Inspiration Is Everywhere…

Posted on Updated on

Hi friends! It’s almost Friday (whoo hoo!), and the weekend is almost here I can taste it! First off, I want to say “wow!” to all your awesome comments yesterday about walking. I am floored by your responses in how you all loving walking, and let’s not forget, your love of goat cheese too…I think we can conclude that walking and goat cheese are a match made in heaven ๐Ÿ˜‰

After hearing all your comments yesterday, I’m even now more excited to incorporate walking into my workout routine and to especially get outside more. Of course isn’t it my luck that I’m finally choosing to walk outside now that we have dark, chilly mornings! Oh well…at least the time change (November 6th – mark your calendars!) is coming soon to move our clocks back an hour (“spring forward”, “fall back” – that’s how I remember! ;)), so at least I’ll get in some light mornings before winter gets here ๐Ÿ™‚

With my walks, I plan on definitely keeping up my strength training (gotta maintain those muscles and bones!), and finally getting into some pilates and yoga. Forever I have been saying (hubby can testify to this!) how much I really want to incorporate yoga and pilates into my workouts and now finally I am going to. We have some yoga classes at the gym I could take, but Courtney has really peaked my interest into the yoga and pilates she does on her OnDemand TV so I think I’m definitely going to check that out. That way I can workout in my jammies with bed head, sweet! ๐Ÿ˜‰

With inspiration coming from you all in commenting about your walking routines, it got me thinking about inspiration in general, and how it can inspire me daily. Since the day I found the community of blogs, I have continually been inspired by these ladies, all from food, to fitness, to fashion, to faith…which by the way you can check out here on my Blogroll page. During my struggles, they inspired me to eat healthier, gain to a healthier weight, stop my obsessiveness and anxiety in calorie counting and overexercising, and last but not least, to start this blog. I hope in any way shape or form, I help just one person out there with my story of the struggles I’ve gone through, and now my journey to getting pregnant. And then after thinking about this inspiration, it got me thinking about other forms of inspiration and how it is truly around us, everywhere…

Fashion – I love it and it will always be a true passion of mine. My style inspiration has always been Jennifer Aniston. I love her simplistic, sophisticated, effortless, modern style. She inspires me to create outfits like this…(source)

…and like this…(source)

…and when I’m pregnant Shanna is going to be my preggie fashion consultant ๐Ÿ˜‰ Btw, check out her blog, she’s fantastic and has amazing style!

Music – I simply just love listening to music. It can put me in a variety of moods such as upbeat, emotional, calming, or reflective. This is going to sound corny, but music is really therapeutic for me and it helps in putting my mind at ease when it starts over-thinking everything too much. Like this morning, I was watching the end of Bachelor Pad (don’t worry this point has meaning ;)), and as it was playing an excerpt of who the next Bachelor is, this song came on in the background…

Love love it. Not sure what exactly the song means, but it’s just so beautiful to listen to and it just makes me happy, in a good emotional way ๐Ÿ™‚

I could go on and on about all the things everywhere around me that fuel inspiration, but I would like to know, what inspires you? I’d love to hear in the comments!

****

I haven’t snapped any photos of my lunches because to be quite honest, it’s the same ole yogurt and salad combo, and didn’t want to bore you with it. I guess it’s the creature of habit in me ๐Ÿ˜‰ If you’re new around here though, here’s what it looks like…

I usually don’t talk about or post my snacks here, but I wanted to show you all a new bar that I found and had it for a snack yesterday…yes I know it’s a kid’s bar but still really good! And I think the flavor is only available this time of year…

Lately I’ve been extra motivated to save coupons and yesterday I had one for this cereal…

So so good! And look at these ginormous clusters!!

It’s the little things like this that make me happy ๐Ÿ˜‰

Dinner was on my own tonight since hubby was in school (he’s in school year round Monday’s and Wednesday’s with a break for summer for his Electrician Apprenticeship). And by now you know he’s the chef in this household so I resorted to a simple sandwich. But a delicious, fall-tastic, Thanksgiving inspired one indeed! And one that was inspired by the lovely Sarah, thanks girl, fabulous recommendation!! It was amazing…

You know I can’t go without a side salad too…

And dessert, though somehow I forgot to snap a pic, was a piece of this chocolate…

And to give you all a few laughs…I saw this today on Yahoo News and I got quite a laugh out of it. Now don’t get me wrong, I kinda like these girls and their show, but this is just too funny…

Hope you all have a great day and see you tomorrow! And be sure to come back here tomorrow evening for a special recap, it involves a lunch date with a special someone ๐Ÿ˜‰

Questions:
What inspires you? Where/who does that inspiration come from?
What’s your favorite snack? I need more ideas besides just bars!

10 thoughts on “Inspiration Is Everywhere…

    Amy said:
    September 15, 2011 at 11:52 am

    Jennifer Anniston is def an inspiration for me as far as fashion too as well as Sienna miller, they both always look so relaxed and put together.
    As far as snacks I’m the snack queen these days. I love greek yogurt or cottage cheese with fruiit and nuts or granola. I also love oatmeal with pumpkin mixed in and flaxseeds. I do alot of protein shakes too. Oh, and I make a yummy protein pudding with greek yogurt, a scoop of protein powder, blueberries, and almonds. Yum!!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 15, 2011 at 12:42 pm

      Great snack ideas, thanks Amy! Especially love the idea of adding protein powder to greek yogurt, never tried that but sounds yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Shanna like Banana said:
    September 15, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Thanks for the shoutout :D. You pull off those Aniston looks so well. Love her style too.

    Hmmm snacks… Almonds and dried cranberries and bags of cereal like TJs maple mini wheats. Yummmmm

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 15, 2011 at 2:41 pm

      Thanks Shanna! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Ooo I haven’t tried TJ’s maple mini wheats?! Hubby and I have been on a Kashi Vanilla Wheat cereal kick lately so I’ll have to try those out!

    Laura @ Special Treat's said:
    September 15, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    Jennifer Anniston is my inspiration as well…LOVE her!!!!! And, I also love “This Years Love”…the piano is so soothing…everything about the song is awesome. Thanks for posting it, I had forgotten about this song and it’s so refreshing to hear it again. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 15, 2011 at 6:18 pm

      You’re welcome! So glad you enjoyed the song…it’s definitely one of those that you can come back to years later and still love it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mallory @ It's Only Life After All said:
    September 15, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Love her style too! Always classy and flattering. I also love Rachel Bilson’s “hippie”ish style; I’m definitely a 70s girl at heart.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 16, 2011 at 9:08 am

      Yes Rachel Bilson’s style is fantastic too, love it! 70’s fashion really is awesome…good thing flares are coming back in style this season!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    e@thisnotedlife said:
    September 15, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    jennifer anniston is my fashion icon – LOVE her! have you heard of a blog called j’s everyday fashion? It seems like something you might really enjoy. Let me know if you read it!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 16, 2011 at 9:09 am

      Yes! I love love J’s Everyday Fashion blog…in fact I was going to mention in the post how she inspired me to finally get on the skinny jeans trend. Love her! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

