makeup artist?! How fun and good luck on your back-to-back appointments!

      I felt like I got a pretty good lower body workout too…we’ll see how sore I am tomorrow! πŸ™‚

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    September 7, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    I was wondering where you were! I was actually just thinking of sending you an email! hahaha SO glad to see you had such a fabulous weekend πŸ™‚ Love long weekends and short weeks. They are the best πŸ˜€

    I have only been to one wedding this year so far! I have another in October and had t miss two because of work. I adore weddings and really really love chit chatting with people I don’t know. I am definitely a people person and can talk all day haha

    Not married or engaged yet… but when that time happens I have to somehow incorporate orange poppies. I am obsessed with them . They are so cheerful, fun and vibrant πŸ™‚

    I haven’t ever tried or even heard of TRX before. Looks cool though! I am 100% focused on running which I know isn’t good… because of my injury I have been focusing on my core which has been neglected forever haha and when I went to the gym to do some other cardio that wouldn’t aggravate my leg I had NO idea what to do. Usually when I go to the gym it is only to use the treadmill because there is a torrential downpour or sever snow storm. I seriously had NO CLUE. I had to laugh at myself.

    That Vega sports protein is great. I use that all the time in combination with the Vega sports ‘crack’ drink. It is AWESOME before workouts and the protein drink right after. Really, really good stuff.

    Almost the end of the week, hooray! Do you have fun weekend plans?

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 7, 2011 at 3:36 pm

      Awww thank you girl! Sorry I fell of the face of the earth there for a bit πŸ˜‰

      I wish I had your people skills…my dad is the exact same way as you are, why didn’t I inherit that trait?! Haha! And I love the idea of orange poppies for you wedding…that would be gorgeous!!

      Because of your knee have you ever tried taking a spin class? I love spin for it’s low impact on my joints but at the same time it’s such a sweat drenching, endorphin filled workout. And I know the elliptical isn’t the same as running but it’s also a great workout and low impact…it’s a great way to catch up on my magazines too! πŸ™‚

      The hubby is away this weekend so it’ll be a girl’s weekend, super excited!

    Amy@ahealthyandhappyheart said:
    September 7, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    You look gorgeous! We didnt have any weddings this summer…last summer we had 5! I am not a small talk person…it sucks lol! Never hear of TRX…can not wait to hear how you like it!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 8, 2011 at 5:02 pm

      Thank you so much for the sweet comment!! πŸ™‚

      TRX was awesome and I was soooo sore this morning!! It definitely did a job well done πŸ˜‰

      Glad to hear you had a break from wedding season this year….and glad I’m not the only small talk hater, ha! πŸ™‚

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    September 7, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Yey so glad you liked it! Sorry it took long 😦 I have another giveaway tonight too

    I have a clients wedding in 2 weeks. Really looking forward to it. I have been training them both for 8 years which was shortly after they met!
    LOVE TRX! Have posted about it before…such a great workout!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 8, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      No worries about the wait, and thank you so much again, definitely getting more!! πŸ™‚

      That’s so awesome you’re attending your clients wedding, how fun!

      Yes TRX was awesome! I was so sore this morning…It definitely did the job πŸ˜‰ It would be awesome if you did a video post of TRX sometime?! πŸ™‚

    A New Relationship… | The Good Life said:
    September 8, 2011 at 11:43 am

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time Skip to content HomeAboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJune 24 – July 3July 6 – 10July 11 – 17July 19 – 24July 25 – 31August 6 – 14August 15 – 21FitnessGetting ready…Wedding ← Wedding Weekend & TRX […]

Leave a Reply

