Job Satisfaction

Posted on

Hello everyone and happy Tuesday! Today I’ve been full of reflections since today marks my one year anniversary of my position here as an Office Manager. I still can’t believe it’s been a year already and I’m, how should I put it, relieved to say I’m still happy at my job and it really has been a pleasure working here. Completely stress-free (which is ideal for me), my co-workers are genuinely nice and enjoyable to work with, and I only have a 10 minute commute. And it’s a nice commute at that, I get to drive along the bay and there’s barely any traffic, which also enables me to drive home for my lunch break to do laundry and eat lunch…so I’m definitely very lucky with that set up 😉

However, my one year anniversary of employment here got me thinking, is this where I see myself in 5, 10 years? I honestly have no clue, and I wish I could say I have these huge career ambitions and aspirations, but to be honest my true passion in life is to be a mother and to help other people. I don’t aspire to make 6 figures, I don’t want to be the SVP of a multi-million dollar corporation, and I don’t want to be the one who calls the shots for the company. And I’m not discounting any of these things, if you’re that type I fully commend you and give you major props, but that’s just not who I am. I thrive off of a stress free environment, I look for a career and company that promotes a work-life balance, and I simply want to be happy.

To me, being happy is taking care of my family, our future children, and to help other people, that’s what truly fulfills me in life. And I think that’s just what I found here in this lil hobby of mine…this blog. At first I wanted to work in the fashion industry, and when I did for 5+ years, I realized it was too stressful, I wasn’t happy, and I just couldn’t survive in that type of environment. Then I wanted to become a nutritionist to help those with eating disorders, and then I wanted to be a personal trainer (though I was a group instructor!) to help those achieve their fitness goals and reach out to women who may be struggling with overexercising. But after 5+ years of college I just didn’t have the fire in me to go back to school, and at 28 years old I was ready to find a job that paid the bills, was stress free, and gave me a work-life balance, which I’m happy to say I’ve found here.

But one thing is missing in this job, passion. So 6 months ago, I nervously yet excitedly, started this lil blog of mine. And what I did find through this blog, is that I can reach out to those women who currently or have had those particular issues. And though I can’t give certified nutritional or exercise advice, I can at least let women out there know they’re not alone in those struggles. And in sharing my experiences, I could perhaps help but just one person, as bloggers did for me. And when I started my blog I didn’t know at the time I had HA, but a month later when I was diagnosed with it, I realized that this may be something many other women are dealing with and are feeling alone in…I know I have at times. And though frustrating and difficult it has been to deal with, it’s given this blog another meaning in my hopes to help other women know they’re not alone in this and that any type of fertility issue, or eating and exercise struggles, can be overcome.

So though my career may not be my “dream” job, it at least checks off my top priorities in job satisfaction of it having a work-life balance, stress free, and having awesome co-workers, not to mention it pays the bills and provides great health insurance. But to keep that fire in me at the end of the day, I at least have this blog to fulfill my passion of helping others and giving me something that no other job could give, an amazing community of all you inspiring women who I’ve loved meeting and getting to know since the day I started this blog. And though it doesn’t pay me a dime, it at least checks off that one last priority on my list for job satisfaction – passion 🙂

****

This morning as I was eating my first breakfast of Kashi Go Lean Cereal, I had remembered that I wanted to prep overnight oats last night to enjoy for my second breakfast at work…but of course, I forgot! So after the gym I made the next best thing, smoothie! Only this time I added this special lil fall inspired treat to it…

Final product…

1 cup 2% Milk, 2 tbsp. Pumpkin Cream Cheese, 1 frozen banana, 1 tsp. xanthan gum, 1 packet NuNaturals Stevia

And today’s outfit was entirely inspired but the lovely Shanna and I owe my first boot outfit of the season to her. Before I got ready this morning I read her post about her first boot outfit of the season and that inspired me right away to break out my boots and sweater dress, thanks girl!

Sweater dress – French Connection; Boots – Via Spiga…seriously, nothing is more comfortable than that outfit, yay for fall fashion! 🙂

Questions:
What is your current job right now?
What means job satisfaction for you?
Where do you see yourself in 5, 10 years?

