Friday Lovin’

Posted on Updated on

Hi everyone and happy Friday πŸ™‚

First I have to say how very much I appreciate all of you amazing, wonderful readers. In fact, I don’t think the term “readers” suffices here anymore, you are all truly great (internet) friends and it really does make me so happy to know you all through this community. Your sweet and encouraging words yesterday brought strength, hope, and happy tears to me…this community really is so wonderful and I can’t thank you enough for your support and touching comments. I really do appreciate it and love you all so very much, thank you ❀

****

Yipeee for Friday! Is anyone else so happy the weekend is (almost) finally upon us?! I have a lot of things I’ve been loving lately, so without further ado, here are the things I’ve been enjoying this week and am looking forward to…

* Breakfast for dinner

Yesterday I had noticed that we had a couple of eggs that were about to expire, coupled with no meat in the fridge and not wanting to go to the grocery store, I knew what would be on tap for dinner…

To me, there’s nothing more comforting than having eggs and toast (breakfast) for dinner. This was 1 egg with 2 egg whites, scrambled, with 2 pieces of sourdough bread, laughing cow cheese spread,Β  and 3 slices of cajun turkey. I also had an unpictured side salad and a handful of Wheat Thins.

* Kashi Go Lean Crisp – Toasted Berry Crumble

Have any of you tried this cereal…

Love, love it. It has a great berry flavor and a nice airy crispyness to it. I actually find the Kashi Go Lean Crunch to be too crunchy and hard on the teeth, but this has the perfect texture and it’s a lot lighter with big chucks of crispy goodness πŸ™‚

I made another cereal combo bowl this morning a la Courtney (best idea ever, thanks girl!…I’ve seen this on her blog since I started reading years ago and I (finally) decided to make them to have as my pre-workout breakfast and have been enjoying them for the past couple weeks…I love having a combination of cereals together to excite the taste buds ;))

This morning I paired the Kashi Go Lean Crisp with Original Kashi Go Lean…

*Chia Seeds

I’ve expressed before how much I love chia seeds but had forgotten how much I enjoy them in my smoothies…well, this week I brought them back to my post-workout morning breakfast and now I remember why I love them so much…

Look at that thickness! Chia seeds have a way of bulking up your liquids like yogurt, oatmeal, overnight oats, and smoothies. So delicious and gives a great crunch factor too. I know some bloggers sprinkle them on top of smoothies, but this was put into the blender and blended with everything together, and I think that lends to a thicker smoothie…that and xanthan gum, can’t forget about that little gem πŸ™‚

* Holiday Creamers

Every year when fall and winter rolls around I look forward to all the holiday inspired treats that come out…one of which being the limited edition holiday creamers…

Can’t wait to try it tomorrow morning!! And after this, next on my list is the Peppermint White Chocolate that was displayed right next to it…I wanted to buy both but thought I better be good and not get too carried away πŸ˜‰

* Halo ProBars

Have any of you tried these bars?….

I found them at Whole Foods and they’re pretty good…not as good as I imagined them to be with names like Nutty Marshmallow and S’Mores…but they were decent. However I don’t think I’d buy them again.

*Flavored Water

I can’t remember if I’ve admitted this here yet, but I’m horrible at drinking water. Horrible. And I know drinking plain water is best for you, but I think getting water in me no matter what it takes is better than nothing, so I’ve been flavoring my water with this…

MiO! Have any of you heard of or tried this? Todd actually got me onto this and it’s actually really good. What’s neat is instead of the powdered kind like Crystal Light, this is liquid and you just squeeze it into your glass or bottle and you’re good to go! The Mango Peach flavor is (surprisingly) just ok, I thought it would be better, so my fav flavor so far is the Berry Pomegranate.

* Comforting foods

I’ve been enjoying many lately, and I meant to blog about this the other day but forgot…

Chili!! It was another perfect hearty meal for the hubby…and I packed it up as leftovers for him to enjoy throughout the week…however you know I snagged one bowl for myself to enjoy too πŸ˜‰

* My Uncle’s 70th Birthday Party tomorrow

We’ll be in Discovery Bay to celebrate his birthday and the weather looks to be fantastic and sunny…and that means I get to spend quality time with these peeps too…

*Fro Yo

Hoping this weekend to squeeze in another yogurt trip to U Love…assuming I can convince the hubby πŸ˜‰

And that’s about it! Hope you’re all having a wonderful Friday and a great start to your weekend πŸ™‚

Questions:
Do you like Kashi Cereal? What’s your favorite kind?
Are you good about drinking water? Do you flavor it or drink it plain?
What holiday inspired treats are you enjoying lately?

What are you looking forward to most today or this weekend?

