Friday Lovin’

Posted on

Happy TGIF everyone! Hope you’re all having a great start to your Friday πŸ™‚

I loved hearing all your seasonal cravings from Wednesday’s post…seems like we’re all in the same boat of having cravings for certain foods during each season. Right now, the majority of everyone’s cravings during the fall/winter seasons are warm comforting foods such as oatmeal, chili, soup, and stews…and seasonal fruits and vegetables such as squashes, apples, and the one and only, pumpkin!!! πŸ™‚

First and foremost, I have to give a big, warm, heartfelt birthday wish to give to my lovely and amazing mother-in-law…HAPPY BIRTHDAY SHEILA!! ❀

So there are a couple of things I’m loving today…last night I made another epic cheese and egg sandwich for the hubby and I…

With a lil of this action going on in the background…

I ❀ Jorge…

Sadly they lost, boooo. And I think Todd woke up with a sore throat this morning with all the yelling he was doing at the T.V. πŸ˜‰

I’m also lovin’ this new cereal I picked up recently from Safeway…

Along with this new milk I spotted there too…I love getting any chance I can to get in more Omega 3’s and DHA in my diet…

It’s a bit on the pricey side but I recommend getting it not only for the nutrients, but the flavor has a slight sweetness to it that is really delicious πŸ™‚

I incorporated both those new items in this mornings first breakfast…at the ungodly hour of 4:30am…at least having this breakfast to look forward to makes it all worth it…

After the gym this morning (30 min. elliptical, 30 min. strength training session), I stopped by the grocery store to pick up a few essentials and right when I walked in these beauties caught my eye…

I love buying flowers for myself…just looking at them makes me happy πŸ™‚

And I had to pick up this lil guy too…ain’t he cute?!

This morning as I was getting ready for the gym I really started craving overnight oats to have for after my workout, and with these cooler temps, I knew I would feel like something more heartier than my usual smoothie…so with me realizing this at 5am and knowing my second breakfast would be at 9am, I gave the “overnight oats” a try with only 3.5 hours in the fridge…

And you know what…it worked!

1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup 2% milk, 1/3 cup 2% Fage Greek Yogurt, 1 tsp. Chia Seeds, 1 tbsp. Sunflower Butter, 1 sliced banana, and handful Peanut Butter Puffins

They were just as perfect as the real deal…so if you ever get a hankering for overnight oats the day of, know you can still create them with only 3 (maybe even less?) hours in the fridge πŸ™‚

I’m also still lovin’ that it’s finally boot season and my fall pieces are back in my weekly rotation – leggings, boots, and oversize sweaters…other days I’ll do sweater dresses πŸ™‚

Sweater – Forever 21; Leggings – H&M; Slouchy Boots – Via Spiga

And last but certainly not least…I am absolutely lovin’ and excited for tomorrow…it’s Part 2 of our Anniversary celebration in which we’ll be on the Hornblower Cruise hosted by Chandon, all while viewing the Fleet Week Blue Angels show…

And here’s a fun clip of the show from last year’s event…be sure to watch at 1:27 and onward – amazing!!

Questions:
Any fun plans for today or this weekend?!
Have you ever been on a Hornblower Cruise before?
Do you like to buy flowers for yourself to brighten your day?
Does your S.O. ever yell at the television like they’re able to hear? πŸ˜‰

14 thoughts on “Friday Lovin’

    Jen @ Living a Brighter Life said:
    October 7, 2011 at 11:16 am

    That milk is AWESOME. It sometimes goes on sale at Safeway too. The best part about it that because it is ultrapasteruized it last what seems like forever. We don’t drink milk everyday, but like to have it when we feel like it, so this the perfect solution.

    We don’t have any fun plans this weekend, but I have been thinking of going on a Hornblower Cruise. They have a special one that goes to AT&T park for the Cal games, but its a bit pricey.

