Seasonal Cravings

Posted on Updated on

Happy Wednesday everyone! Hope you’re all having a great day so far πŸ™‚ I loved hearing all your comments from yesterday’s post…I think in the end we all try strive to find what makes us most happy in life, and if our job doesn’t do that for us, we then try to find other outlets in our lives to fulfill our passions and give us some meaning to our lives. I think it will always be a constant journey and ever evolving, which in the end is what living life is all about. And though we may not all be living our ultimate dream job, we can at least think of it as a way to keep everything in perspective for us, keeps us growing, challenged daily, and appreciate those relaxing moments – in the form of vino, right?! πŸ˜‰

Speaking of wine…I imbibed just a lil last night and it was so nice to just relax and not think about anything. I’ve had a lot on my mind lately and last night I just needed a break from thinking!

So when I got home from work hubby had the wine and snacks ready for us to go while we watched the Yankees game, which by the way they won, whoot whoot!

I had a tiny glass of wine, and with me being a light weight it didn’t take me long to feel relaxed, it was just what the doctor ordered πŸ™‚ And those crackers, awesome. They were listed in the most recent Women’s Health Magazine as one of the best packaged crackers so I knew I had to pick up a pack, and they definitely delivered – cheesy, crispy, and delicious.

Do you remember awhile back me saying that I’m a seasonal eater and get certain cravings for different foods and meals each season? Well last night, I felt the seasonal cravings pick back up and I knew from here on out salads for dinner were outta here, and for these next winter months all I’ll want for dinner are carby, comforting foods. And that’s just what I did for dinner last night…

Yep, amazing. Egg and turkey sandwich on sourdough bread with a laughing cow cheese spread on both slices. Epic sandwich, cheesy crackers, red wine, Yankees game, hubby = good life πŸ™‚

****

I came across an interesting video this morning on Yahoo News about today, October 5th, being the most common birthday date. Reason being is that it’s roughly 9 months after New Year’s Eve – a frisky night for most I guess πŸ˜‰ And September is the most busiest month at the maternity ward and March being the slowest. Along with that, the most rarest date babies are born on is February 29th (leap year). And among those born on that date are Ja Rule, Olympic Gold Medalist Cullen Jones, Tony Robbins, and Pope Paul III. Interesting huh? Click here for the video if you want to check it out.

***Edited to Add: After I wrote this post I’m catching up with my Google reader and seeing all over the blog world that there are in fact many birthdays today – crazy! Happy birthday to Julie’s hubby and Andrea’s sis and dad! πŸ™‚ Oh and I owe that Epic sandwich to Todd, he’s made it many many times and he is the master at frying eggs πŸ˜‰

Questions:
Do you have seasonal cravings?
What foods do you crave during these fall and winter months?

When is your birthday? Mine is May 8th – and my husband, sis, and dad are all May babies too! And my mom is in March…at least her month starts with an M πŸ˜‰
Do you know anyone born today?
My best friend from high school has a birthday today!

27 thoughts on “Seasonal Cravings

    Amy said:
    October 5, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I’m a September baby.
    I sooo crave pumpkin anything this time of year and sweet potatoes. I can eat those 2 things everyday.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 12:34 pm

      You were born in the busy month! πŸ™‚

      Yes I love this season for all the pumpkin and sweet potatoes…spaghetti squash too!

    loftyappetite said:
    October 5, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    I am going through a serious egg kick, I am always craving them. I also currently have an “oops i bought too much turkey at the deli” problem that I am going to solve by making that amazing sandwich you posted. I always forget that eggs can be added to normal sandwiches and not always only with sausage! I also have laughing cow cheese, so win-win!
    That’s funny about the early October birthdays, i actually have 2 close friends with birthdays tomorrow!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      Yaaay! You gotta make that sandwich, especially since you’re on an egg kick, you’ll love it! πŸ™‚

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    October 5, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    I definitely have seasonal cravings too! During the summer months, I’m all about smoothies, grilled everything & anything, iced coffee, and frozen yogurt. During the cooler months, I love hot tea and coffee, oatmeal, soup, pasta – mmmm!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 3:26 pm

      Me too! I am all about the smoothies, and also tons of salads! Although this sweet tooth addict here can pretty much eat fro yo at any time of the year…I’ve even gotten it in the pouring rain! πŸ˜‰

      And yes, in the colder months it’s all about the warm comforting foods πŸ™‚

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 5, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    I don’t know anyone with a birthday today but my mother in law’s is in a week and my husbands is in about two weeks! I’m a February 22 baby and am so excited to share that birthday month with my daughter as long as she isn’t too early! πŸ™‚ Growing up and still to this day I don’t know that many Feb birthdays!

    As for seasonal cravings, I’ve been craving hot mugs of soup and crusty bread. Anything with carbs too like pasta is awesome this time of year. We are thinking about making some soup for dinner tonight and if we don’t do that, we are doing some spicy pasta! Comforting and warming!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 3:19 pm

      Awww that is so awesome you get to (fingers crossed!) have the same birthday month as your baby girl…your hubby will have a lot of spoiling to do that month πŸ˜‰ And come to think of it, I didn’t know any February birthday’s growing up either!

      Mmmm soup and pasta all sound so delicious, especially with crusty bread, gotta have that component! Along the lines of soup, I’ve been craving a nice big bowl of comforting chili πŸ™‚

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    October 5, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    I totally get seasonal cravings — I want a ton more soup and chili lately along with more baked desserts and carbs. Just thinking about it all is making me hungry! Actually right now I could go for a maple scone. Hmm, how to make that happen πŸ˜‰

    I heard at our pregnancy class that November is also a very popular month for having babies..my guess is that 9 months before, people had major cabin fever..hehe.

