A Bad Habit & Peanut Butter Smoothieness

Posted on Updated on

Hello everyone! Happy hump day and is it just me or is this week whizzing on by super fast? I felt like last week was dragging and I was super tired, probably because of my silly cold. But this week I’m feeling much like myself again, my cold is pretty much gone, and we’re having some serious summer weather here. It’s been a real good week so far and that makes me one very happy camper blogger πŸ˜‰

My homepage on my internet is Yahoo and in the mornings I always like to catch up on the various articles on their news feed that stems from worldwide breaking news, to entertainment, to health information…(click on the box if you can’t see what it looks like)

Any of you watching Dancing With The Stars this season? I’m not…the people just don’t interest me this year…

So anyway, this morning I came across an article that talked about the best and worst sweeteners, and my choice of sweetener was one of the worst sweeteners listed, eek! As some of you may or may not know, I am a Splenda addict and I put quite a bit of it in my coffee, Greek yogurt, and smoothies. I know here in the “healthy living blog world” it’s taboo to use artificial sweeteners so I haven’t talked much about my over consumption of this evil sugar, but I’m coming clean here to let you all know that this is by far one of my worst “food-wise” habits.

I’ve read that some of these are safe during pregnancy, but I think I use a lil too much and I’d really like to lessen my consumption and try using alternative sweeteners. However I have tried using Stevia, and it actually tastes more artificial and gross to me…I know Shanna agrees with me on this one πŸ˜‰

**Click here for the article to see if your sweetener makes it on the best or worst list.
Questions: So what about you all? What type of sweetener do you use? Does it fall on the best or worst list?
Do you have any tips for me on how to clean up this bad habit of mine?!

And with the summer weather and all, I felt like another summer dress was in order…

And to make it more work appropriate…

Dress: Express, Shoes: Stuart Weitzman, Cardigan: Urban Outfitters

Lunches and Dinners have been the usual around here along with my smoothie for this mornings breakfast, but this one was a tad different. When I asked in this post for you all to give me suggestions on how to add protein to my smoothies, besides my usual protein powder, a lot of you mentioned peanut butter and that’s exactly what I did today. And let me tell you, I’m definitely making this a staple, it was peanut buttery goodness and thank you all for recommending this!

1 cup Whole Milk, 1 frozen banana, 1 tbsp. Skippy Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter, 1 tsp. xanthan gum, 1 packet Splenda

See those peanut butter flakes?! Yum!

With the addition of whole milk this baby tasted like a bowl of healthified peanut butter ice cream…actually now that I think about it, it better since this sucker had a whopping 16 grams of heart healthy fats! Whoo wee! This will be sure to keep me nice and full until lunchtime πŸ™‚

Hope you all have a wonderful day and I’ll see you all back here tomorrow! πŸ™‚

29 thoughts on “A Bad Habit & Peanut Butter Smoothieness

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    September 21, 2011 at 9:46 am

    LOVE your outfit today! Too cute Shayla!

    I used to be SO addicted to artificial sweeteners… I chewed so much Orbit gum (aspartame), drank so much diet coke (aspartame) and used so much Splenda at one point I was getting sick.. seriously. Once I cut it out entirely I felt 100% better. Aspartame is the worst out of the bunch… these sweeteners confuse the body and can really screw up your chemistry. It is also linked to MS. My mother has multiple sclerosis… another reason why I avoid artificial sweeteners like the plague.

    I totally agree straight stevia tastes AWFUL. So bitter and nasty. BUT!!! That is not the only all natural no calorie sweetener out there. You should try Xylitol or Erythiritol… sugar alcohols. Try NuStevias No Carb Blend sweetener ( https://nunaturals.com/product/112 ) .. I swear it will knock your socks off. It is a a erythritol sweetener and tastes SO good. Also, Truvia is not so bad… LOVE the taste it just fdoesnt blend well.

