Live In The Moment

Posted on

Hi everyone! Hope you’re all having a great day so far πŸ™‚

Last night I was in the mood to cook again (who is this person? ;)), and ever since seeing the fajitas Kjirsten made over the weekend, I haven’t been able to get them out of my head! So I finally made it happen and my cravings were definitely satisfied…

I made the fajitas by just slicing up 3 chicken breasts and sauteed it in a pan with 1 tbsp. olive until browned and no longer pink in the middle. Then I sliced up 2 bell peppers and half of one large onion and sauteed in a pan with 1 tbsp. of olive until crisp tender. Once that was done I placed the meat back in the pan with the veggies and added 1 packet of McCormick Fajita Seasoning Mix and 1/4 cup water, stir, and you got deliciously flavored fajitas…

X 2!!

****

For awhile now I’ve been meaning to tell you all about a few goodies I found at Whole Foods a couple weeks ago. The Kettlecorn is out of this world good…and dangerous to keep in the household since this sweet tooth monster killed the bag in a couple days πŸ˜‰

And this cereal was a new to me one from Kashi, and though I do love the “Go Lean” varieties more, this was a nice change to the cereal rotation…

I’ve been enjoying it for my early morning breakfasts with some Kashi Go Lean mixed in as well…

The Go Lean can be kinda of bland so I love pairing it with a sweeter cereal in giving the perfect amount of sweetness and variety to the taste buds πŸ™‚

****

Yesterday when I was at the gym I came across a trainer who helped me during my disordered eating/over exercising days, and she did something that both shocked me and made me so happy. She took my hand and said with the most genuine smile and caring eyes, “you look so beautiful and happy, and I just want to say I very proud I am of you.” It absolutely made my day.

I haven’t talked much about this lately, but I admit that ever since we’ve been trying for a baby and have been diagnosed with HA (Hypothalamic Amenorrhea), there have been many hard days. I’ve put on about 5 more pounds (it’s the heaviest I’ve weighed since high school and I’m still getting used to this body I haven’t seen in 10 years); I’ve quit the majority of my favorite Spin and Vipr classes (I’ve really been missing the energy and camaraderie of my fellow gym buddies and instructors and some days it makes me sad – almost every other day someone comes up to me and asks where I’ve been); and everyday I question what’s going on with my body and why it’s not doing what it’s meant to be doing. There are days I’m angry and frustrated with it and I just want to scream, and days where I remind myself to be calm and be happy with how great my life is in this moment. And what she said solidified that for me. That I have to be happy in this moment, and to remember how far I’ve come since those dark days of my disordered ways…it was strong enough to overcome that, and it will be strong enough to give us our miracle – I just have to trust it, give it time, be patient, and live in the moment.

I hope you all have a fantastic Thursday and though I skipped last week’s Friday Lovin’ I promise to have one for you all tomorrow! πŸ™‚

Questions:
Have you had a time where you’ve had to stop and remind yourself to “live in theΒ  moment”?
What compliment have you been given that made your day?
Do you like fajitas? If not, what’s your favorite Mexican inspired dish?

29 thoughts on “Live In The Moment

    Maria (@bragglife) said:
    October 20, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Aww I totally agree with her though I haven’t seen you in person. You come off as a beautiful and happy person! Remember to always count your blessings, you’re beautiful, have a hot husband, have a good life, roof over your head, etc. You may not have everything you want (right now) but you have what you need (I have to tell myself this all the time)….your time will come, for now, like you said, live in the moment and enjoy what you have πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 20, 2011 at 12:00 pm

      Everything you mentioned are such beautiful reminders…Thank you so much Maria, you’re the sweetest πŸ™‚

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    October 20, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Shayla, this post really hit home to me. First of all, I’m so glad that your personal trainer was able to make your day. That has to be such a wonderful thing to hear. But also, I can totally relate to your frustrations, sadness, and anxiety with your health. I struggle with an irregular period too, and I can relate to feeling the same exact way. It’s especially frustrating when you feel like you’re doing everything you’re supposed to be doing, and it’s still not happening how it should. My biggest dream is to have babies someday, and I just pray and hope that it will happen when the time is right. I pray the same for you, girl! Hang in there. πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 20, 2011 at 12:12 pm

      Ashley, that’s exactly what I’m feeling too, you couldn’t have said it better. It’s very frustrating to feel like you’re doing all you can do and the most frustrating part is to have nothing to show for it. Thank you for sharing your story…it’s great to have this mutual support and talk it out here. I believe that everything happens for a reason and God has a plan for making this happen when the time is right and I pray the same for you too…thanks girl πŸ™‚

    Caitlin C. said:
    October 20, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    That compliment must have been so nice to hear! When I hear things like that they mean a lot to me too. It’s amazing what kind, unexpected words from someone can do for your mood. I’ve been feeling like I want to scream lately too, and the relief from that feeling is so awesome, so I’m glad you got some even if temporary. I hope you know you can email me anytime if you ever want to talk about frustrations like this – I am all ears and know we can help each other πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 20, 2011 at 12:43 pm

      Thank you so much Caitlin and that is so very sweet of you…it means a lot to me and getting frustrations out with one another (especially when the person knows what you’re gong through) is so very helpful πŸ™‚

    loftyappetite said:
    October 20, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    I love your openness and honesty, Shayla. You are so strong and it’s so wonderful that you have learned to accept yourself as you are now versus how you used to be and overcome it. Your positive outlook will bring good things! XoXo

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 20, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      Mila you’re so sweet, thank you so very much…your comment gives me strength and got me quite emotional and teary eyed…thank you girl πŸ™‚ xoxo

    lapiattini said:
    October 20, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I find you to be such a brave and inspiring person. I know it must be hard but I believe only good things will come your way!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 20, 2011 at 2:43 pm

      That means so much to me…you’re so sweet and thank you so much girl πŸ™‚

    Mo said:
    October 20, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Such a beautiful post that it brought tears to my eyes. I’ve been through that too, giving up the strenuous classes at the gym, people saying they haven’t seen me, etc.

