A Camera Shy Weekend

Posted on Updated on

Hi everyone! Hope you all had a fabulous weekend and are ready to tackle this work week! I worked a half day Friday because I had big plans to meet up with the fabulous Shanna from ShannaLikeBanana. I feel like this girl is my long lost friend who I should have known 10 years ago! She’s absolutely wonderful, sweet, stylish, and tremendously gorgeous. We had lunch at Pluto’s where I got an awesome salad beast, and then we continued our fun over to Starbucks to get my first of the season Pumpkin Spice Latte, delish! After 3 hours of girl talk we could have easily chit chatted for many more hours and sadly we didn’t snap a pic since we were having too much fun ;)…but we’ve already decided that’s what next time is for…possible a date at Pinkberry??!! πŸ™‚

I was pretty camera shy the rest of the weekend too since no pictures were snapped. I’m telling ya, I need to get better about taking pictures! The minute I finish a plate of food I think “darn it! I forgot to take a pic!” For now I’m just going to have to use my wonderful descriptive words to tell you what an awesome weekend I had while relaxing with the hubby πŸ™‚

Saturday started off nice with us sleeping in until 7:30am, had coffee, then hubby had to tend to a couple hours of work while I lazed around catching up with RH and blog reading. We then went to the gym together to complete my first workout in over a week! It felt good, but at the same time I was pretty slow in the beginning…and I’m still sore today from that workout! I warmed up for about 10 minutes on the treadmill, then the hubby led me through an awesome strength training routine. We started out with some dynamic stretches and then completed the following routine – all are completed in 3 sets of 15 reps:

It was a great workout but I stayed in check with my intensity as to not get my heart rate up too high by keeping the weights at a medium weight and not moving too quickly through the moves. We then grabbed a bite to eat at Steelhead Brewery, where I had the Greek Salad with some bread and butter. And then the highlight of my weekend happened…fro yo at U Love Yogurt! It’s a new frozen yogurt shop on Burlingame Avenue and it was amazing…it had the best variety of yogurt flavors and toppings I’ve seen to date! But I stuck with my fav flavor of Peanut Butter and endless amounts of candy toppings. And we were entertained by this cute lil boy who was striking up a conversation with us and said that I’m “with the times style-wise in my maxi dress and Louis Vuitton purse”….he then added “I have 3 sisters so I’m up to date with this stuff” Ha! It was too cute! We then headed home and had a variety of snacks for dinner – let’s just say lots of Skippy Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter, TJ’s Honey Goat Cheese, and Keebler’s Cashew Crackers were consumed πŸ˜‰

Sunday we slept in a lil longer until 8:30 (felt so good!) and I got us breakfast from Starbucks…non-fat lattes with a snack plate of a Turkey Bacon Sandwich, Blueberry Coffeecake, and the Apple Fritter, delish! We lazed around the house watching football and then hightailed to the gym to do our respective workouts…30 min. elliptical and 30 min. treadmill walking for me. Then headed to Fish Market for lunch for more football fun. I got the Warm Spinach Salad and Ceviche – my favorite go to items on their menu. Then we went to BJ’s for more football action where we were utterly disappointed with the 49ers loss…they were so close to a victory too! At least the food was good and I got the Thai Shrimp Lettuce Wraps πŸ™‚

The rest of the evening was spent relaxing at home…and of course, more football action. Have I said yet how much I’m loving that football season is back?! It was a great weekend and now we’re back to the daily grind…no workout for me today and breakfast was another one of these…

Smoothie yumminess: 1 cup Whole Milk, 1 frozen banana, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (the last of it!), 1 tsp. xanthan gum, handful of Peanut Butter Puffins added later.

Hope you all are having a great Monday so far, see you all tomorrow!

Questions:
What weekend fun did you have? Any football victories for your home team?!
How do you add protein to your smoothies? I’m all out of protein powder and want to wait until the 1st week of October to stock up more at GNC since that’s when we get our discount…so I’m open to all suggestions of how to add more protein to my smoothies!