    If you drink diet soda try Zevia… really good. Sweetened with stevia and erythritol

    Anyway… I obviously feel passionate about this topic haha TThere are SO many better options besides splenda, other artificial sweeteners and stevia…. I’m sure you can find one you’ll like πŸ˜€

    Honestly though, the best way is just to stop using any at first to get used to less sweet food/beverages… it’s hard… but if I could do it you definitely can!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      Thank you Sarah, you are the sweetest! πŸ™‚

      Ha I’m the same with the gum and the diet soda, ugh, so bad for me. Wow I didn’t know it was linked to MS? If that doesn’t make me want to stop I don’t know what will so I am definitely going to try your suggestions. You give me hope in that if you can do it then I can! I really do love that “sweet” taste in things and that’s what I really need to get a hold of so your suggestion to stop it all is what I just have to do.

      Yes I’ve tried the Zevia soda when I was at Whole Foods one day and that was the only diet soda they had and I actually really liked it, so I need to make an effort to start buying that and ditch the Diet Coke. And I’ve actually heard great things about NuNaturals but wasn’t sure how good they were, so if you like them then I’m definitely hopping over there after I write this and buying some! πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much girl for your suggestions, I really appreciate it! This definitely makes me want to stop with the artificial sweeteners and break this bad habit – once and for all!

    Shanna like Banana said:
    September 21, 2011 at 10:57 am

    Have you tried PB2 yet? It’s in powder form and is awezome to put in smoothies!

    I wonder where Equal falls on that list. Hmmmm

    Oh and looking great in the dress/cardi combo!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 12:01 pm

      Thank you Shanna!! ❀

      Yes I thought of you and Equal…it actually falls under Aspartame which is Bad Guy #1, eek!

      Yes I've tried PB2 and put it in my greek yogurt, love love it! It creates this thick, creamy yumminess! I've tried it in my smoothie but for some reason it didn't mix well…I should try it again though, maybe I didn't use enough liquid last time?

    e@thisnotedlife said:
    September 21, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    i love your outfit with the sweater πŸ™‚ I started watching DWTS but im not a HUGE fan of the cast either… i still watch bc i like a lot of the dancers πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      Thanks girl! πŸ™‚

      Yeah what’s up with the cast this season??!! I’m the same in that I catch it every once in awhile to watch the dancers…they are so awesome to watch and I love the ladies sparkly dresses…and the guys aren’t so bad to look at either πŸ˜‰

    Amy said:
    September 21, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I used to be hooked on equal and sweet and low and I always had horrible migraines. When I cut them out and started using stevia my migraines went away and I haven’t had one since. Stevia did take some getting used to but it was well worth it in the long run.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 3:43 pm

      Definitely worth it in the long run and good for you in finding the solution to your migraines, it’s crazy what certain additives do to our bodies. My mom had the same reaction to MSG, it would give her horrible horrible headaches!

    Mo said:
    September 21, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Aspartame causing MS is pretty much a myth. That “rumor” was spread around the Internet about 10 years ago, but most studies done refute all of it. Also, be careful of to much of the sugar alcohols (anything ending in ol) as they can cause gas and diarrhea in some people.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 3:41 pm

      Great advice Mo, thanks so much! What sweeteners would you recommend? I know nothing is the best solution, but if choosing, can you recommend any? Especially when pregnant? Thanks!

      sarahsmodernbites said:
      September 23, 2011 at 6:29 am

      You’re right that sugar alcohols can wreak havoc on the digestive system that is for sure.. I have been there yikes! However, sorbitol and malitol especially are the biggest offenders… erythritol and xylitol have been shown to not cause digestive sytems like the other two. I have zero trouble with erythritol or xylitol and the same goes for people I know that use them as well.

      Regarding MS…. It is essentially unknown as to what causes it but because my Mother and a few of my aunts have it.. I take no chances. Aspartame is BAD. Period. Whether or not it is linked to MS it is a terrible and addictive chemical. That is a fact.

        Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
        September 23, 2011 at 11:04 am

        You’re right Sarah, agree with everything you said. Bottom line is, Aspartame is definitely bad and I need to stop my consumption of Splenda. Thanks girl for your educated thoughts on this topic πŸ™‚

    Lauren said:
    September 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    I used to love artificial sweetners (Splenda), but after reading all of the articles about them, I try to avoid them. I don’t add them to anything but I will still buy something with Splenda in it!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 4:59 pm

      I too find it hard to not buy something with Splenda already in it so like you, I definitely need to stop *adding *them to my foods, eek!

