Reality Checks

Posted on

Hi everyone and happy hump day! I’m pretty stoked half the week is almost over and the weekend will be here before we know it πŸ™‚

I want to say a big thank you to all you readers and blog friends for the many wonderful Anniversary wishes, they all warmed my heart so very much ❀

****

There are so many instances in my life where I can remember needing a reality check…I remember my first happened when I graduated high school and started college at F.I.D.M in San Francisco – I entered the real world into a very eclectic, exciting city and was exposed to some many different people and real life situations. I got a reality check into what the world is like outside of my bubble and at times it was both exciting and uncomfortable being exposed to this rawness of the real world. My reality checks didn’t stop there…I realized who my true friends were, how important family is to me, how much my parents worked hard to give me the most loving, supportive and amazing life, how much money it costs to live in this world, and how important it is to eat healthy and exercise – not just to be thin anymore, but to be healthy.

That last reality check rang true for me again this past weekend while talking with the hubby about life…and the hubby is very gifted at giving me reality checks πŸ˜‰ Every couple months we “check in” with one another and have talks about how we’re feeling in our lives, what goals we want to accomplish, and it being our anniversary and all, discussed the hopes and dreams we have for this next year in our marriage.

I’m sure you guessed the main topic of discussion was us trying for a baby, and if you’re all still wondering, we’re still trying! πŸ™‚ It’s been about 3 months, which feels like an eternity since this is something we want more than anything right now in this entire universe…and I don’t want days and months to pass without anything happening and regretting not giving it my all in dealing with my HA.

We also talked about research I’ve done and feedback I’ve received from women who have experience with HA, and I’ve learned that it’s not only the exercise component to this, but it’s about being sure my diet has sufficient amount of calories and nutrients. Another component that helped women was to be at a BMI of 21 – mine is at 20.36 – so I’m almost there. I won’t go into details right now the feelings and struggles I have with this, it’s very frustrating and I like the weight I’m at right now, but I have to do what I have to do in order to beat this HA and get pregnant. I am more than ever now determined to make my diet as healthy as possible, along with low intensity exercising. With change and reality checks, I’m always one who has to take baby steps with these things, but now that I have all the information telling me what I need to do, I’m more determined than ever to make these additional changes…and I’ll be sure to keep you all posted with the progress πŸ™‚

Speaking of BMI, I was over at my parents house and we were discussing everything I just mentioned, and it got me thinking what my true height was. I always thought I was 5’8″ and always prided myself on that height, but hubby seemed determined to think I was 5’7″….so we did what any other crazy family would do, we measured me!

We took this very seriously…

Not sure what my sis is doing down there??!! lol!

Hubby is taking this very seriously…

We even got my sister’s boyfriend in on the action…and a level!

And the verdict is??!! Drum roll please…5’7.25″ Hey, that quarter makes all the difference. Hubby was once again right, and I guess I got a reality check on my height too πŸ˜‰
So folks I guess I shrunk?! Eek!

****

Monday I took the day off from exercise, yesterday I did 25 minutes of yoga at home (loved it and am excited to incorporate more into my routine!) and today 30 minutes of the elliptical. Another change I’ve made is eating breakfast right when I wake up in the morning. Hubby and I get up at the ungodly hour of 4am and the only thing that was sustaining me until my true breakfast at 9am was coffee and handfuls of cereal, not good.

Hubby has told me millions of times how important it is to eat right upon waking (and I know it is I’m just stubborn to change), but especially with our goals right now, it’s important I start making this a habit. As you can tell by now, hubby is good at these reality checks…I definitely have a keeper πŸ˜‰

So this morning at 4:30am I enjoyed a delicious bowl of Kashi Go Lean with a handful of Cinnamon Rice Chex to which I added milk and enjoyed it with a side of coffee…

It gave me such a great energy boost and I wasn’t dragging come 9am when in the past I’d be eating my first meal since being up at 4:30am. Not only my energy, but I’ve noticed it’s put me in an all around happier mood and attitude…it really makes such a difference when you focus on nourishing and fueling your body consistently, starting right at the very moment you wake up πŸ™‚

Second breakfast of the morning was overnight oats! I know I’m slow in the game of putting them in a near empty nut butter jar (aka OOIAJ), but this was my first time and let me tell you, I am happy I came to this party. It.was.awesome. The bites with chunks of crunchy peanut butter were the best!