28 thoughts on “Job Satisfaction

    Jen @ Living a Brighter Life said:
    October 4, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Great post! My job satisfaction goes up and down. I’m a Sr. Process Engineer at a biomedical device company. You would think I would get satisfaction from processing devices that save lives, but I’m so far removed from the device being used that I really don’t. I need to stay in this job while we are TTC since I don’t want to lose all of my vacation and other benefits I’ve accumlated over the 7 years I’ve worked here, so I’ve also been trying to find my “passions” elsewhere. I know that I enjoy speaking in front of groups of people and teaching new things so I volunteer to talk to students (in classes or workshops) about engineering, science and math. That always gets me excited! I’m also thinking about participating in a mentoring program to do more of that. Sometimes I think I should be a teacher and utilize these skills every day, but right now, I’m not sure I want to take a big pay cut! Wow! Long comment! hehe 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 4, 2011 at 12:50 pm

      Thanks Jen!

      Haha no love your comment! I think it’s so important that we utilize other areas and resources in our lives in order to fulfill our passions. As I was reading your passions I instantly thought “she should become a teacher!”…and then I read that last part! I’m sure the pay cut would be really hard…that’s one of the reasons I threw out the personal training idea…we just can’t afford that huge pay cut. I think that’s so awesome though you volunteer and give back to the community, that’s something I’ve definitely considered doing too. And the mentoring program is a great idea, it sounds like you would be great at that and so many students would benefit! And you never know, putting yourself out there with mentoring and other teaching avenues could open the door to so many other opportunities for you… 🙂

    Caitlin C. said:
    October 4, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Cute outfit! I’m glad that you are stress-free at your job but I also agree with you on the passion! I am in a kinda similar boat in which I am stress-free and not able to go back to school to do nutrition which is what I’ve gotten so interested in, so I started this blog as a result of feeling dispassionate about my job. So far I think it’s helping! But I also haven’t been happy because I am stress-free because I am bored at my job. I am a girl who likes to feel challenged so I feel I started this blog to challenge myself since I’m not getting it at work. I’m glad that we both can use our blogs to give us that passion we need in life!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 4, 2011 at 12:42 pm

      Thanks Caitlin!

      How interesting our stories our so similar!! I too have many bored moments at my job and like you, decided to busy myself with starting this blog, and thus found my passion through it. And also in keeping challenged…good to keep those creative juices and thought/writing processes flowing!! Why can’t we all just start a blogging company and all blog in an office together….;)

    loftyappetite said:
    October 4, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    i’m wearing a similar outfit today! boots and a sweater dress, so comfy!
    I can totally relate to searching for that work-life-happiness balance. I just recently switched jobs because I was completely unhappy in my old job and it was affecting every other aspect of my life. Everyone kept telling me that work is work and it’s not suppose to be fun. But I was miserable and i knew that it was not right for me! I have to say that 2 weeks into my new job i am infintely happier! it was a tough decision that i lost sleep over a lot, but now I can’t believe I didn’t do it sooner!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 4, 2011 at 12:34 pm

      Good for you and I’m so happy for you that you quit and found your happiness! I had a similar situation that I didn’t mention (saving it for another post!), where I was in a job that made me absolutely miserable. It was during the economic recession here in CA at the end of 2008, we had a round of layoffs, I was saved but was then given more responsibilities, assigned as the assistant to a horrible CEO, and then a 20% pay cut to top it off! After 6 months of hell there, I quite and was then unemployed for an entire year, had some many depressing days, and then found the job I’m in now…so I think for everyone, like you and I, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel!

      And although this job isn’t “fun” and yes work is work, it never should be so stressful that it affects other areas in your life like it did for you and I. Life is too short to be miserable in your job, especially when you spend 40 hours a week there! I think everyone has the right to find that job they feel good being at and good for you for listening to yourself and being somewhere that makes you happy! 🙂

    e@thisnotedlife said:
    October 4, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    this is such a great post and something I’ve been thinking of so much lately! I’ve had a lot of changes in my life recently and come to the conclusion that its ok to let your dreams and aspirations change. As of today I’m no longer a registrar at a college but now I’m an instructor (for the same college) and i haven’t been so content in quite a while. 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 4, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      Congrats on this new chapter in life for you…there’s nothing better than that content feeling, good for you! I love what you said here “it’s ok to let your dreams and aspirations change”…you couldn’t have said it better. I sometimes feel guilty about my quitting work in the fashion industry since my parents supported me throughout my years I attended the Fashion Institute…but how are we to know at 18 that that career will make us happy? Especially once you get taste of what it’s like in the real world. It’s definitely ok for your dreams to change, and I realized too that not all passions (i.e. fashion) can turn into a career…I now keep that as a hobby of mine and interweave that in the blog here and there 🙂

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 4, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Happy one year job anniversary!!! : ) I’m with you on feeling my calling is to be a mother. Keith and I joke that I’m officially retired in 3-4 months when the baby arrives or when I’m feeling too pregnant to work. Luckily, with my job, I can do a lot of work from home while taking care of the baby at my own pace which will be nice and still keep my salary since we work for ourselves.

