Chandon Hornblower Cruise & Fleet Week Fun

Posted on Updated on

Hi everyone and happy Tuesday! Sorry to be MIA yesterday…I usually blog on Monday’s but yesterday just slipped away and before I new it, it was 5pm and by then I don’t like putting up a blog post that late in the evening so I decided to wait until today!

I want to use today’s post as a recap of the fun we had Saturday to celebrate part 2 of our Anniversary celebration. We celebrated with tickets for the Hornblower Cruise, and this particular event was being sponsored by Chandon which of course included all you can drink Chandon wines and champagne – yes please! πŸ˜‰ – and during the cruise we would be entertained by the Blue Angels show and passed appetizers…sounded good to me!

Below is a recap of the photos from the fun day we had…and we had quite an extravaganza getting up to the city too. We took Caltrain which was fine, but then tried to figure out how to get to the Hornblower dock without us having to walk the 1.5 miles since my boots were definitely not made for walking. So we crossed our fingers and hopped on the Muni bus (a first for us!) and we didn’t know what we were doing, but thankfully we made it to the Embarcadero station and from there walked a bit to the dock…it was a fun lil excursion πŸ˜‰

And we could not have asked for more perfect weather. If you’re from around here, then you know that San Francisco is known for chilly temps and fog, but none of that happened on Saturday. Temps were in the mid 70’s and we had clear blue skies all day…it was absolutely perfect. And I don’t have any pics of our food (try taking still photos while in 4 inch stiletto boots while on a swaying boat ;)), but we do have lots of other scenic photos that I want to share with you all…enjoy!

I have to take a moment and mention too how absolutely amazing and emotional the Blue Angels show was for me. I had never before experienced jets fly over my head that close to me before and just imagining the men in those planes doing that for us was just a very emotional, powerful feeling for me. And we met a lovely couple whose son is a Military Fighter Pilot and hearing them speak of their son with these powerful planes soaring above us really brought on an emotional feeling inside me…it made me so proud of our country and how grateful and proud I am to be an American. Todd and I already made planes plans to definitely go again next year along with the whole family as it definitely reminded me of my dad since he’s a pilot and he would have loved the show so very much…until next year Blue Angels πŸ™‚

Questions:
Have you ever seen the Blue Angels show before?
Ever been on a Hornblower Cruise, or any kind of Cruise before?
What’s your favorite mode of transportation around your city?

10 thoughts on “Chandon Hornblower Cruise & Fleet Week Fun

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 11, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    It looks like you guys had such a great weekend!!! I loved all the pics you posted of your day! I’m glad the bus situation worked out well for you guys and you got where you needed to be!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 11, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      Thanks so much Kjirsten!! Yes so glad it worked out…I admit I was a bit nervous there for a sec πŸ˜‰

    Shanna like Banana said:
    October 11, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    What a good looking couple you two make! Ow ow! πŸ˜‰

    I have seen the Blue Angels at Fleet Week a few yrs ago and thought they were beyond amazing.

    Seeing them with three glasses of vino in hand would make it even better!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 12, 2011 at 10:33 am

      Haha thanks girly πŸ™‚

      Um yes, the vino definitely adds to the amazingness of the show….I think that’s what helped me get so emotional too, lol! πŸ˜‰

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    October 11, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Beautiful photos! It looks like you guys had a great time! Happy Anniversary! πŸ™‚ I’ve never seen the Blue Angel show before, but I’m sure it’s incredible.

    loftyappetite said:
    October 12, 2011 at 5:39 am

    I’ve never been to an airshow before, but I’ve heard good things! It looks like you had a wonderful time! Happy anniversary!! πŸ™‚

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    October 12, 2011 at 6:34 am

    Lovely re-cap Shayla!!

    I went to a Blue Angels show yeeeears ago and I too remember it being a very powerful experience!

    The fighter’s parents that you met must have been so incredibly proud πŸ™‚

    I have never been on a cruise! Well… I’be been on a couple booze cruises but I don’t think those really count? haha

    Chandon = ❀

    If I had my way I would walk everywhere and everywhere… other than that I really like the bus system in Boston… Andrew prefers the Subway but I like buses because they are everywhere and you don't have to go underground!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 12, 2011 at 4:14 pm

      Thanks Sarah!! πŸ™‚

      Haha in my world booze cruises count…in fact the Hornblower practically felt like one with all the Chandon a flowin’ πŸ˜‰

      If I had it my way I would walk everywhere too…I so wish the town I lived in was more walkable…I guess that’s what we have SF for πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