Ready for Overnight Oats action!

Pre-toppings…

Finished product…

1/3 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup Fage yogurt, 1/2 cup milk, 1 tsp. chia seeds, remnants of peanut butter (~1 tbsp.), 1/2 sliced banana, handful peanut butter puffins

Hope you all have a great day and I’ll see you back here tomorrow! πŸ™‚

Questions:
What was a reality check you’ve had?
Have you been mistaken on what your height is?
How early do you eat breakfast?!
Do you notice a difference in your energy and moods when you fuel yourself a certain way?
Have you tried OOIAJ?!

20 thoughts on “Reality Checks

    Amy said:
    September 28, 2011 at 11:37 am

    I notice a big difference when I eat healthy and eat enough. I have so much more energy.
    I thought I was 5″5″ but I’m only 5″4.25″
    I’m like u and gotta get that quarter in there.
    I haven’t been able to open your blogs that come to my email. I have no idea why.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 28, 2011 at 11:50 am

      Haha yep that quarter makes a difference! πŸ˜‰

      Huh that’s weird? I wonder what could be wrong…maybe try unsubscribing and resubscribing to it again. I’ll also research it and let you know if I figure anything out. Sorry for the trouble and thanks for letting me know!

    Mo said:
    September 28, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    So proud of you shayla for gradually doing what’s best for you and your health. I know it’s hard – that’s why they are called eating “habits” :-). I think you will be surprised by how much extra food it will take to gain just a little weight. (especially when you are eating good wholesome foods. Enjoy the increased energy and well-being you feel!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 28, 2011 at 5:46 pm

      Wow thank you so much Mo for that sweet comment, it means a lot to me πŸ™‚

      This afternoon I was just talking with the hubby about how great I’m feeling and what awesome energy and mood I’ve had all day…I’m definitely enjoying it and it feels awesome to be doing something great for my body and feeling the amazing effects from it πŸ™‚

    Sherri said:
    September 28, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    After years of not eating breakfast I couldn’t believe how much better I felt all day when I finally did. So proud of you for eating your early breakfast. Now you can understand why I would bug you about it! If we can gear our eating and exercise routine towards how we feel we’re living the Good Life!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 28, 2011 at 5:38 pm

      Thanks so much mom!! Yes I definitely understand why now…as I was writing this I was thinking about you getting me to eat breakfast! πŸ˜‰

      Love your last sentence too, so true! Love ya! πŸ™‚ xoxo

    Lauren said:
    September 28, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I always thought I was 5’11 and it turns out I’m 5’10 1/4…

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 28, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      Ha! Glad to see I’m not the only one who lost 3/4 of an inch!! πŸ˜‰

    e@thisnotedlife said:
    September 28, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    haha this is so funny… people were definitely not messing around with you! I swear i used to be 5’3 but now I’m 5’2 :-/ And i definitely see a mood/energy difference when i eat better and don’t skip meals… you’d think that would ensure that i’d eat 3 meals/day but sadly it does not.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 28, 2011 at 5:36 pm

      Ha glad to know I’m not the only one shrinking! Eek! πŸ˜‰

      I know the feeling…I feel silly for letting myself go without food for that long in the morning…these things are always a work in progress but it’s awesome when we make it happen and feel the amazing effects from it πŸ™‚

    Laura @ Special Treat's said:
    September 28, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I did not know that women trying to conceive should be at a BMI of 21…those w/HA or not. Very interesting and great info. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚ I love OOIAJ with delicious peanut butter…yum! Also, I thought I got up early at 4:50 am, but 4:30…yikes! I eat breakfast super early and my husband laughs b/c I’m ready for lunch around 10:30 am, haha.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      I know I didn’t realize that either until I did all this research and have been in contact with these women this past week. In fact, I went to the doctor’s today just for a routine physical and told her that part, and she agreed that yes, women have a better chance of conceiving at a BMI of 21 and even better at 22. Hearing her say that to me really reenforced in me that I need to gain to that BMI πŸ™‚

      Glad to hear you’re in the super early breakfast club too πŸ˜‰ I would so be wanting lunch at 10am if I didn’t eat that second breakfast! I like to think that means our metabolisms are on fire πŸ˜‰

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    September 28, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Great post hon!