    On another note, I’m totally just as happy as you are that it’s now boots and sweater dress season! Yay for fall!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 4, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      Thank you Kjirsten!! 🙂

      Yes sweater dresses and boots are the best! It’s especially a great season for you right now while you’re pregnant, so comfy!!

      I love your comment about being a mother…it warmed my heart so much 🙂 I feel the exact same way and that’s primarily why I’m just so eager to get pregnant and start this new chapter in our lives 🙂 That’s so nice you have a job where you can work from home…hubby knows how I feel about wanting to be a stay at home mom so he’s insinuated me trying to find something where I could work from home – that way we could have the best of both worlds 🙂

    Laura @ Special Treat's said:
    October 4, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Fabulous post! 🙂

    As you know, I am a personal trainer. I LOVE my job…it really is my dream job. I see myself in 5 or 10 years as a Momma with little children running around. I’d love to be a stay at home Mom (my ultimate dream job), but we will just have to see how things are when children enter our lives.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 4, 2011 at 4:40 pm

      Thank you Laura!!

      I feel like we’re living parallel lives! 😉 If money weren’t an issue and if I could go back 5 years in time, I would definitely want to be a personal trainer. And like you, ultimately be a stay at home mom which is my dream…but like you said, only time will tell with that 🙂

      I’m so happy for you that your living your dream job, that is so awesome and not many people can say that about their careers…good for you girl! 🙂

    Amy@ahealthyandhappyheart said:
    October 4, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I am teaching a morning Kindergarten enrichment program and I also work for the after school program..It is not my dream job but it does help with those never ending bills 😉

    In 5 to 10 years I see myself with my hubby, 3 kids, our basset hound, living somewhere down south (at least that is MY plan!)

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 4, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      Those darn bills always get in the way of our dreams huh?!

      And I love your future plan…that sounds so lovely and I don’t think life could get any better than that 🙂

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    October 4, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Yay for boots and dresses — you look faboosh (as always!). Let’s keep this boot trend on a roll, shall we? 😉

    It’s funny, I was always one of those people that aspired to storm the corporate work, make big impacts, be the first female engineer to do x-y-z, and make major moola. And while I am actually still on that path and have achieved some great things, I can’t say I’m overly satisfied. This my friend, is why you are already successful beyond your years. You have found the key to happiness and that is balance and living the life *you* want to live. I’m hoping that I can find that in the years to come as well. In the meantime, my blog has also served as a passion and I’m oh so grateful for that 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 10:20 am

      Awww thanks girly…and yes, let’s definitely keep this boot trend rolling!! 😉

      And your comment is so very sweet, thank you girl. Although I’ve found what makes me happy, you are very inspiring in all you’ve achieved and I look up to you so very much…you’re such a very smart, stylish, and “faboosh!” woman, and I bet you’ll find that balance very soon 🙂

    Maria (@bragglife) said:
    October 4, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    My job satisfaction is currently at a low right now since I’m not working and miss it dearly. But you’re right about having a blog, it’s definitely a fun hobby and a GREAT way to kill time. Not to mention it’s so much easier to keep our family and friends updated this way…I’m so not a phone person haha. Totally jealous of your smoothie and your outfit is adorable!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 10:11 am

      Hi Maria!! And thank you so much for the sweet comment 🙂 Not sure if xanthan gum is ok during pregnancy, but when you can try it in your smoothie! It makes the consistency so creamy and thick, it’s amazing.

      I know how it feels to be out of work as I was for about a year during the economic recession, not good times. But like you said, at least you have your blog and very soon your baby will be here and you’ll be one busy mama! 😉 I too started this blog to keep family updated on our lives since hubby’s family lives back east in New York…I’m so not a phone person either so this is such a great way of keeping everyone posted…especially for when we get pregnant! 🙂

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    October 4, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Hey, girlie!!!