14 thoughts on “Friday Lovin’

    Caitlin C. said:
    October 21, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    It’s been too long since I had breakfast for dinner! that chili looks awesome, we had chili a couple nights ago, the hearty and cozy foods really are feeling great this season. I will be posting pics of mine soon!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 21, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      Ooo can’t wait to see your chili!! It’s the absolute best this time of year πŸ™‚

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    October 21, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I love breakfast for dinner!! Actually I love breakfast for any meal of the day. πŸ™‚

    Kashi Go Lean! Crunch is my favorite Kashi cereal. This berry one sounds really good too – I need to check it out!
    I’m usually pretty good about drinking water. I always have a glass of water or water bottle attached to my hip. I think I get that from my mom… she’s the same way. Every so often I’ll add a packet of Crystal Light Pure, but most of the time, I go with plain old water!
    I love all the flavored creamers too! I try not to indulge in them too much because of all the artificial ingredients in most of them, but I like them every once in awhile. πŸ˜‰
    I’m looking forward to my parents and brother coming into town this weekend! They should be here in the next hour – yay!

    I

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 22, 2011 at 7:38 am

      Me too! I seriously could eat breakfast at any time of the day, love it! And I think you’d really love the Kashi berry cereal, I hope you find it! πŸ™‚

      That’s awesome you’re so good about water…and I’ve seen that Crystal Light Pure before but wasn’t sure if it was any good, but now I’ll have to try it since you like it!

      Have fun with your family this weekend!! Nothing better than spending quality time with your loved ones…enjoy! πŸ™‚

    Laura @ Special Treat's said:
    October 22, 2011 at 6:09 am

    I love the Kashi Go Lean berry crisp cereal, too! I am good about drinking water, I drink tons of it. But I do have to admit that sometimes I get tired of it…then I like to add lemon, lime or cucumber slices to it…makes it extra good and refreshing. I have been enjoying lots of pumpkin goodies lately! I love this time of year.

    I meant to tell you earlier how beautiful you post before this was. I have been thinking of you a lot and sending prayers your way. Great job at staying positive…your day will come at being a mother and it will be one BEAUTIFUL day!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 22, 2011 at 7:34 am

      Ooo good call on adding lemon or cucumber slices…kinda makes it spa-like…I’ll have to try it! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much Laura for your comment, you’re so very sweet and it made me so happy…your thoughts and prayers really do mean a lot to me, thank you so much ❀

    Courtney said:
    October 22, 2011 at 7:25 am

    WOOT WOOT for the cereal combo bowls! I think I’m about to go make one for myself right now. Thanks for the shout out, girly!

    You were right, I’ve never seen that brand of creamer before, but I will be on the lookout for the coffee mate one. I don’t care if it’s bad…it’s pumpkin spice, so it can’t be “bad,” right? πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 22, 2011 at 7:32 am

      Of course girly! I’m enjoying one right now as we speak πŸ˜‰

      Exactly! I don’t care either when it involves pumpkin!! πŸ™‚ Artifical ingredients now and then aren’t so bad, especially when they involve pumpkin, a little won’t hurt πŸ˜‰

    lapiattini said:
    October 23, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Great post! I eat breakfast for dinner quite often actually- but I’m a huge breakfast lover and can eat it all day!
    I actually just won a giveaway for Halo bars and got them in the mail yesterday. Haven’t tried them yet but you’re right about the names- pretty drool worthy. I’l have to try them soon.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 24, 2011 at 8:58 am

      How fun you won the Halo bars! They’re good but with those drool worthy names my expectations were a bit too high for them…I’m interested to see what you think! πŸ™‚

        lapiattini said:
        October 24, 2011 at 11:46 am

        Just tried the Smores one today- pretty good. I’m not sure I would buy them on my own but I enjoyed it. It was quite small though!

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 23, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    That coffee creamer looks so delicious! I’ve been using a pumpkin spice on myself lately and I seriously get so excited for my morning cup every day! πŸ™‚ You just inspired me to add chia seeds to my yogurt! I have done it a few times, but it is so healthy and does really bulk it up!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 24, 2011 at 8:57 am

      I love having those little things that make it so exciting to wake up to in the morning πŸ˜‰

      Aren’t chia seeds the best?! Such a little seed packs such a nutrient punch and the bulk factor is such an added bonus, love it! πŸ™‚

    Growth | Shanna Like Banana's Blog said:
    October 24, 2011 at 6:35 am

    […] pumpkin pie flavor.  It was tasty.  But then that need for chocolate toppings took over (Shayla knows what I’m taking about) and I went with cookies and cream topped with cookie dough, […]

Leave a Reply