    Sawyer may be born in my and my hubby’s bday month (Jan) if he’s late!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 5, 2011 at 5:33 pm

      Ooo yes maple scone now please!! πŸ˜‰

      Haha some definite cabin fever must have been goin’ on πŸ˜‰

      And that would be so awesome if he was born in January! Hopefully he’ll stay nice and cozy in there and wait a bit longer to make his appearance πŸ˜‰

    Nico said:
    October 5, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    Actually, my son was conceived on 12/28/2007, and his due date was 09/19/2008 – October 5th is a bit late for a new years’ baby. I just did the math, and the person who did that calculation clearly didn’t realize that in fact you are not pregnant for the first two out of the 40 weeks of pregnancy. So all those October 5th babies are in fact conceived on cycles where the first day of the last menstrual period was New Year’s. But that doesn’t sound nearly as cool.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 6, 2011 at 6:36 am

      Thank you for the clarification Nico! Like you said, I think Yahoo (who reported it) just wanted to make the whole theory of it sound more interesting and cool πŸ˜‰

    Cait's Plate said:
    October 6, 2011 at 8:28 am

    I DEFINITELY have seasonal cravings! Pumpkin and apples and pears right now!!

    In the Fall/Winter I crave warm comfort foods – oatmeal, chili, etc.

    My birthday is February 8th!! We share the day πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 6, 2011 at 12:43 pm

      Yay we have the same date! πŸ˜‰ And I definitely crave all those foods you mentioned too…such a delicious time of year πŸ™‚

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    October 6, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Great post Shayla! What a fun Birthday article!!

    My salad craving have totally been waning as well! Your turkey sandwich looks like it hot the spot πŸ™‚ Love the addition of the egg.. YUM πŸ™‚

    I definitely crave warmer foods as it gets colder… I like to roast pretty much anything and everything. My favorite foods are seasonal this time of year… root veggies, kabocha squash, brussels sprouts, citrus and apples! I start to crave soups more too and cheese! I don’t know why I crave cheese more as it gets colder… cheese doesn’t really have a season haha

    You’re a Yankees fan!!!???? Yikes! I am from Boston so that just really changed my opinion of you πŸ˜‰ hahaha Of course I’m joking… I still love you πŸ™‚ Just don’t ever bash the Celtics! They are close to my heart πŸ˜‰ ❀

    My birthday is February 27th and I will be 30!!!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 6, 2011 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks girly! πŸ™‚

      Haha cheese doesn’t really have a season, does it?! That’s why it’s the best πŸ˜‰ I crave all those foods you mentioned too…this really is the best season of yummy comforting foods!

      Ahhh yes I’m a Yankee fan, only because of the hubby though since he’s from NY! And I still love ya too being from Boston and all πŸ˜‰ And don’t worry, I’ll never bash the Celtics, just for you girl!

      How funny, I didn’t know any February babies and now you, plus a couple other bloggers here who commented that their February babies too! Wow the big 3-0! Me too next year…we gotta celebrate big! πŸ™‚

    Julie @ Peanut Butter Fingers said:
    October 6, 2011 at 11:39 am

    i forwarded your blog post to ryan and he was so excited about his shout out. thanks so much!! you made both of us smile. oh and now i want cheese crackers.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 6, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      Hi Julie!! Awww this made me so happy, I love to have done that since your blog makes me smile everyday, sounds cheesy but it’s true! You both are so very welcome and I hope he had a wonderful birthday!! πŸ™‚

      Get the cheese crackers, you’ll love them….and next time I’m adding jelly to my egg and cheese sandwich πŸ˜‰

    Brigid @ Live Breathe Huzzah said:
    October 6, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    I always want split pea soup (I know some people don’t like it, but it’s my favorite!) and veggie chili in the fall/winter. Preferably with some crusty bread and cheese of some sort. Yum!

    Now that you mention it, I’m so making my first batch of chili this weekend!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 6, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      Yes! I’m making chili this Sunday, whoo hoo! Especially with some crusty bread on the side…and a sprinkling of cheese πŸ˜‰

    Lauren said:
    October 6, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    I seasonally crave (and by seasonally, I mean year round) French Onion Soup. I know, it’s weird.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 6, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      Oooo love French Onion Soup….and not weird at all as I can eat fro yo or ice cream year round πŸ˜‰

    Kristin @ STUFT Mama said:
    October 7, 2011 at 1:01 am

    Pumpkin, pumpkin, pumpkin. πŸ™‚ And I love waking up to cold mornings and wanting my HOT coffee again. πŸ™‚
    That’s funny about October 5th- who knew? πŸ™‚
    I’ve got to try that egg sandwich. πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 7, 2011 at 5:18 am

      There’s nothing better than a nice warm of hot coffee during the cold crisp mornings, love it! πŸ™‚

      Yes, try the egg sandwich when you get a chance – it’s like a healthier Jack In The Box Sourdough egg sandwich πŸ˜‰

    Amelia @ princessandthefrosting said:
    October 7, 2011 at 6:19 am

    Whenever I have a seasonal craving, I just say yes! I’ve been eating so much sweet potato, cinnamon, and apple based dishes lately πŸ™‚

    Friday Lovin’ | The Good Life said:
    October 7, 2011 at 11:09 am

    […] Post navigation ← Previous […]

Leave a Reply