    We all need reality checks now and then…god knows I do! I often can get on tangents and vent or hold grudges, so the hubby reminds me how little it means in the long run and not to waste time being unhappy. It’s tough, but I definitely try to work on it.

    And YES I did have a reality check with my height. I had always assumed I was 5’4″ but I went to the doctor a few years ago and they say I’m 5’5″. Since I’m skeptical, I say I’m 5’4.5″. Always in the grey area πŸ˜›

    As for breakfast, I wake up at 6ish and eat at 9a, every day…and it’s 98% of the time hot oatmeal. But I definitely start drinking coffee at 730a. It’s a must!

    And fyi, my BMI was about 20.1 when I conceived so I think as long as your are in the normal, you’ve got a pretty good shot πŸ˜€

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 28, 2011 at 6:14 pm

      Thanks so much Shanna! I sometimes get that way too and the hubby is always so good at putting things back in perspective for me πŸ™‚

      Ha at least your height was a growth spurt! πŸ˜‰

      Coffee is a definite must first thing in the morning…I just don’t think I could function properly, lol!

      Thank you for sharing your bmi, I was wondering what yours was too when you conceived πŸ˜‰ Me knowing that gives me peace of mind and reminds me that I’m on the right track, thanks girly πŸ™‚

    lapiattini said:
    September 29, 2011 at 8:22 am

    Thank you for sharing all of this. It is very personal and I appreciate your honesty. In a way it was a reality check for me. I guess I just never thought about diet and exercise affecting getting pregnant. Since we are engaged, kids have definitely come up. We’re gonna hold off for a few years, but I’m glad I read this- it gave me some knowledge for the future.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 29, 2011 at 11:50 am

      This makes me so happy to hear and it’s great to know I helped in some way…if I knew what I know now years ago I never would have deprived myself like I did. Take it from me girl to honor and love your body right now…your body will thank you and you will be ready when your time comes to have babies…and congrats on your engagement! Such an exciting time for you right now, cherish every moment πŸ™‚

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    September 29, 2011 at 11:02 am

    I was always 5’4” until I did pilates. I got measured at the doctor about 3 months after I started it and I measured 5’5”. I got so excited and told the doctor I grew because of pilates and she gave me the weirdest look! I still measure in at 5’5” and love it!

    As for breakfast, my husband and I are usually up at 4:50am, and back at home after a workout by 6:45am. I typically wait to have breakfast until around 7:30am after I’ve had my morning coffee. If I wake up starving, which happens, I grabs a spoonful of pb or nuts before I hit the gym. I’ll also munch on fruit as well after my workout if I’m too hungry to wait for breakfast at 7:30am.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 29, 2011 at 11:41 am

      Wow really??!! I need to get myself into pilates so I can grow an inch, ha! I would be so excited too and would love to be 5’8″ again…. πŸ™‚

      I like your breakfast routine too…if I’m too full to wake up to eat I think eating right after working out is perfect. I was waiting until 9am and that is just too long….having food in me right away has made a world of a difference in how I feel energy and mood wise πŸ™‚

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    September 29, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Awwww your family is adorable measuring you. Hahahaa so so funny. And cute. And you are so beautiful!

    I know how you feel right now. You want it so so so bad and every month feels like an eternity. Heck, every week felt like it waiting to take “the test.”

    It will happen. The best thing you can do it what you said..eat right, exercise moderately…and above ALL….no stress. That’s KEY!

    My hubby is great for reality checks too. I get them often and need them too!!!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      September 30, 2011 at 9:31 am

      You are the sweetest Laury, thank you so much for your sweet comment…and it helps so much to hear support and reinforcement like this, thanks girly πŸ™‚ xoxo

Leave a Reply