    Such a great reminder from your trainer that not only are you doing it for an end goal, but that you have already achieved a great goal…getting past disordered eating, and looking and feeling better.

    It’s hard to believe now, but it will work out, and it will only be that much better when it does!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 20, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      Mo thank you so much for your sweet words and encouragement…you always have a way of saying things that make me feel so much better…thank you πŸ™‚

    Jen @ Living a Brighter Life said:
    October 20, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    A comment like that would totally make my day too! I know sometimes I forget to remind myself of how good I do have it. I get bogged down in the ups and downs of everyday life and worry about things I can’t control. Thanks for reminding me of this!

    I know with your positive outlook that you have a lot to look forward to in life!

    Lauren said:
    October 20, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    I love fajitas! I’m pretty much obsessed with Mexican food. Also, I need to get that kettlecorn ASAP

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 21, 2011 at 9:15 am

      Yes you gotta try the Kettlecorn, you’ll love it!! Be warned though it’s highly addicting and easy to eat in one sitting πŸ˜‰

    Sherri said:
    October 20, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    I am proud of you for expressing how hard this has been. Being so open will help you feel better and encourage others who are experiencing the same issues.
    After telling a customer how old my Sweeties were she couldn’t believe it and couldn’t believe I was any older than 50!! Now that made my day!
    I love fajitas and enchiladas. YUMMMM!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 21, 2011 at 9:15 am

      Thank you so much mom, love you lots!! xoxo

      What a sweet compliment! Well it’s true mom, you don’t look a day over 50! Lucky for me I got good genes, hee πŸ˜‰

      Isn’t the lil Nuzzlehead up top so cute…I thought he needed to be in the header πŸ˜‰

    Sherri said:
    October 20, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    P.S. I love Nuzzlehead!

    katie said:
    October 20, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    I love those random comments that can really either shake you out of thoughts like that or like you said, solidify where you are and to find some acceptance. What you’re doing and what you’re working towards is amazing so keep your head up! πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 21, 2011 at 9:12 am

      Katie thank you so much for that comment, you are the sweetest and thank you for your encouragement and support πŸ™‚

    Courtney said:
    October 21, 2011 at 8:10 am

    Hey pretty lady! πŸ™‚
    I’d actually never heard of HA before, but I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been dealing with that. Nonetheless, I love and admire you for being able to continue to find the positive in everything. Everything is going to work out for you, I just know it.

    My last “live in the moment” moment was actually last night – I skipped a regular blog post in favor of eating dinner on the couch with hubby and catching up on the DVR after a long day of work. It was perfect!

    Hope you have a fabulous weekend – make sure to add some fro yo in there too, girly! πŸ˜‰ xoxo

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 21, 2011 at 9:07 am

      Courtney you are the sweetest ever, thank you so very much for that comment, it really touched me and gives me so much strength, thank you πŸ™‚ xoxo

      That’s such a great “live in the moment”! Those are my favorite…unplugging for a bit and spending time with your hubby (and Cody!) is the best thing ever, good for you for taking that moment πŸ™‚

      Girl we must have esp because I am so planning on a fro yo trip for this weekend, I need it! And, um yeah, that Black & White Kettlecorn…amazing!! You must try it, you will absolutely love it…but like you said, it’s highly addicting and easy to pound a bag away…just say I didn’t warn ya πŸ˜‰ Have a great weekend too!

    Courtney said:
    October 21, 2011 at 8:11 am

    P.S. – How is that popcorn compared to their other flavors?!? I’ve been wanting to try that flavor forEVER (I’ve had the regular kettle corn, which is amazing) but am afraid of buying it for the mere fact that I’ll want to devour it in one sitting…

    Friday Lovin’ | The Good Life said:
    October 21, 2011 at 11:52 am

    […] navigation ← Live In The Moment Oct 21 […]

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 23, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    I’m just catching up on posts and your fajitas look great! I think you are now making me crave them again!

    What a great thing for a trainer to say to you. It made me smile! You should be really proud of yourself! Just from reading your blog and learning a little about your journey, I know I am proud of you and someday soon, you will have your little miracle! I’m sure of it! Just stay positive and make the most of every day and be happy! πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 24, 2011 at 8:54 am

      Thank you so much Kjirsten!! You’re so very sweet and thank you so much for your supportive words and encouragement…it means so very much to me ❀

    sarah (the SHU box) said:
    October 23, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    thinking of you shayla! you know i understand and am there for you if you ever need to rant, rave, or just want reassurance. i think you will feel good having a blog outlet to vent about it – i know it helped me πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 24, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Sarah you’re so sweet, thank you for that comment and for especially being there for me…and you’re right in that this blog is a great outlet for that and having the support of you and this wonderful community is absolutely amazing…thank you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

