Summer in September

Posted on Updated on

Whoo wee are we getting summer weather here in Northern Cali right now! It’s awesome and I’m definitely not complaining…however it would have been nice to get this heat wave during the summertime…but something is better than nothing, right?! Here’s our awesome weather for the week…

We haven’t seen temps like this throughout the entire summer, but we finally do at the end of September?! That’s our California Indian Summer…happens every year. One of the few states where you get to still sport summer dresses…

Dress: Forever21, Heels: Stuart Weitzman, and I added a cardigan later to make it office appropriate for work πŸ™‚

And the only state where you can still enjoy cold foods in the form of…overnight oats!!!

1/3 cup Oats, 1/2 cup 2% Fage Yogurt (2% is amazing!), 1/2 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk, 1 tsp. Chia Seeds, 2 packets Splenda, 1 sliced banana, handful puffins

I tried to give the look of my overnight oats a lil more excitement by making it into a parfait but you can’t really see the layers in it…oh well, it made it more fun to eat and as always, super delish! πŸ™‚

This morning I felt like doing something different for my workout so I consulted my OnDemand Exercise TV for workout inspiration. I had also remembered how much Courtney enjoyed Chris Fretag’s 10 lb. Slimdown Xtreme classes so I decided to give her Kickboxing one a shot….

It was 40 minutes of cardio consisting of kickboxing and punching moves and I absolutely loved it! I really enjoy Chris Fretag’s style too, she’s girly (cute Lululemon outfit with hoop earrings, love that!), while at the same time has a no-nonsense attitude that makes you want to workout hard, but she’s fun at the same time. However it’s not as intense as my usual spin or bootcamp classes, but for now that’s a good thing for me…and I still even worked up a sweat which is always a sign of a good workout for me πŸ™‚

Well lovlies I better boogy…sorry to make this a short one but it’s a busy one here at work for me today…and my Google Reader has 52 unread items, ahhh! Better get on that! Enjoy your day everyone and I’ll see you all back here tomorrow πŸ™‚

Questions:
Do you ever workout at home? Have you ever tried OnDemand Exercise TV or do you have a favorite workout dvd you enjoy exercising too? I hadn’t worked out at home in years, and I have to admit I really enjoyed not having to drive anywhere and workout with bed head πŸ˜‰
Do you like to make parfaits out of your meals?
What’s your weather like currently in your neck of the woods?
Does your Google Reader ever get out of control like mine?!

7 thoughts on “Summer in September

    Shanna like Banana said:
    September 20, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    It is so HOT here. I am over it ;-p the only plus side is that it makes me crave froyo even more. Mmmm ….

    Courtney said:
    September 21, 2011 at 5:00 am

    So glad you liked the workout! I actually did one today too…I’m going to attempt the 4 week challenge (I think…eek!)
    If I had 52 items in my Google Reader, I’d say I was probably doing pretty good. πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 10:00 am

      Oooo I just read your post about the challenge, it sounds awesome and I’d love to join it! I’ll leave a comment soon… πŸ™‚

      Haha ok that makes me feel better then about my Google Reader πŸ˜‰

    Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun said:
    September 21, 2011 at 7:52 am

    I’m always doing either Cathe or Turbo Jam workouts at home. I wish I had On Demand for things like that. Looks like a good one!

    And I always think food tastes better when it is prettied up too. πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 9:57 am

      I love your “prettied up” oatmeal bowls! They always look so delish πŸ™‚

      I have yet to try Cathe or Turbo Jam and I know from your blog how much you love them, I’ll definitely have to try them out since I know you like to workout hard like I do πŸ˜‰

    Sherri said:
    September 23, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Love the dress!

Leave a Reply

