Walk This Way…and Goat Cheese Love

Posted on Updated on

Happy hump day everyone! Hope you’re all having a fabulous day so far. I loved reading all your comments yesterday…seems a lot of you like to take at least 2-3 days off from exercising (which I think is a perfect amount!), and a lot of you enjoy Almond Milk in your smoothies and cereals. I love it too and also like to enjoy it as dessert in a cold glass with a piece of chocolate! However I really do not like almond flavored cookies like marzipan, or almond biscotti, ick! I know I’m a complex eater πŸ˜‰

****

Taking this week off from exercise got me thinking about workouts I want to get back into come this Saturday and during the work week. Many of you such as the lovely Sarah, family, friends, and women in my shoes who I’ve received advice from, have suggested I start doing the simple yet very effective workout, walking! And did you know that many health benefits come from walking? My mom (thanks mom!) gave me this great article about walking and I wanted to share it all with you…

When it comes to exercise, running isn’t the only way to see results. Michele Stanten, fitness director at Prevention magazine, outlines the Walk Off Weight (or WOW) Program in a book of the same name. By alternating high-intensity activity with lower-intensity recovery periods, the program helps you burn fat and increase weight loss. Here are some other reasons to give walking a try:

Build up your immunity.

When you’re staying active, disease-fighting cells circulate through your body. Daily walking can lead to a higher-functioning immune system, which can mean fewer colds and flus and help protect you against conditions like heart disease, cancer, stroke and diabetes.

Keep bones and joints strong.

Walking can help provide natural antioxidants and nutrients to your joints, muscles and bones. A walking regimen can help reduce stiffness, aches and pains.

Get a natural energy boost.

Walking for just 30 minutes a day can give you that extra boost you need to add another component to your workout. So once you’ve been on a walking program for a few days, you might feel ready to add a bike ride on top of that.

Get a natural mood boost.

Every time you walk, your body releases endorphins that make you feel good and relieve stress. Just think of it as a twofer: a way to improve fitness and your emotional state at the same time.

And get a good night’s sleep.

Because walking regularly can help improve your mood, lower your stress levels and reduce pain, it’s no wonder it also can help you sleep more soundly. (source)

Like I mentioned yesterday, I tend to have an “all or nothing” attitude, and I have perceived working out with this mentality. When I’m at the gym it’s “go big or go home” – that hour of my workout is at a pretty high intensity and I don’t feel like I’ve worked out unless sweat is dripping off of me. I’ve realized though that having this mindset is stressful in and of itself! I forget that this doesn’t have to be the case every single time I workout. Certainly high intensity training has it’s many benefits like building heart and muscle strength, but lower intensity exercises serves a very important purpose as well, such as to rebuild and recover your muscles, relieve stress, and clear your mind. In all areas of life, and the key word I always like to come back to, is balance. For health purposes, I think our bodies just simply want to move and thrive off of any form of movement, either it be a nice walk outside with the fresh air or a sweaty heart pumping spin class…both are beneficial to our minds, bodies, and souls. So for now I’ll be packing away my spin shoes for another day, and dusting off those sneakers to get ready for a nice walk outdoors this weekend…I think my Vitamin D and pale skin will thank me for that too πŸ˜‰

****

I like to think that the hubby and I have esp every now and then, and he certainly did last night because this was waiting for me to dig into right when I got home…

That would be my new goat cheese love…

Cranberry & Orange Goat Cheese from Whole Foods

Along with these new crackers that I’m absolutely loving…they’re perfectly salty and sweet!

…along with some Food Network magazine on the side πŸ˜‰ thanks sissy!

Dinner was a chicken salad…and in looking at these pictures I noticed little “restaurant touches” to my meal…such as fanning out my sliced chicken to pretty it up!

…with an artichoke on the side

…and a couple slices of bread with real butter which is always a restaurant treat to me…hey it’s the little things πŸ˜‰

…and ended on a sweet note, just like I like to do at restaurants…

****

Today was a dreary, foggy one here in my neck of the woods so a nice pipping hot bowl of oatmeal sounded perfect! I can sense my fall/winter taste buds are coming back!! πŸ™‚

Quaker Instant Hazlenut Latte flavored Oats made with 1/3 cup whole milk, cup of frozen berries, 2 tbsp. PB2 peanut butter

Hope you’re all having a fabulous day so far and it’s all downhill from here until the weekend! Whoo hoo!

Questions:
Do you enjoy walking as a form of exercise?
What kinds of low intensity workouts do you incorporate into your routine?

Do you like goat cheese? What kinds are your favorite? I’d love to know new brands/flavors that are out there!
Do you do any “restaurant touches” to your meals to make you feel like you’re fine dining at home?

18 thoughts on “Walk This Way…and Goat Cheese Love

    Shanna like Banana said:
    September 14, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Cashew crackers? Yum!

    I am a Huge fan of walking as exercise. I do it a few times a week.

    Adding lemon in my water feels like fine dining at home πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 14, 2011 at 3:01 pm

      Too bad we don’t live even closer together, we could become walking buddies! πŸ˜‰

      Adding lemon to water is a great “restaurant touch”, love that!

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    September 14, 2011 at 11:45 am

    I really want to try goat cheese but haven’t yet! I think the fact that its from a goat weird me out…lame I know. Somehow I can eat cows cheese without being creeped out and have been trying to talk myself into trying it!