13 thoughts on “A Camera Shy Weekend

    Amy said:
    September 19, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I love greek yogurt for adding protein.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 19, 2011 at 12:43 pm

      Yes me too! Great tip – thanks Amy! Although I think I’ll have to buy the cheap stuff because I can’t stand to add my expensive Fage into a smoothie! πŸ˜‰

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    September 19, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    So good to hear you had a blast with Shanna and that your first workout after a week of rest went so well!

    I miss working/living near frozen yogurt shops… I mean I suppose I could take the Subway hahaha THAT would be serious frozen yogurt dedication. When I managed for a hotel in Harvard Square I used to get a HUGE plain fro yo with tons of granola and fresh fruit and called in lunch. Ah I miss those days

    I hate to say it but I haven’t been keeping up with football! I am a HUGE basketball fan (LOVE the Celtics!) so I devote most of my sports watching energy during the year to them. Football is just so far away, and the games are so long haha

    I add whey protein to my smoothies but when I am out I add Greek yogurt and/or peanut butter or other high protein nut butter. You could even try raw egg whites but because of your baby making plans I would be careful with that πŸ™‚ I’m sure you know that!! Egg whites from all-natural/organic eggs add super high quality protein and an awesome frothy texture to smoothies.

    I love your Sunday Starbucks tradition with your husband… too cute! ❀ Andrew and I weer both so busy we missed our weekly breakfast at our favorite breakfast joint. Very, very tragic 😦

    Happy Monday! πŸ˜€

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 20, 2011 at 6:56 am

      Oooo I love having a large cup of fro yo and calling it lunch or dinner, it’s the best!

      I had thought about adding a raw egg to my smoothies too, but like you said, avoided it because of baby making plans. When we were little my dad would always make me a chocolate milkshake and add in an egg (unbeknownst to us at the time!) to healthify it for us πŸ˜‰

      I find it very tragic too when we have to skip our Sunday Starbucks tradition!! Hey it’s the little things right?! πŸ˜‰ Hope you had a great Monday!

    Sherri said:
    September 19, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Peanut Butter in your smoothie sounds good to me!

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    September 19, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Hmm, maybe we need to visit that froyo place πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for all the kind comments — I feel the same way about you!

    Stanford kicked U of A’s @ss this weekend — WIN!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 20, 2011 at 6:51 am

      Awww thank you girl πŸ™‚

      And you would love that fro yo place…it’s definitely worth the trip up north to Burlingame…I’m in!!

      Whoo hoo Stanford!! That’s awesome they whooped Arizona’s bootay! πŸ˜‰

    Amy@ahealthyandhappyheart said:
    September 19, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    Lot’s of football went down in this house! Unfortunately for team (Philadelphia Eagles) lost Sunday night… BOO! Glad you had a fun weekend!

    Sierra @ Posh Meets Pavement said:
    September 20, 2011 at 3:14 am

    I add about a 1/4-1/3 cup of cottage cheese and it seriously grosses me out, but I promise it tastes amazing. It great for the texture and creaminess. I also add raw almonds and oatbran.

    Love hearing about all the bay area eats. Coming home next week and will be sure to check some of them out, especially the froyo.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 20, 2011 at 6:48 am

      Great protein tips, thank you!

      Yes you have to check out the fro yo stops here, we have a ton now around the bay area. Have a safe trip home! πŸ™‚

      And I just checked over to your blog and you’re gorgeous girl, and your wedding pic is absolutely stunning!

    Courtney said:
    September 20, 2011 at 3:51 am

    I had a GREAT weekend, and YES, my Jets won! And I got to be at the game to see it πŸ™‚
    I’ve been using SunWarrior and I love it – it’s one of the only powders that doesn’t upset my tummy.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 20, 2011 at 6:43 am

      Whoo hoo for your Jets! Especially since you got to be there and tailgate, it looked like a blast!

      I’ll have to try the SunWarrior, I’ve been seeing it all over the blogworld! And good to know it doesn’t upset the tummy since I’m sensitive to that kind of stuff too πŸ™‚

    A Bad Habit & Peanut Butter Smoothieness | The Good Life said:
    September 21, 2011 at 9:35 am

    […] my smoothie for this mornings breakfast, but this one was a tad different. When I asked in this post for you all to give me suggestions on how to add protein to my smoothies, besides my usual protein […]

Leave a Reply