    Sarah said:
    September 21, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Trying to cut back on the Diet Coke because of the artificial sweeteners in it… I tend to use (a little) normal sugar or honey if I want to sweeten food though! Your dress is gorgeous by the way πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 5:32 pm

      Thank you Sarah for the sweet comment! πŸ™‚

      It’s so hard for me to cut back on the Diet Coke too…and good tip on the honey, I really need to start using *real *sweeteners more often, much better than the artificial! Btw, love your blog name πŸ™‚

    bakebooks said:
    September 21, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    That dress is cute. I used to eat a lot of foods with Splenda in it but just cut it out. I do use Stevia and find it very neutral tasting. Have you tried different names? Because some brands are more bitter. I think NuNaturals is a popular one, but I usually just get whatever’s cheapest at the store, Herbal Select or Krisda I think. I also just use maple syrup as well πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      I’ve tried Trader Joe’s brand of Stevia and it was just awful, really artificial and bad tasting. I’ve gotten a lot of positive responses to try NuNaturals so I’m definitely going to try that. I love maple syrup as a natural sweetener, as well as honey too! πŸ™‚

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    September 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    I agree about stecia. When I first had it it was nasty…gave me a headache..and I refuse to use artificial sweeteners so I just opted for natural sugars in moderation. I won a NuNaturals giveaway and the alcohol-free liquid stevia doesn’t bother me. you have to use SUCH a small amount…too much and it gets gross. I would try some of their products if I were you!

    I used to be addicted to artificial sweeteners back in the day…so not good for you but you know that πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 21, 2011 at 9:12 pm

      Thanks so much girl for your response! I know they’re so bad for me, I really need to break this very bad habit of mine. I’m definitely going to take your advice and try the NuNaturals in small doses and/or natural sugars in moderation. Your comment really inspires me to break this bad habit, once and for all, thanks girl πŸ™‚

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    September 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    sorry for the typos eek

    katie said:
    September 22, 2011 at 2:13 am

    if you liked that smoothie you should try making ice cream from frozen bananas + pb! to diieeeeeee for

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 23, 2011 at 11:11 am

      Oooo yes yes I’ve tried the banana ice cream before and it was amazing! But never with PB, that sounds even more amazing, I will definitely try it. Thanks girl! πŸ™‚

    Front Row and Center | The Good Life said:
    September 22, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    […] Post navigation ← Previous […]

    Bri said:
    September 22, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    My younger sister used to have seizures after consuming aspartame! It’s nasty stuff! I used to be so addicted to splenda (I even had a splenda cook book!) But now I won’t touch it. I like agave, stevia, and real sugar in small doses (it is okay! :). Otherwise, I think you could get used to not having it in your yogurt and smoothie.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 23, 2011 at 11:07 am

      I’m so sorry to hear that, that’s awful. After reading yours and the other comments, it’s definitely reinforced in me that I need to end my consumption of artificial sweeteners. I agree in that real sugar in small doses is ok and that is what I’ll be trying, thanks girl! πŸ™‚

    Brigid said:
    September 28, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Hi! I share your concern about artificial sweeteners and have basically given them up, aside from a diet coke every now and then. I’ve turned to agave syrup (which doesn’t spike your blood sugar as much) or even just half a packet of raw sugar when needed. I’ve also found that cutting up some real fruit can serve as a more satisfying sweetener (e.g., banana or apples on oatmeal instead of brown sugar).

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 28, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Thank you so much Brigid, those are great recommendations! And diet coke has been such a hard habit for me to break, at least I’ve toned it down a bit, baby steps πŸ˜‰

    Hello October | The Good Life said:
    October 3, 2011 at 11:57 am

    […] up on more prenatal vitamins and finally got the NuNaturals Stevia you all recommended to me in my Bad Habit […]

Leave a Reply

