A Weekend of Firsts

Posted on Updated on

Happy Monday everyone! Hope you’re all having a great day so far and are refreshed from the weekend! We have been having the most glorious fall weather here in Northern California and it’s been very unseasonably warm with temperatures 10-15 degrees above the norm. I love this warm weather, but I have to say I’m ready for cooler temps so I can routinely start wearing my boots and scarves…remind me I said this when February rolls around and it’s gloomy and rainy everyday πŸ˜‰

But for now, I have to say I don’t mind these amazing sunsets…my dad sent me this photo and this is looking out from their backyard, simply amazing…thanks dad!! πŸ™‚

Thinking back on my weekend, I realized it was a weekend of many firsts for me. Starting with Friday, it was the first Giada recipe I’ve made this year and it was fantastic! On Tina’s blog Carrots ‘n’ Cake, she had the amazing opportunity to interview Giada and one of the questions was what was her favorite go-to recipe to make when short on time. Her answer was the Farfalle with Turkey Sausage, Peas, and Mushrooms – it also happened to be her hubby’s favorite dish – and coincidentally his name is Todd too πŸ˜‰ Just the sound of that dish instantly peaked my interest, and then Tina made the recipe and raved how easy and delicious it was so right then I knew I had to make it. And on the side we enjoyed some toasted bread and had it extra fancy with olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette with a small glass of red wine…

Notes:

  • It calls for ground turkey sausage but I only had ground turkey on hand which worked nicely but next time I’m definitely going to do the turkey sausage to give it more oomph and flavor.
  • I used the entire bag of frozen peas (16oz.) which was nice in giving it a sweet flavor, and if you want even more flavor add red pepper flakes like Todd did since he likes heat – I on the other hand do not!
  • Also, next time I’d use 2 boxes of sliced mushrooms instead of 1 as it seemed the ratio to peas and meat was off and I (we) personally love mushrooms πŸ™‚

****
Saturday was a wonderful day spent with my family and it started off with lunch at our fav spot, Fresh Choice. Salad beasts and fro yo were consumed in mass quantities…

x2!

Peanut Butter and Cookies n Cream fro yo with chopped peanuts, cheesecake bites, graham cracker crumbles, and kit kat pieces

To anyone that lives in the Bay Area, you must must go to U Love. It.is.amazing. I kid you not, my sis and I were in absolute frozen yogurt heaven, it is to die for and our eyes kept rolling back being in pure bliss. The peanut butter was especially out of this world, the flavor was literally like real creamy peanut butter and the consistency was so luscious and creamy…it was that good!

With bellies full of fro yo, we then headed to the grocery store to get some grub for the evening. As we were walking by the beer aisle and at the perfect moment, I looked over and saw the infamous Shock Top beer that I’ve been hearing all over the blog world…my sister then exclaimed that she had tried it before and loved it. Now if you know my sis and I, we’re not true beer gals, we like our champy, so hearing how much she enjoyed it told me right there that we must buy some and I had to try it, stat!

And great minds must think alike because my sis’s boyfriend bought the Shock Top Belgian Wheat!

I couldn’t wait to give it a try!

It was my first Shock Top beer ever and I loved it! Now I know why everyone raves about it…and we of course added an orange slice to it too, my sis knows how to do it up right πŸ™‚

Dinner was up next – Filet mignon and chicken skewers for boys…although you know us ladies took bites off our men’s plates πŸ˜‰

Potato fries…mom did an amazing job on these!!

My plate….

And we capped it off with some Dreyer’s Mud Pie ice cream. It was a delicious night with loved ones, a perfect Saturday indeed πŸ™‚

****
Sunday was spent lounging around and a couple more firsts were had…Saturday at the grocery store I also had found another infamous blog world popular item…

Biscoff Spread!! You guys, this stuff really is amazing. I had many Biscoff finger dips and it was glorious…I’ve never had the actually cookie before but it tastes just like a graham cracker.

That morning we stopped at Starbucks for our Sunday morning ritual and got a croissant (to which I spread Biscoff on) and a classic coffee cake to share…the aftermath

And the most epic egg, turkey, and cheese sandwich Todd made. Here are the ingredients we used to make it…

And the finished product…

The picture really doesn’t do justice, it was delicious and Todd is now officially the egg sandwich master πŸ™‚

It was a great, relaxing weekend with the people I love the most and I wouldn’t rather spend my weekend any other way πŸ™‚

P.S. Our very close family friend, we basically call her our Aunt, her daughter gave birth yesterday to a beautiful baby boy…she was in labor for 24 hours and went all natural!! I already have plans to get many tips and advice on how she accomplished that as I would like to definitely go natural, if possible. So congrats Katie and Rich, we love you lots! xoxo

And…more exciting news…my sis got a brand new car! So excited (and jealous!) for her…it’s the Jetta SEL and I can’t wait to check it out and test drive it…and it will of course be on our way to U Love πŸ˜‰

Ain’t they both beauties πŸ™‚ Congrats sissy!!! xoxo

Questions:
Anything exciting happen over the weekend? Any firsts for you?
Have you tried Shock Top beer and/or what’s your favorite kind of beer? I love love any Hefeweizen, but now Shock Top Belgian Wheat and Pumpkin come in a close second!

