A New Relationship…

Posted on

Hello everyone! Can you believe it’s almost Friday?!…love short weeks! And can you believe that I have a full on cold today?! Ugh…I can’t believe this. For years I’ve gone without colds, flu, and I have even been able to remain sick-free around sick co-workers, family, and friends…now twice this year I’ve had a cold and this is my third one! I’m not sure what’s going on with my immune system this year…maybe this is what comes with age?! Ha! Oh well…I’m drinking lots of water as we speak, uh type ;), and I’m already feeling a tad bit better ๐Ÿ™‚

Especially after my great workout this morning. Today is supposed to be a rest day for me and I should have taken it since I have a cold, but I really really wanted to try a new class at our gym, Vipr! I’m loving these new exercise classes, first TRX yesterday which was awesome and today I’m super sore from it, and now Vipr. Have you ever heard of it? You can read more about it here and this is what it looks like…(source)

And here’s a great video showcasing the exact moves we did during class…

It was an awesome workout and I absolutely loved it! I’m definitely going to be incorporating this into my routine and will have to switch around my rest days, which were Monday’s and Thursday’s…maybe now Monday’s & Wednesday’s? I wasn’t a huge fan of the TRX class yesterday so maybe I’ll make that as my rest day…we’ll see ๐Ÿ™‚

****

Last night as I was talking about TRX with my husband…side note, hubby is a pro at TRX and does some craaaazy moves on that contraption, in fact if it were up to me he should be the one teaching the class…hey it would give us ladies some nice eye candy too ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, as we were discussing various TRX movements and as I was telling him about my excitement for going to Vipr class this morning, it caught me off guard for a moment and got me thinking about my new found perspective on exercise and how I’ve formed an entirely new relationship with it.

During my overexercising days, the only goal it ever served for me was to burn calories.ย  That’s it.ย  But before this obsessiveness, exercise wasn’t always about that, it was about having fun.ย  And last night that light bulb went off for me, it’s now fun again, and I’m breaking out of my comfort zone and trying new things. It’s no longer about which exercise class or which cardio machine will burn the most calories. It’s about having fun, challenging my body in new and exciting ways, and being healthy.

When I was little and into my teenage years exercise was fun and joyful.ย  It was playing on the monkey bars and the jungle gym, it was dance recitals and performing for my family in cute costumes, it was being on the dance team in high school and having fun with my friends, it was going to Jazzercise for the first time with my sister and mom and realizing that very moment just how fun exercise could be…

I feel that our Getting Ready plans was a blessing in disguise in that it made me take a step back and see that I was exercising too much, and since cutting back, I feel more at peace and have a new relationship with it.ย  Before I cut back, there was a part of me that felt I was doing too much. I kept making excuses for it and would compare myself to others who were exercising way more than me…but deep down, I really wasn’t happy or passionate about working out that much everyday.

I’m now finally happy with my workout routine (and the changes I’m making to it – hello TRX & Vipr!) and have found the joy in exercising again.ย  It’s not a chore, I don’t look at it as a means to burn “x” amount of calories, and I’m not left feeling exhausted and depleted…I’m now excited each morning to tackle a new workout, it’s now a means for my body to get strong & healthy, I’m left feeling energized for my day, and my passion and excitement for it has been ignited again.ย  Like many other relationships in life, this is one I’d like to be with for a very long time… ๐Ÿ™‚

****

And with that, I have a new found relationship with TJ’s Honey Chevre Goat Cheese…or as my husband would say, “I would like to take a bath in this goat cheese pleaseeeee” ๐Ÿ˜‰

And last night it made its presence spread onto some strawberries as a pre-dinner snack…

And some pasta salad that we finished off and was supposed to be served with dinner, oops!

Last night I was starting to feel the onset of my cold, so I went with my usual salad beast…

And for dessert I ate half a container of Fage Greek Yogurt with a handful of puffins and a couple spoonfuls of PB. The other half of that Fage went into this mornings delicious overnight oats…

1/2 cup Fage, 1/3 heaping cup oats, 1/3 cup Almond Milk, 1 tsp. chia seeds, sliced banana, handful puffins.

