Indian Foodie Fun & Pinning Addiction

Posted on Updated on

Hi everyone and happy hump day! Am I the only one who giggles inside when I say or write that…yes I’m 10 years old πŸ˜‰

So I had quite an interesting morning today. I was all set ready to go, got in the car, started it, and thought…”Ooo! I need to get a pic of my outfit for the blog!” So I turn off the car, leave the keys in the ignition (you know where this going), close the door, run upstairs, take picture, go back downstairs, and with my luck, car is locked. Yes, I locked myself out of my car. Sweet! And of course my purse and cell phone are in the car too and we don’t have a land line – awesome. Thankfully I noticed my sweet next door neighbor was home so I was able to use her phone to call my mom to bring me my extra set of car keys (no I didn’t have one at home, and yes now I do – thanks mom!), and called work to tell them I’d be late. Phew! That was a way to start off a morning! Have any of you done that before? I have one other time…in high school I locked the keys in the trunk and my parents saved the day for me that time too πŸ™‚

And here’s the infamous photo that caused me to lock my keys in my car…at least it was worth it πŸ˜‰

Sweater Dress – Express; Boots – MK; Tights – H&M; Belt – Express

So I’m super excited for tonight…I get to meet up with the fabulous, sweet, gorgeous Shanna again! I had mentioned to her the last time we were together that I love trying different ethnic foods, but never have experienced Indian food, so Shanna knew to make that happen for me and in her words “is taking me to the dark side” tonight πŸ˜‰ We’re going to All Spice (click here for the menu) and I can already tell you how excited I am since the food sounds simply amazing and delicious and I’ll be in great company…and to top it off we have big plans to end it with fro yo…sounds like a perfect delicious night to me! πŸ™‚

So have any of you experienced yet the amazingness of Pinterest? Well if you haven’t, you must now. I have been seeing recently all over the blog world and Facebook many people raving all that is Pinterest and I have to admit at first I was a bit skeptical and thought “is it really all it’s hyped up to be?” But let me tell you, it definitely owns up to all the hype. My lovely friend/coworker got me to sign up and showed me the ropes of how to “pin” and after 15 minutes of pinning, I was instantly addicted. There’s so much great inspiration throughout and it’s like a vortex that sucks you right in…so if you haven’t signed up yet, I highly recommend that you do. And if you want to follow me or check out my boards, click on the red widget on the right sidebar that says “Follow Me On Pinterest” and it’ll take you to my page. Happy Pinning! πŸ™‚

Questions:
Have you ever locked yourself out of your car? How did get bailed out?
Have you ever tried Indian food before? What’s your favorite dish to order?
Are you on Pinterest? If so, let me know so I can start following you!

14 thoughts on “Indian Foodie Fun & Pinning Addiction

    Shanna like Banana said:
    October 12, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Oh no! That is no way to start the morning! But at least your outfit is super cute!!!

    I am so excited for tonight. If only tomorrow wasnt a work day ;-p

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 13, 2011 at 11:31 am

      Thanks girly!! I know I so had wished today wasn’t a work day…that just means we have to plan another night out again! πŸ˜‰

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    October 12, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    I’m so sorry about locking your keys in your car! I’ve done it once with my car still running! I got barely any sleep the night before, so I was all spacey. It was early in the morning, and my boss asked me to get some doughnuts for everyone on my way into the office. I got out (without keys in hand and still in the ignition with the car running), locked my car doors, and then realized what I did. Fortunately I did have my cell phone with me and not in the car!

    Your outfit is SO cute! I love sweater dresses with tights and boots. You look great. πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 12, 2011 at 4:11 pm

      Thanks Ashley! You know I was thinking how awful it’d be if I hadn’t turned the car off and it was still running…you poor thing! And what you described is totally something I’d do…thankfully though you had your cell with you, phew! πŸ™‚

    Laura @ Special Treat's said:
    October 12, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I love all things about this post b/c 1) I LOVE Indian food….it’s sooo comforting and yummy—esp. love it when it’s cold outside…warms the soul πŸ™‚ 2) I also LOVE pinterest…I am obsessed πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 12, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      Haha yes!! That’s all you need in life right?! Pinterest and if I love it, which I’m sure I will, Indian food!! πŸ™‚

    loftyappetite said:
    October 12, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    yessss I am a total Pinterest junkie. I have the iPhone app and it is the best way to spend time when I am stuck in line (at the DMV last week) anywhere! Instead of getting mad and frustrated, i am inspired and in my “happy place.” haha I will totally start following your pins!
    I got a car with a Smart Key, and let me tell you it is worth the extra $$. I never have to look for my keys, as long as they are somewhere near me (aka my purse) my car will open and start. if they are in the car, the car won’t let me lock it, it makes an alarm noise. It’s saved me from exactly what you experienced because, girl, I’ve been there too many times!
    Have fun with Shanna!! I can’t wait to hear all about your Indian experience. It is my favorite type of restaurant to go out to because it’s so unique and such an experience!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 12, 2011 at 4:05 pm

      I just saw your boards and they’re so inspiring!! You have so many, I love looking at them all πŸ™‚

      Ooooo I didn’t know they had an app for it?! Well what isn’t there an app for right πŸ˜‰ I’ll have to see if they have one for BlackBerry’s, I would love to do that while relaxing on the couch, or like you, stuck in line somewhere πŸ™‚

      Wow that Smart Key is so cool, I never knew that existed! I’ll have to look into that because knowing me this will definitely happen again in the future!

      I can’t wait to experience the Indian restaurant tonight too and tell you all about it, thanks Mila!

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 12, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever locked myself out of the car (knock on wood), but I do have to rescue my husband about once every few months! πŸ™‚

    I’m not a huge fan of Indian food, but I have only had it once and it was a bad experiences so I might be biased!

    I’m not on pinterest. I feel like I have so many other things to do on the computer everyday and don’t want to get sucked in since I heard it is so addicting!!! I’ll probably venture over there soon enough though!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 12, 2011 at 4:06 pm

      Wow lucky girl! Yes knock on wood for sure! You know I haven’t had to rescue the hubby, yet! So I’ll have to knock on wood for that one πŸ™‚

      I’ve heard from many that they either love or hate Indian food so we’ll see how my taste buds like it…I love all food though so I’m pretty easy to please πŸ˜‰

      I felt the exact same way about Pinterest…I was like “oh boy, another thing besides twitter and facebook to get addicted to!” and I was right, it’s very addicting but so fun at the same time…great outlet for inspiration! Hopefully you’ll venture over there soon πŸ˜‰

    Kristin @ STUFT Mama said:
    October 12, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    Aw shucks, locking yourself out of your car is NO fun. I lock myself out of my house on a regular basis. πŸ™‚ Hope your dinner was fun!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 13, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      Haha glad to hear I’m not the only one! πŸ˜‰

      Dinner was fabulous, I just recapped it. I’m an Indian food convert now, it was delicious! πŸ™‚

    Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun said:
    October 13, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    That is SO somethign I would do with my keys! At least the outfit is really cute. πŸ˜‰

    And I refuse to get on Pinterest. I know I will get SUCKED IN!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 13, 2011 at 5:33 pm

      Thank you Tina!! πŸ™‚

      Oh yes you will so get sucked into the vortex of pinterest…it’s so fun though πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