17 thoughts on “A Weekend of Firsts

    loftyappetite said:
    October 17, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    I like that Giada meal idea, I will have to try it out! Also, crispy bread with Balsamic and Olive oil (and minced garlic mixed in) is probably on top of the list of my favorite foods πŸ˜‰
    I love the fruity shock top (not the regular, that one is nasty – i’m such a girl beer drinker…) so I really am curious to try the pumpkin!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 17, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      Ooo I’ll have to try the bread with minced garlic, great idea!

      You’d love the pumpkin…it had a slight pumpkin flavor to it and I really liked it. There’s a fruity Shock Top?! Yum I must try that! πŸ™‚

    Caitlin C. said:
    October 17, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    That fro yo looks awesome! I dislike beer but I used to promote it at liquor stores for a marketing co before I graduated from college, and I promoted Shock Top quite a few times. I didn’t know they made a pumpkin though! This weekend was the first time I almost drank an entire bottle of wine by myself…ha that’s about it!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 17, 2011 at 12:52 pm

      Haha a first time almost drinking an entire bottle of wine by yourself….welcome to the club girly πŸ˜‰

    Shanna like Banana said:
    October 17, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Okay so when ard we going to U Love??? πŸ˜‰ Pb froyo is my absolute fave and goes so well with our topping choices!

    Biscoff is heaven in a jar. Just thinking about it makes me drool.

    So glad you had an excellent weekend =)

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 17, 2011 at 4:22 pm

      Yes please!! Girl, you would love this pb fro yo, it is to die for! Ok, Yoogl and U Love are on our fro yo bucket lists πŸ˜‰

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 17, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    I’m not a beer drinking since it can sometimes trigger migraines in me for some reason, but when I used to drink beer, I loved anything light, otherwise I’d get too full! Wine on the otherhand is another story!

    It looks like you had such a fun and busy weekend! Yay for your sister’s new car! New cars are always so much fun!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 17, 2011 at 4:42 pm

      Haha yes wine and champagne are definitely a different story for me too! πŸ˜‰ I love the light beers also and I feel the same with Shock Top and Hefs that I could only do one since the heaviness of it makes me so full too!

      I know new cars are such a blast…she just emailed me today saying what fun she had driving it to work! πŸ™‚

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    October 17, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    Oh my, we must have the same exact taste buds when it comes to froyo! I usually get a very similar combo to your’s! You can’t be cookies & cream and peanut butter froyo! Looks like a great weekend filled with tons of yummy eats. πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 17, 2011 at 4:40 pm

      Haha you’re definitely then my kinda girl πŸ˜‰ Nothing is better than those two flavor combos together!! πŸ™‚

    Ann Marie said:
    October 17, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    I’m not much of a beer drinker, but have tried Shock Top and loved it. Definitely a beer I would drink again. My husband puts an orange slice in all of his beers, makes it so much better.

    I tried the 15 minute Creamy Avocado Pasta recipe from Oh She Glows (blog) this weekend. AAAmazing! If you like avocado, garlic, and lemon its a must. Put it on angel hair and seared some ahi tuna.

    Love reading your blog. I must get out and try some fro yo, but I don’t think we have any unique places around here…we have TCBY but that’s not so unique πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 17, 2011 at 4:38 pm

      Yes the orange slice is a definite must! And I’ve never been a beer drinker either but suddenly my taste buds are coming around and have loved Hefeweizen and now this Shock Top…I guess my palate is expanding πŸ˜‰

      You know I’ve heard many many rave reviews about Angela’s Creamy Avocado Pasta and now hearing from you how good it is, I’m definitely going to have to try it! Especially since yes, I love love avocado, lemon, and garlic! πŸ™‚

      I know this area has been so lucky lately in getting so many new fro yo spots…maybe some will be in your near future?! πŸ˜‰

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    October 18, 2011 at 9:54 am

    I absolutely LOVE fresh choice. best thing ever. that is one of my musts anytime i go to cali to visit my sister!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 18, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      I love hearing someone else loves Fresh Choice just as much as I do! Isn’t it the best? The fro yo and salad bar is my heaven πŸ˜‰

    Laura @ Special Treat's said:
    October 18, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    I love Shock Top! One of my favorite beers! Blue Moon is my favorite, but Shock Top is very similar and so refreshing and delish. πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 19, 2011 at 10:54 am

      It is sooo delish!! It’s funny my husband also said Blue Moon was similar to Shock Top but I remember absolutely hating Blue Moon when I tried it a couple years ago…I guess my taste buds really have changed?! πŸ˜‰

    Simple and Satisfying | The Good Life said:
    October 27, 2011 at 11:34 am

    […] had made this once before with ground turkey (not ground turkey sausage) and it was good but pretty bland so I wouldn’t do it with that […]

Leave a Reply