Perfectly filling delicious breakfast, and the warm coffee felt so good on my sore throat…hopefully this sickness goes away by this weekend. It’s another “when the boys are away, the girls will play” kinda weekend ๐Ÿ˜‰

Questions:
Do you have a new found relationship with exercise/food/friend/significant other/family member, etc.?
Have you ever tried Vipr before?
Any fun plans for this weekend?!

15 thoughts on “A New Relationship…

    Amy said:
    September 8, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    I too overexercised untill about a month ago. It was really hard cutting back I kept telling myself I wouldn’t be as toned and would gain fat weight instead of muscle weight but I actually enjoy my workouts more and I’m sleeping all night through now too. I think I felt like I had to work out so much but now I realize I don’t. I need to listen to my body and enjoy the workouts I do and not push myself through even though I wasn’t sleeping, I was losing weight, my hair falling out, I almost dreaded going.
    All thats changed and I’m now at peace with just a few days a week and fueling my body and getting plenty of rest. Now I just pray the hair loss stops and that I can get to a better place with my weight.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 8, 2011 at 4:59 pm

      Congrats on the huge accomplishments you’ve made…you should be so proud of yourself and I’m so happy for you.

      That was another thing I realized too when I cut back on my exercising, was that I actually didn’t gain a huge amount of weight and my body pretty much stayed the same. But my mind definitely changed for the better, it became so much healthier and that obsessiveness diminished. It was an amazing feeling to have it be a fun positive aspect in my life and I’m so happy you have found that too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    September 8, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    I have never even heard of vipr but it actually looks pretty fun!! I watched the video, pretty cool!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 8, 2011 at 4:55 pm

      It’s so cool – you gotta try it if you can sometime!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Shanna like Banana said:
    September 8, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    What a fabulous attitude you have about your new relationship. I workout so I can eat more and keep my mood up. But its a huge perk when the exercise is something fun to boot!

    Hope you fell better soon!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 8, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      Thank you Shanna!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Oooo I forgot about those two points, a positive mood and being able to eat more are two very important perks!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    September 8, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I never heard of VIPR! I need to pick up my latest fitness journal and get with the times!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 9, 2011 at 5:29 pm

      Omg Laury you would LOVE Vipr!! Since I know you love hardcore workouts, you would love this and I can’t wait for you to try it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun said:
    September 8, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Love that relationship with workouts – to do it for fun and the challenge. Those workouts both sound so KILLER!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 9, 2011 at 5:28 pm

      Thank you Tina! And yes, they were so killer! You would absolutely love it since I know you love those hardcore workouts ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Stop Trying To Be… | The Good Life said:
    September 9, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time Skip to content HomeAboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJune 24 – July 3July 6 – 10July 11 – 17July 19 – 24July 25 – 31August 6 – 14August 15 – 21FitnessGetting ready…Wedding ← Wedding Weekend & TRX A New Relationship… → […]

    Stop Trying To Be… | The Good Life said:
    September 9, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    […] The Good Life …..Sharing Our Lives One Good Moment at a Time Skip to content HomeAboutBlogrollFamilyFashionJune 24 – July 3July 6 – 10July 11 – 17July 19 – 24July 25 – 31August 6 – 14August 15 – 21FitnessGetting ready…Wedding ← A New Relationship… […]

    katie said:
    September 11, 2011 at 12:40 am

    such a good post! it’s funny to actually remember that exercise can be fun (and really should be if you want to stick with something) and recently my fiance and I were talking about food for fuel instead of just filler. as we’re getting older ( i say this like we’re about to go into a nursing home but we’re 27 ) we’re so much more in tune with our bodies and how they react to whole foods and what gives us energy to make it through the day. i’ve never tried vipr but it looks amazing!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 12, 2011 at 9:29 am

      Thanks Katie! Yes you gotta try Vipr, it’s a lot of fun!

      And I totally agree in that thinking about food as fuel and not just a filler…though we’re still young, I can totally relate to you in that foods effect me so much differently now than they did 10, even 5, years ago and it’s so important now for me to eat foods that give me energy throughout the day ๐Ÿ™‚

    Facing Fear Foods | The Good Life said:
    October 25, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    […] – from trying to be perfect, to restricting and binging, to obsessive calorie counting, to over exercising, to using wine to help ease the pain – and how I’ve overcome many of these struggles. […]

Leave a Reply

