Hello October

Posted on Updated on

Hi everyone! Hope you’re having good Monday so far. It’s a gloomy one here in the Bay Area and I think we’re finally seeing signs of fall here in our neck of the woods. It actually blows my mind that October is already here and we’re only a couple months away from the New Year…anyone else feel like this year flew by?!

It’s especially crazy for me because tomorrow marks my 1 year anniversary that I’ve been here at my job…it really only feels like I’ve been here for about 6 months…I guess that’s a good thing? And though I love summer, I’m actually really looking forward to everything that fall brings…the cooler crisp weather, the fall fashion (hello boots, sweater dresses, and scarves!), football, and the holiday seasons 🙂

This past weekend was a good one for the hubby and I…a lot of relaxation and quality time spent together. I didn’t take many photos from over the weekend, but I did snap a pic of the amazing turkey burgers the hubby made for us Friday night…

Lean ground turkey made with chopped onions and cheddar cheese on an English Muffin topped with ketchup and mayo. Side of Orzo Pasta Salad from our local grocery deli – made with Feta, Artichoke Hearts, and Sun Dried Tomatoes

And capped it off with a sweet treat of a Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Godiva bar…we ate it too fast so I got a pic of the wrapper…

Saturday I did my usual morning Spin class, it was awesome as always. And then made my routine pit stop to pick up some TJ essentials…

Once hubby was done working out we ran a few errands together. It was finally the first week of the month and that meant we could use our GNC Goldcard to receive 20% off our purchase. So I stocked up on more prenatal vitamins and finally got the NuNaturals Stevia you all recommended to me in my Bad Habit post…

So far I really like it in my coffee, it gives it a more “natural” sweetness…and I’ve yet to try it in my yogurt , we’ll see how that goes since I like my Greek yogurt super sweet!

The hubby and I like to enjoy our Saturday evenings out of the house, either it be at my parent’s for dinner or at a restaurant, but since we didn’t want to spend much money we decided to use my gift card to the Cheesecake Factory at the brand new one right here in San Mateo at the Hillsdale Mall. However with it being only 2 weeks old, the restaurant was jammed packed, we wanted to watch the Yankees game but the entire bar was swamped, and it was an hour wait for a table so we scratched that idea and decided to use our gift card for another time. So we hopped on over across the street to T.G.I. Friday’s…not the most fanciest place with best food in town, but we were hungry and on a budget, and most importantly wanted to sit at a bar where we new we could get a seat to watch the Yankees game. We started with Appetizers of the Spinach Florentine Flatbread and Pot stickers, and then shared The Shrimp Key West entree…it was ok and the bill ended up being more expensive then we liked (why does this always happen?!), but at least the Yankees won! 🙂

Sunday was another relaxing day for us…we started with our morning ritual of Starbucks goodies…

Then we headed to the gym for a quick workout and then to a local sports bar 3rd Avenue Bar & Grill to grab a quick bite to eat (a grilled chicken salad for me), catch up on lil football, and then over to Yogurtouille where I got a delicious cup of French Vanilla and Praline fro yo with many candy toppings. We then headed home and I was instantly both shocked and excited when hubby suggested we watch Bridesmaids…um do I want to watch a chick flick? Yes please! 😉

It was pretty funny and a great way to end the evening on 🙂

Well with that I better get back to work, it’s always a busy one here on Monday’s. I hope you all had a great weekend as well and here’s to another work week!

Questions:
What are you looking forward to in October?
Was your football team victorious yesterday? Ours were, go ‘9ers, whoot whoot!
How do you stay on a budget when dining out? We’re pretty good at staying within budget during happy hour 😉

8 thoughts on “Hello October

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 3, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    It looks like our weekend were pretty similiar, working out, watching Bridesmaids and going to the grocery store! I hope your having a great Monday so far and enjoying the cooler weather!!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 3, 2011 at 12:04 pm

      Thanks Kjirsten! Yes they definitely were…and I think those kinds of weekends are definitely the best 😉

      And I was going to mention that in my comment on your post but I got caught up in the reveal of your baby girl’s name, which is way more exciting!! 🙂

    loftyappetite said:
    October 3, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    I’m on board with you and Kjirsten… Trader Joe’s, the gym, Starbucks, and finally watching Bridesmaids was the best kind of weekend itinerary! I loved the movie and think Kristin Wiig is hilarious! This weekend’s cooler weather made it a nice intro to hibernating/sleeping, which I really needed!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 3, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      Thanks girl!! Yes Kristen Wiig is absolutely hilarious…I love her mannerisms and just the delivery in the way she talks is hilarious…I loved her small part in Knocked Up and was excited to see her in a lead role.

      And yes extra sleeping is always the best, when it’s sunny out I always feel guilty for being inside, but with the dreary weather it’s so nice to hibernate inside and cuddle up! 🙂

    Shanna like Banana said:
    October 3, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    My teams both won on Saturday: Wisconsin and Stanford. Wooohooo!

    Your weekend sounds great and the perfect way to usher in Fall. I am digging todays cooler temps! It makes me crave a latte though ;-p

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 3, 2011 at 5:20 pm

      Ooooo a pumpkin spice latte at that pleaseee!! 😉

      And yay for your football teams winning, whoo hoo! 🙂

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    October 4, 2011 at 7:49 am

    LOVE your Sunday Starbucks ritual as always ❤

    At first glance I thought that was cheese on that burger! haha Strangely enough I have never considered putting mayo on a turkey burger… but it totally makes sense! I need to do that… I was never a fan of mayo but lately I have been craving it like mad! turkey burgers are a good excuse to use it I think 😉

    I like my Greek yogurt super sweet as well! i always load it up with Truvia but I am trying to wean myself off to tame my sweet tooth a little bit 🙂

    I cannot believe it is October already! LOVE this weather though. Lots to look forward to for sure…We are having a huge Halloween party, I have a few 5k's (but no half marathon :(), LOTS of wine tours to give and a new social media project! BEST month of the year so far haha

    We go out to a really nice place maybe once a month because we typically always cook at home. To stay on our going out budget we go out for breakfast and lunch way more than dinners. I am starting to actually prefer going out for breakfast and lunch over dinner now… mostly because I love to cook dinner so much and we get the best of both worlds that way!

    I have been trying to get Andrew to watch Bridesmaids with me!!! Glad to hear you thought it was funny 😀

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 4, 2011 at 3:41 pm

      Haha although cheese would be awesome on the burger! I was never really a mayo person either until one day I just decided to try it and it was delish, especially with ketchup! And if you get it, try the Kraft Mayo with Olive Oil, it’s not too heavy and mayo-y tasting.

      Wow it sounds like you’re going to have a great month! Even though the no half-marathon is a bummer, at least you have lots of wine and parties to look forward too! 🙂

      I love your breakfast or lunch dining tip. There’s something about those meals that restaurants are always good with – like a nice big fluffy omelet or a big sandwich – I can never recreate those at home so it makes sense to treat ourselves out to those kinds of meals! And like you said, overall I think staying home for dinner and having copious amounts of wine is far more fun and budget friendly, and no worrying about driving home! 😉

      I think Andrew would really enjoy Bridesmaids…a few sappy moments here and there, but not really girly at all – it’s like SNL type humor…trust me if my hubby liked it your man will too!

Leave a Reply

