Front Row and Center

Posted on

Hello friends! How is everyone’s Thursday going so far?! I want to say a huge thank you to all you wonderful readers and bloggers for weighing in on my Bad Habit post from yesterday. You all gave some awesome tips and I learned a great deal from every one of you…you all have really inspired me to kick this habit. Thank you so very much and everyday I can’t get over how great this community is ❤ ❤ ❤

This morning I got in a nice sweaty workout doing the new class I’m absolutely loving, ViPR! My first class was a couple weeks ago and let me tell you, today wasn’t any easier, I think it was even harder today and the drills he had us do definitely whopped my booty…that or I’m just getting old, lol! 😉

A lot of blogs I read have touched on what motives you to workout hard in the gym, and while in class this morning I realized one thing in particular that lights a fire under me is standing in the front row – front row and center to be exact. Whether it be a spin class, bootcamp class, Vipr class, you name it, you can bet I’ll be right in that spot – I love it. I’ve found that being in the front row really motivates me to push harder since I know the instructor and students can see me better, and hey, I like to show off a little 😉

Not to toot my own horn, but many times instructors have come up to me (and the hubby!) saying what a great job I did and are impressed at what an intense exerciser I am…which I think they find funny because on the outside I look girly and innocent (like someone who’s fearful of breaking a nail, ha!), but at the gym I have my game face on and the “put up or shut up” mentality. I also think that’s why it’s so hard for me to workout at home. Though I do love those days not having to drive anywhere and workout with bed head, I even more love the energy of the gym and thrive off of being around fellow gym goers.

The front row and center is my spot, I love being able to see myself in the mirror to check out my form, to see my body working hard and the strength it’s capable of, and in being reminded of how thankful I am to have a healthy, strong, fit body 🙂

Questions: I’m curious about you all…are you a front row and center exerciser like myself?
What motivates you to workout hard at the gym?
If you’re someone who exercises at home, how do you get motivated to push yourself?

Last nights dinner was an oldie but goodie…but I promise tonight’s will be different since the hubby will be cooking, yipee!

And some crunch factor was consumed in the form of these new finds from Safeway…

Nothing beats good ole classic corn chips…and the sea salt & pepper kettle chips?! Amazing! Copious handfuls of those babies were definitely consumed 😉

This morning was foggy and dreary so a warm, creamy bowl of oats sounded perfect!

Hope you’re all having a great day so far and see you tomorrow for Friday Lovin’! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Front Row and Center

    Caitlin C. said:
    September 22, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    I am SO a front row exerciser! The more up front I can be the better and I have the exact same feelings as you about why I like to be up front. I like it when the instructors say “see ya next time!” to me or something like that – makes me feel like I was noticed!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 22, 2011 at 12:21 pm

      Yes exactly I love that too! I love the feeling that I was noticed and love it when they say that or my instructor always says “Great job!” or “Awesome work today!” Makes me feel like a bad ass 😉

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    September 22, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    I like standing near the front in Bikram but that’s about it. I need some more confidence I think 😉

    And I also think when I can full out exercise again, I’m joining you Rambo style =P

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 23, 2011 at 11:09 am

      Girl you should be rocking your hotness in the front! 😉

      And you are so joining me Rambo style once baby Sawyer is here…I would absolutely love love that! 🙂

    Kristin @ STUFT Mama said:
    September 23, 2011 at 12:02 am

    Funny because I teach classes so I’m in the front, but when I take other people’s classes I’m in the back right hand corner every time. 🙂 ha!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 23, 2011 at 11:09 am

      When I used to teach I’d always hide in the back too…I didn’t want the students to get sick of me, ha! 😉

    Sherri said:
    September 23, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Always left front. Up front must be in the genes!

Leave a Reply