    Low intensity workouts I love are pilates and yoga. I’ve also been doing a lot of walking recently for my cardio workouts. I’ve really been enjoying walking as opossed to running and so has my hip that always hurts from too much running!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 14, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      Ha I never thought of goat cheese that way?! That’s a good point though…I’m going to now try and not picture a goat when I eat it, ha! If you ever come around to the urge to try it, try the flavored ones like the one I posted here from Whole Foods or the Honey Chevre one from Trader Joe’s…super delish and doesn’t have a real “goat-y” taste to it πŸ™‚

      I really want to start getting into pilates and yoga too. Especially with my certain goals right now. I think those would be great to incorporate into my routine, especially since I have no flexibility whatsoever! My hip gets super angry too when I run so that’s what turned me onto spinning…now I’m really looking forward to walking outside more!

    Amy said:
    September 14, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    I love walking especially being that I hate cardio other than spinning and spinning makes me lose weight and burn off my muscle quick so I tend to stick to lower intensity things like walking. I love to walk outside too especially when the fall weather gets here.
    I’m all or nothing too and I have a hard time with lower intensity but i’ve grown to like it.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 14, 2011 at 12:21 pm

      I relate to everything you said here. It’s hard to get comfortable with exercising at a lower intensity level but like you, I’m definitely learning to really like it and enjoy it! πŸ™‚

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    September 14, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    I LOVE walking on my rest days πŸ™‚ It is easier on the joints and it totally gets your blood flowing.

    If I am not running… I am walking, using the elliptical, swimming or using the medicine ball. That’s pretty much the full circle of workouts I do. Nothing makes me feel as good as running πŸ˜€

    LOVE goat cheese. I used to be a cheese buyer for whole foods for a few years back in the day (loved that job)… I definitely have eaten my weights worth of goat cheese! That cranberry goat cheese looks SO delicious… great for the fall! Would be yummy spread on bread for a turkey sandwich!

    I use SO many condiments you can barely see what is actually on my plate haha BUT when I take pictures of dinner recipes I fancy it up using garnishes and things before I drown the sucker in whatever delicious condiments I have on hand and for dinner parties I like to put out cheese plates, olives and dipping oil for bread… kind of restaurant like!

    SO glad you are embracing your rest week Shayla! How are you feeling not working out as much as you are used to?

    There is NOTHING like real butter!!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 14, 2011 at 12:38 pm

      Your running is my spinning πŸ˜‰ But I think I’m really going to start loving these outdoor walks I’m going to start doing – thanks so much for the great suggestion! πŸ™‚

      Wow a cheese buyer for Whole Foods?! Yes please! And wow, I am so making a sandwich like that, awesome idea! Hubby’s fav sandwich is cranberry and turkey too and he will *love *this, thanks!

      I love your “restaurant touches”! Garnishes are great for prettying up a dish and giving it that fine dining feel. And I love cheese and olive plates…especially olive oil for bread dipping – that’s one of my fav restaurant treats!

      I’m actually feeling really good and ok about not working out as much. Remembering that it’s not forever and reminding myself that it’s what I need to do to help make our goal happen keeps me feeling good about it all. And I’ve been using my extra time in the mornings to do laundry and lots of blog reading and commenting so busying myself has helped a lot. Although I am very much looking forward to moving again and excited for this “new” workout routine I’m starting this weekend – such as outdoor walks, light strength training, and stretching such as yoga and pilates πŸ™‚

        sarahsmodernbites said:
        September 14, 2011 at 12:45 pm

        I LOVE working out but it’s amazing how much time it take up!

        You just gotta keep your eyes on the prize girl… staying focused on your goal will make it all so easy and super enjoyable πŸ™‚

        Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
        September 14, 2011 at 1:01 pm

        Exactly…thank you so much Sarah for that sweet comment <3….I'm definitely going to remember that πŸ™‚ xoxo

    Lauren said:
    September 14, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    I loveeeeeee goat cheese – I just bought a pound of it at Costco and now I’m trying to find recipes that I can use for it. Right now I’m just using walking as my main form of exercise (recovering from an injury as well as laziness). Walking is so great – you can do it for hours!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 15, 2011 at 6:43 am

      Wow a pound from Costco?! Yes please!

      That’s what I love about walking too, you can go for a long time and I love how calming and easy it is on your joints! Best wishes on your recovery girl! πŸ™‚

    Courtney said:
    September 15, 2011 at 5:55 am

    I love incorporating walking into my workouts – especially when there’s inclines involved!
    Goat cheese is amazing, and I can’t even imagine how awesome it is with the cranberry and orange with it. Oh.my.gosh.
    I also like doing the different restaurant touches to my meals like you did. Making just a little extra effort just seems to make the meal that much more enjoyable!
    Have a great day, girl! πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 15, 2011 at 6:41 am

      Yes inclines are the best! And I find treadmill incline walking to be a great way to catch up on magazines too πŸ˜‰

      Courtney you would love the cranberry/orange goat cheese, amazing! And I agree, just that little extra effort definitely makes the meal more enjoyable! Have a great day too girl! πŸ™‚

    Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday said:
    September 15, 2011 at 10:08 am

    Walking is a great form of exercise because it is low impact and easy to sustain. And is much better than nothing at all!
    Glad to see you’re getting into it πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 15, 2011 at 11:11 am

      Thank you Samantha! And yes so much better than nothing at all, love it! πŸ™‚

    Sherri said:
    September 18, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Walking clears my head and always improves my mood. Come over here and walk by the water and enjoy nature and the ducks and soak in the Vitamin D!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 19, 2011 at 11:08 am

      Yes I need to do that, it’s the most perfect walking trail! Love ya! xoxo

Leave a Reply