    I think I might buy myself some flowers this weekend to replace the ones I bought for a shower a couple of weeks ago. I love having fresh flowers around!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 7, 2011 at 11:28 am

      It really is awesome right?! At first I thought it was just my imagination at how good it was but since you thought the same, now I know I’m right! πŸ™‚

      Love that it’s ultrapasteurized…and I had noticed it had a super long expiration date (got it today and it expires November 3rd), and wondered why, now I know! Good to know it goes on sale at Safeway, I’ll be sure to keep my eyes open, thanks girl!

      Oooo one to AT&T for the Cal games?! How fun, I didn’t know about that one…yeah this Chandon hosted one was super pricey but we decided to splurge on it since it’s for a special occasion…I’ll have to soak it all up since it’ll be awhile til we can splurge on one again πŸ˜‰

      Yay for fresh flowers! They have beautiful ones at Safeway right now, cheap too, that bouquet was only $5.99!

    Caitlin C. said:
    October 7, 2011 at 11:37 am

    Loving this outfit!! It’s something that I would typically wear. I love leggings and boots and oversized sweaters, I have so many! Forever 21 has the best big sweaters πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 7, 2011 at 1:04 pm

      Thank you Cait!! Yes isn’t Forever 21 the best with sweaters?! I usually don’t shop there during the summertime, but more so during the fall/winter seasons since I love their fashions during that time of year…they really have great big cozy sweaters, along with turtlenecks and coats for great prices… πŸ™‚

    loftyappetite said:
    October 7, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Oh the Yankees definitely put a damper on the mood in my household last night.. let’s just say I fell asleep to the sound of yelling at the TV downstairs!
    Also, not to be super creepy, but I see that you have Everyday with Rachel Ray on your coffee table (behind that amazing gooey egg)… I was thinking of subscribing and I need an opinion… I’ve only read one ever, but I loved the menu planning section, i need major help with that. Is it worth it? do you like it?

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 7, 2011 at 12:58 pm

      Exact same scenario in our household! Only I had the pleasure of hearing the yelling right in my ear drum and being startled a few times πŸ˜‰

      Haha no no not creepy at all! In fact when I posted the pic I liked how that magazine was in the background since I love it so much…so to answer your question yes I think it’s definitely worth the subsciption and I absolutely love it. Though as you can tell from my blog, I don’t make many of the recipes (someday I will!), but like you said, I love the menu planning in there because though I don’t make the recipes I still take ideas from it and adapt them myself…and I love the lifestyle and fashion tips, and restaurant suggestions in there so it’s chockful of a lot of interesting reads… πŸ™‚

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    October 7, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Good to know overnight oats can be possible in just a few short hours!

    I totally came home with a pumpkin the other day too… so cute! haha

    We have a tooonn of plants and I always like to have fresh flowers in the house any time of year! Definitely brightens up the house!

    Andrew yells at video games like the game can hear him… does that count? haha ❀

    Happy Friday!!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 7, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      Happy Friday Sarah!! Awww love that you got a pumpkin too! It’s a great way to make the house more festive πŸ˜‰

      Haha yes that definitely counts…Todd does that too all the time! πŸ™‚

    Kristin @ STUFT Mama said:
    October 7, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Love that you boguht flowers for yourself. It IS Friday. ha ha! πŸ™‚ Puffins on top of overnight oats? Yes please! I need to try that! πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 7, 2011 at 5:06 pm

      Exactly, I think flowers are a perfect way to celebrate Friday! πŸ™‚

      Yes you gotta try the puffins on top of overnight oats…I always love that crunch factor in there πŸ˜‰

    Kiah said:
    October 7, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Every time I see those video clips, I imagine what it would be like to be the pilots. What a crazy, cray job!! And, congrats on the anniversary!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 11, 2011 at 11:56 am

      Thanks Kiah!! Yes such a crazy job…as we were watching the show I kept imagining the men in those planes and how amazing it all was…got me pretty emotional too πŸ™‚

    e@thisnotedlife said:
    October 10, 2011 at 8:18 am

    i am a HUGE yankee fan and i was so upset for DAYS after the loss 😦 see ya next season

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 11, 2011 at 11:55 am

      Yay for fellow Yankee fan!! πŸ˜‰

      Ahhh so was my hubby, he was quite disgruntled that night and a couple days thereafter…let’s cross our fingers for next season! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