    I am so glad to hear you have a stress free job! I started my PT business when I was 24…and I was super ambitious. I organized a business networking group with about 17 members and co-chaired charity events and worked with athletic teams etc. I also had about 4-5 trainers working for me. I was working like crazy, making great money and loving it. Then, when Mike and I loved in together and got engaged my priorities shifted…I wanted to be home at night with him instead of working until 9pm. I kind of got burned out. I dropped down to only having 1 trainer work with me to eventually none. Trained half the amount of clients…and it was good for me because we wanted babies and I needed to not be so type A. I am so opposite now of how I was and sometimes I wish I had that drive again. I’d like to put it to good use doing something from home because I love being a mom but…yea…this economy and my taste for whole foods shopping we really can’t swing it 😉

    In 5-10 years I would like to be more secure doing something I love [I love training but want to evolve from there]. Not a millionaire [although I would take it] but living in a nice house, 2 kids, a back yard and a killer kitchen! Maybe have a book published 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 10:07 am

      Hi Laury!!! 🙂

      Hee I like “loved” in together, instead of moved 😉 Wow your story is so inspirational and thank you for sharing it here. You have amazing drive in you and are so passionate about helping others with training and eating right, that’s why I love your blog so much! And I think you still have that drive in you when you were 24…priorities are just shifted and you use it towards being a mom, the blog, and taking amazing care of your baby girl and hubby…oh how I wish this economy didn’t get in the way of us wanting to be stay at home mommies! And along with starting that book, go get ’em girl, I’d buy it!! 😉

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    October 4, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    *I meant “moved in together”

    Seasonal Cravings | The Good Life said:
    October 5, 2011 at 11:45 am

    […] Post navigation ← Previous […]

    Life is Good Girl said:
    October 5, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    I am a nuclear medicine technologist at a cardiology clinic. I like my job, but it’s not my passion. I’m not sure what I want to do though. I love health, nutrItion and fitnes but, I too can’t afford a paycut to be a trainer. I would love to be a stay at home mom but along with needing to pay bills, we are also having fertility problems. So, basically I’m not sure what to do with my life! I’m praying God will point me in the right direction.
    PS. What is HA?

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 3:32 pm

      I’ve definitely had moments of wondering what I want to do with my life…but I’m sure God has big plans for you and everything will eventually fall into place 🙂

      HA is hypothalamic amenorrhea. You can read about it more on my Getting Ready page 🙂

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    October 5, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    What a great post! (I am catching up from yesterday stil!)
    I currently work in insurance and I oddly enough like it even though I do get yelled at a lot (about how insurance is a scam blah blah) but I love when I am able to be the person that offers the only good news in a bad situation (e.g. we are paying your $50,000 in medical bills from your car accident, or delivering a life insurance check to someone who just lost a family member and is struggling).
    I think there are 2 parts to job satisfaction though. The part of the actual job you do (what you are bringing to society, etc) and the personal level of how you feel while you there. I think someone can do something they love – maybe they love animals and work at a veternary office but at the same time dislike it due to the environment (unsavory coworkers, difficult hours of work, etc). And it goes the other way, you could love everything about the environment but HATE the job you do (e.g. working at a tax office, maybe you hate doing taxes but stay there for the good pay and awesome people you work with).
    As for the last part, I have no idea where I will be in 5-10 years! haha 🙂 I think I would be perfectly ok if I was where I am now to be honest! the only thing I would for sure want to change is I will for sure be owning a home by then and not renting anymore!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      Thanks Andrea! 🙂

      That must be so rewarding to give people that kind of news and that’s great you enjoy your job! And I totally agree with the 2 parts about job satisfaction – for instance right now I love that it’s stress free here at my job and the people are awesome, but the work itself, not so much. It’s a recruiting firm and I’m just not interested in researching jobs that are available in the finance and accounting fields. I would much rather be spending my hours doing something I truly enjoy writing/talking/researching about, such as fitness and nutrition. If only we could we always be granted the best of both worlds!! 😉

      And that’s so awesome you’d be happy with where you are now in 5-10 years…that shows you have great balance and happiness in your life right now and it’s very inspiring..and with that, I’ll bet you’ll have no problem owning a home by then 🙂

    Joanna B. said:
    October 9, 2011 at 9:06 am

    I LOVE this post! Let me make my story short and sweet and to the point: I too feel the same way as you. I was in medical sales ( hated it because it was STRESSFUL) quit because I had to move to GA because my husband was accepted to medical school here. Due to the economy, an opportunity with the same company opened up in GA as of last week. Long story short, I am waiting on the official offer this Monday…After thinking about it, it could have been that I hated it before because it was in a location I wasn’t happy in. Then being in panic mode I took a job in retail OH.MY.GOSH I HATE that even more! and it was a wake up call that maybe the job I had before wasn’t too bad. SO, there you have it….everyone has a different story but at the end of the day we all seek out one thing….do what makes you happy and stress free 🙂

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 11, 2011 at 11:53 am

      Thank you for sharing your story Joanna! We definitely all seek to find what makes us happy and stress free and you going into retail may have been a blessing in disguise for you in seeing that what you had before was better…sometimes we need those things that puts everything back in perspective for us 🙂

Leave a Reply

